This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr H & family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Feedback

Namibia between 31 Jul 2009 and 14 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent, very glad we didnt camp! so every room was a luxury in comparison. The food was cheaper than expected.
This was one of the best holidays I have had and would definately reccomend it to others and certainly with Expert Africa

I would like to have known that when in towns it is usual to pay a guard $10 to look after the car.

There was a little confusion as Brandberg white lady were expecting us for 2 nights, which is what we wanted, so there was some mis communication here. we had to pack up and leave for Omoruru."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2009
"A lovely place to start with, perfect distance from Windhoek to travel on day one after the overnight flight.

Very cold and we needed the heaters but were fine once in bed. We were so excited to find zebra on the dinner menu. The biggest surprise was that it was pitch black by 6pm! Yes we should have realised as it was winter.

The next day we did the self guided zebra walk which was enjoyed by all before leaving the next day, we saw plenty of zebra and baboons. We would have been quite happy to have spent a 2nd night there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

"Betesda Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2009
"Not our favourite place but lots of good points. Fantastic view from the bed rooms out the back, food disapointing as a bit like school dinners , though the dinning room was lovely. It was fun to get up early to visit sossusvlei and great to have a packed breakfast. Beware that the hot water runs out if you have a late shower ie after 5pm."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"Really great, the children loved the luxury of a TV for 3 days and as we were 8 people we had the top floor to our selves. It didnt matter at all that we were inland slightly.

The owners we really helpful about booking resturants and sorting out how to get the air con fixed on our car which was beginning to get a big probem as it was hotter than expected during the day. Breakfast superb.

The only thing that troubled me was the need for the night guard, the cars seemed secure enough behind a locked drive way and I couldnt help feeling uneasy that first he was deemed necessary and then that he was standing out in the cold ALL night evey night.

Quad biking was expensive but worth it and very close by, it was easy to book the day before, but we would advise booking at least the first night's resturant before arrival."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking"

5 Aug 2009 • Morning excursion

A great morning and worth booking in advance, enjoyed by all , the drive there was a treat in itself. Kids loved it and lunch after a bonus
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"good location, the walk to see the White lady was long and not to be recomended in the heat of the middle of the day as we did.
It was worth while but my daughter commented that if these were the best rock paintings in the world she may give the others a miss!

We felt very close to nature and we appreciated that electricity is difficult to generate, however we had almost no light in the evening which semed usual, so some provision should be made for battery operated lanterns, as the candles we were given were clumsy to use and not appropriate for children in rooms on thier own. One of the highlights were the staff singing traditional songs after supper, even my 16yr old son thought they were cool !

Hunt for the elephants great, if you find them, we were lucky."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Central Hotel (Omaruru)

"Central hotel Omaruru"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2009
"We had to stay here because of lack of space else where ,so not where we would have chosen, having said that there were some good points , it was a big place but we were the only ones there and it felt rather strange and spooky.

We were therefore expecting average food but were pleasantly surprised to have one of the best meals in Namibia and could not work out how they managed to produce such a varied menu of superb quality.

The bath rooms were huge but it would have been so nice to have had a bed side lamp and more working bulbs in the main light."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"We were only able to get one night in the park which was a shame,. The only option to us was the luxury of a premier chalet which was rather a waste as we only used it to sleep, as there was so much going on at the fantastic flood lit water hole. we also were NOT able to see the waterhole properly from the balcony, as we were led to believe, as the view was obstructed by trees ! ! !

However the buffet was great , as was the shop on site and the whole camp much nicer and quieter than we expected after reading the comments on this site, and booking in at 2pm was easy.

We saw so much more at the waterhole here than anywhere else in Etosha, and I would have loved another evening at the waterhole ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Etosha Safari Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"We loved this place, we were lucky enough to have a lovely view from our little terrace, not all do.

The decor around the resurant and bar area was most interesting with a nostalgic student feel, teenagers would like the bar area. pool and surround were a great place to spend a lazy afternoon when we had had enough of driving around Etosha.

Food was good and a nice change to have a curried type meat instead of steaks."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2009
"We wished we had got here earlier and given the cheetah place a miss as we only had one night.

Very luxurious and resturant posh, yet it was the only place we saw a mouse under our table! The silver service was a bit over done, but a great treat to have stuffed wildebeast.

The animals here did seem a little boring after coming from Etosha, the children loved the TV in the bedrooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team