This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr L & Mr L from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Our Namibian adventure

Namibia between 7 May 2010 and 23 May 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We achieved everything we set out to do. To get an understanding of the country and the people in the different regions. To see the varying landscapes. To experience the wildlife in the context of its own landscape, particularly the Desert Elephants and our new stars the Giraffes. Plus, we met nice, interesting people, both fellow tourists and locals alike.

We experienced many new and different situations, and sometimes felt outside of our comfort zone. Which is exactly what we wanted.

Everything seemed to be much ''more'' than we expected. A trip we'll never forget. Namibia rocks !

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Thanks too to Angela who offered help and patience along the way."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2010
"Location was good both for the airport and heading up country. The service was friendly, the team there made you feel welcome and were helpful on local matters.

The rooms were fine, and the food good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2010
"The service was good, very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable.

Location was good, easy to find and well situated for the local area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Point Kayaking review"

10 May 2010 • Morning excursion

Great ! The only two on the trip, how lucky is that ? A lovely way to spend a Monday morning. Jeanne was a good hostess, informative, enthusiastic and relaxed company. Seals wonderful, Dolphins annoyingly appeared only very briefly, Pelcians, Flamingoes and Jackals all nice to see too.

Never kayaked before, but didn't have much trouble working it out.
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2010
"We used this lodge as a stopover to break up a long drive. As such it met that need. Room was basic, although the welcome was warm and friendly, and the location positively stunning.

It was some way off the main road however, and the access road was heavily ''washboarded''. We very much enjoyed meeting Kingsley and Stumpy (two young Meerkats), they were good company at breakfast."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2010
"Loved it ! Location was great, the main building offered spectacular all around views. The room was comfortable, the food good, and the staff made you feel very welcome, and that you were valued. The guiding was first class, probably the best we experienced in our trip. Knowledgeable and friendly. The desert as a location was better than perhaps we had even imagined.

We liked the fact that the local community were involved in the business, were employed there, and it showed in their approach and the pride they took in everything about Doro Nawas.

A wonderful night sky, the staff singing after dinner, bats flying through the dining room and most of all seeing the Desert Elephants.

The best place we stayed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2010
"We felt a little ''captive'' staying here, particularly after dark when we had to be escorted everywhere. We were troubled by this fact and that yet the rooms could not be locked, a contradiction ? We were told everything was really safe, several times, but were not really sure what we needed to be wary of.

Accommodation was fine, as were the facilities, with a great view of a waterhole from the main lodge. The service was variable and the food basic.

We had one game drive in the reserve, which went from an afternoon into the evening. The standard of guiding seemed to show a lack of respect to the animals, and the level of knowledge limited when prompted.

We were concerned to be so close to some animals at dusk and after dark, to the point where they were visibly stressed and seemingly threatened by our presence. The use of bright white spot lights and allowing some guests to use flash photography at extremely close range surprised us.

Not an enjoyable way to watch the wildlife for us. The next day we decided to visit Etosha on our own rather than take another guided trip, and felt better for it."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2010
"Apparently a fairly new camp, everything was pristine. The welcome was good and the service friendly. The main lodge was very good and comfortable, we enjoyed watching the Warthogs ''mowing the lawn''. The accommodation was different, and we really liked the form being semi permanent tents.

The antelope (at least we hope that's what it was) visiting right outside the tent during the night made for an interesting half hour in the darkness.

A great location for Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2010
"Actually ended up in the Bush Camp rather than the Main Camp. We still enjoyed it though. The welcome was fine. The rooms seemed a little tired, but they had everything we needed. Very much enjoyed feeding the birds and Warthogs with the bird seed provided. Service was good, and so was the food.

Guiding was very good, and all the activities were interesting and a lot of fun. The guides were friendly and mixed well with the guests.

It was a different experience again, which we knew before we went, but was justified in what we learned and what we saw. Leopards, Cheetah and Porcupine were all seen here.

A few more people were here at the same time, and it was enjoyable from a social aspect too."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review 2"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2010
"Please see the first review. [Ed: see below!]"
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team