This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G & W from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A Trip to Remember

Namibia between 17 Sep 2010 and 1 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was most enjoyable and because of the thorough programming of the trip by Sabina went without incident - apart from arriving in Walvis Bay and Swakopmund in the worst sand storm seen for five years - but we cannot blame Sabina for that!

We found the Namibians very friendly and wishing to please. We were surprised there were so many gravel roads and driving on these does need concentration and so it would be our recommendation that at least two drivers are necessary and going as a four is ideal. It is a great country and amazing for its different scenery and areas of desert, bush and wildlife.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We think you do a great job and are a very efficient organisation! Thank you for all your help and guidance."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"Whilst the room and bedding were clean, we found the place a little austere and not as welcoming as we would have liked.

The pool looked dirty and not very inviting."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We were lucky to have a mix of visitors from various countries who were excellent company and we enjoyed talking to over Dinner.

After a long drive it was good to do a walk around the area before Dinner, and the following morning we took their Game Drive (where we did see Mountain Zebra in the distance and a few other species) which we enjoyed, mainly for its scenery, and which was quite spectacular. We were then dropped off to do the walk through Quiver Canyon which was good and picked up at the end.

Bullsport fell down on its teas and coffees which were expensive, cold and stewed having been left in flasks for a long time. All drinks and wine were also expensive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

"Betesda Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"The staff were very friendly and eager to please. Because we were unable to get into our requested accommodation near Sesriem this was a reasonable place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our day at Sesriem seeing the amazing dunes with their magnificent colours along the 50k drive to Death Valley and Sossuslvlei.

Afterwards we went back to the Sossulsvlei Lodge which is a place where we would encourage people to stay since being in the Park one would be able to start the drive earlier and it looks a lovely Lodge. Here we also did the Sesriem Canyon walk which was very interesting.

Since we had an onward journey the next day, we feel accommodation nearer Sesriem or the Swakupmund side of Sesriem would be a better bet if unable to get into the Park if this is possible."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"We expected this rather uninviting looking house to be very average but to our surprise it was in an excellent location for getting around Swakopmund on foot and exceptionally clean and well appointed with very friendly and helpful staff. From here we had a Dolphin and Seal Tour booked with Levo's Tours, Walvis Bay which was outstanding. Francoise, the owner, is the man to go with. He is very knowledgeable and makes the tour so interesting and we would thoroughly recommend this tour.

We saw dolphins, seals, pelicans, many seabirds and flocks of flamingoes. Drinks of 'Namibian Coffee' (sherry) were served, together with a Champagne and Oyster Lunch. The cost was £45 but well worth it. Evening meals at the Brauhaus and the Tug Restaurants in Swakopmund are also to be recommended and a trip to the Kristall Gallery is very interesting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"The Goodwins and Wilsons had different opinions on Brandberg. The Goodwins liked it and the Wilsons thought it was poor.

We did the Game Drive but unfortunately landed up with a tour party on the vehicle which was not very satisfactory. Although Desert Elephants had been seen in the camp on that day and all week and we had a 90% chance of seeing them, this was not to be. The Cabaret by the local people after the Evening Meal was excellent and the gardens to the place were lovely.

The Goodwins loved the tents and open showers but have to say that there should be better directions to getting to this accommodation since at one time we found ourselves on the Game Drive Road and nearly sank in the sand! The bed linen needs replacing since this is very tired.

We did the walk to the White Lady but were very disappointed to see how small he/she was!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"We were looking forward to arriving at Eronga Wilderness Lodge to have some luxury, only to find that there was no water! It was a local problem and the owner had been out for two days helping to repair.

However, it was a lovely place to relax and we thorough enjoyed our stay here, and even more so when we were given free drinks for the two days because of the water problem!

We would encourage a stop here for a couple of days, if only to catch one's breath after the previous long drives and early mornings at Sesriem."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Taleni Etosha Village review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"We would thoroughly recommend staying here and thank Sabina for this recommendation.

Having eaten hotel food for several days we decided on a BBQ since this was a self-catering establishment. Imagine our surprise when we reached our tent to find that there were no utensils at all and we had bought our food along with us! However, a large box of all the equipment one needs can be hired from Reception plus kindling at minimal cost and we had a thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Spotty the semi-tame zebra was also a feature. Being only 2km from Etosha this was an ideal spot to start for our next day's adventure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"We found the Reception Staff very surly here and not very helpful which was contrary to our experiences elsewhere.

However, the water hole provided the highlight of our Etosha visit when two lions lazing near the hole suddenly became extremely interested when a lone buck arrived. We thought we were going to see a 'kill' as the lions crept towards it, when all of a sudden out of nowhere came two rhinos. The lions immediately backed off, the older one standing her ground against one of the rhinos for a while, but then they melted into the bush and the larger rhino came to the water hole - and the buck's life was saved!

The swimming pool was the best part of this Camp! We would recommend only one night's stay here and another at Naotomi where we found the staff very helpful and the place looked well run."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"This was a great place to finish our trip and we would thoroughly recommend it for its helpful staff, food and delightful accommodation. Chris McIntyre please note there are no longer any animal heads in the Reception Area! [Ed: Noted - thanks!]

The whole ambience of the place was great and we loved it.

The scene looking out over the Game Farm is very peaceful and many varieties of animal visit the watering hole. A great variety of birds also visit the area. Here we enjoyed an evening walk seeing dik dik, antelope and oryx en route.

Visiting the Cheetah Farm from Frans Indongo is quite a long drive, but interesting, and staying at the Lodge enables one to drive back to Windhoek Airport along tarred roads in plenty of time for afternoon flights without the necessity of having an overnight stop in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team