This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Bedford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Our second trip to Zambia

Zambia between 4 Sep 2015 and 15 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was all what we wanted, resting a couple of days in Tafika, seeing plenty of game, then a bit more exercise in Mwaleshi, with some unique experience."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Like in our recollection, brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"It was our second stay in Tafika, ,,, the leopards are still there, so are the lions, impalas, pukus, cameleons, hippos, crocodiles, elephants, girafes, zebras, buffalos and other bushbucks.

For those more interested in bird watching, it is also paradise on earth (certainly different from the orkneys, but as varied and exciting).

The whole staff is always helpful without being overwhelming or servile and the accomodation is very comfortable.

A special mention to Mukupa B with whom we had the unique experience of watching, and up to a point following, a pack of wild dogs in action (it was our fourth safari and the first time we saw them)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"a diamond in the rough"

7 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"This is certainly different, we absolutely loved it, but maybe not everybody's taste, the game is much sparser and you need to work for it (it is a walking camp and the last hours of the morning get hotter by the day as you approach October). The pack of hyenas trying to steal the kill from 3 lionesses will stay in our memory for ever.... and it was during the morning tea break, what a treat!!!

The camp is more basic than Tafika, but when you think that everything (up to the ice cubes) has to be flown in, it is a logistical tour de force, and if you want to stay at a place with air con and swimming pool,....well it's not for you."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

The best ever.

Zambia between 18 Aug 2010 and 30 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was the best trip we ever had. It was only spoiled by:

. pre-booking very significant hiccups (our trip was for its main part "organised" by Anna Devereux....) and we met people while in Zambia who had the same encounter.

. Kaingo, definitely a no-return

. BA return flight"

Feedback response

We are exceedingly sorry that these travellers experienced so many problems when arranging their trip with us. The consultant who arranged their trip is no longer working for Expert Africa.

We feel that Expert Africa now has its best team ever; all of our team are efficient about their work – as well as passionate about what we do in Africa.

Complaints are thankfully rare, but when they do occur we’d always encourage our travellers to make their points clearly at the time. If it’s a complaint about our work in the UK office; then please call or email Chris McIntyre, our MD, immediately.

If it’s complaint at a camp, then make it first to the camp manager. If this doesn’t solve the problem, then we’d ask them to call or email Expert Africa in the UK – and we’ll do our best to sort out a swift resolution of the issue.

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2010
"Tafika is a great place where to start. The night drives are amazing and the guides are very experienced. All activities were very well handled, guides and staff always present but not overwhelming. The wildlife is ubiquitous,....., including in the camp. We saw a leopard every night (not in the camp) , I understand we were lucky.

Only one disappointment. The food was really average and we were expecting less chicken, minced meat, vegetables in jelly, lasagnas and stews and more "real meat"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2010
"What to say... awesome. Certainly the climax of the trip. Alex and Batwil were brilliant. we enjoyed every second."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2010
"Whereas we preferred Chicoko (the tree-top rooms can't be matched), Crocodile has its own unique points and the tea we had whereas a group of elephants with a very young one passed 100m away from us will remain in our memory.

Again Alex and Batwill were brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2010
"This was the low part of the trip. Part of the staff was distinctly unpleasant. The first dinner everyone complained (there was a full house with a Canadian party, an American couple and an English couple), there was simply no wine on the table and we had to beg for getting served by the glass and the camp management was nowhere to be seen.The food was disappointing. I don't go to Zambia to eat a pizza/bruschetta as a starter and a vietnamese fish with French fries as a main.

The camp itself was OK, the idea of a private dinning area on the river for each bungalow is certainly very nice. We would have preferred "would and straw" rooms (as everywhere else) to concrete built ones whereas at the same time it is the only place where we had plumbing problems (the water taking ages to drain out of the shower).

The activities were disappointing, we were not allowed to go to the elephant crossing point on day 1 (apparently there were too many people wanting to get there) and this activity was simply canceled on day 2. Apart from lions, the night drives did not show anything, the staff was significantly and obviously less experienced that Remote Africa's, in fact on the second night the spotter was a room attendant.

When we stopped for a sundown drink, someone found a lower jaw of a crocodile (so distinctive) which was identified as .... maybe an hippo!!!. As far as their driving was concerned, it was absolutely clear that they were going far too fast to be successful in spotting wildlife.

Would we go back? no."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Aug 2010
"Thanks to Ian and Patrick this is a great place. Showing the importance of hands-on management and professional guides.

The rooms are certainly to be commanded, particularly when comparing with the main camp (Kaingo) and Patrick is a first class guide. He made a superb pair with the scout whose name we don't remember."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2010
"A good place for the last night.

Nice and comfortable rooms but the restaurant service was minimal/non existent.

The management did very well in booking us online with BA, the person who picked us from the airport and took us back the following morning was reliable and whereas spending a night in Lusaka waiting for a morning flight is not the most fantastic thing, Pioneer Camp certainly manages to make it a comfortable and stress-free experience."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team