This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms K & Ms R from Florida

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2014 trip

Kenya between 19 Aug 2014 and 1 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed our trip and will have many good memories. When three people travel together, it's difficult to represent all opinions in one rating form, but the important point of view is that we were glad we went and were largely satisfied with our itinerary.

Emakoko, where we spent our last day, was not on the feedback list. I'd like to add that it is lovely and I would have enjoyed an overnight there. When I was dealing with a family emergency and had no cell signal, Anton was very generous and helpful, and the staff was excellent. Also, this was the best food we had on our trip."

Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2014
"This was a good choice for a short overnight before starting our safari."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2014
"Lovely management and staff, and excellent guiding, made Elephant Bedroom Camp a good stop.

It was very hot and still while we were there, but the camp was appealing and the wildlife sightings were superb. And Samburu was beautiful beyond belief!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sirikoi

Sirikoi

"Sirikoi review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"It's a beautiful camp, and our guide and spotter, James and Mr. B, made every moment wonderful.

We saw lots of wildlife, but James and Mr. B were the best entertainment of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Naboisho Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2014
"Despite the excellent camp staff and lovely manager, Helen, Naboisho Camp and the Naboisho Conservancy just didn't click for us. We seem to be in the minority--perhaps we were too old to take advantage of the best features.

We highly respect the camp's effort to aid the community and be environmentally friendly."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

"Mara Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2014
"It's a beautiful camp, and the able managers and staff were eager to meet our needs and provide special treats, like a private campfire and dinner and our family tent.

Our guide, Kevin, was excellent and we enjoyed many sightings in the conservancy and in the Maasai Mara Reserve."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia or bust!

Zambia between 11 Jul 2013 and 22 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It has been 15 years since Chris McIntyre planned our first trip to Zambia, and I'm so pleased to have finally returned. Claire gave me excellent advice in planning our trip, and Eleanor was very helpful when Claire was not available. I felt great confidence in your team of experts and appreciated that everything worked smoothly.

Thanks as well for the copy of Zambia, which I devoured.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

If I think of anything, I'll let you know."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Ideal Bushcamp Experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"I loved the look and feel of Old Mondoro. It reminded me of some favorite bush camps visited during the past 20 years. The area is gorgeous, both the Zambezi itself and the forest of winterthorn and mahogany trees.

The management team, Jason and Michaela, are excellent--warm and welcoming and very capable, and their staff is exemplary. Lovely and plentiful food was prepared by two men that we never saw but greatly appreciated.

We arrived exhausted, so especially appreciated that our tent (#2) was comfortable and perfectly situated for wildlife sights and sounds. From the daybed on our porch, we watched hippos and elephants on the nearby islands and white-fronted bee eaters that frequented an uprooted tree on the riverbank. Despite our laziness, we enjoyed a game drive and a boat ride and saw quite a nice selection of wildlife. Just as we were about to leave for our next camp, two elephants walked right through camp as if they owned it and scoured the winterthorn trees for pods--the first of the season. I left wishing that we could linger for a few more days.

Helpful hint: take slippers or thick socks for the unbelievably, inexplicably cold floor in tent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Gorgeous River Setting and Special Treats"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"I've been longing to go back to Chiawa Camp since I stayed there in 1998, and am pleased to have finally returned. The river is still as beautiful as I remembered, but Chiawa has "grown up," with more tents, larger tents, 24-7 hot water and electricity, and 12 hours of internet.

The service is superb, and the managers (Stuart and Maddy and Van and Esmerelda) and staff are eager to please. We appreciated having great flexibility in our activities and schedule. Taking advantage of the wonderful river setting, we mostly opted for boat trips and were pleased that they could be arranged whenever we wanted them. The boatmen were also excellent guides, and our most frequent guide, Ruben, will soon sit for his guide exam.

The food is spectacular--not surprising since Van is a chef by training. He planned several special surprises, such as lunch and dinner on the barge for the two of us. These events required extra time and preparation, and we appreciated his thoughtfulness.

The tents are spacious and well equipped (with a few minor oddities such as faucets that barely clear the lip of the sink, making simple hand-washing a challenge). Some have limited views of the river because of vegetation, but we were pleased with our tent (#7) which looked out on both the Zambezi and a dry river bed where elephants, bushbuck, impala, baboons and vervet monkeys came to drink.

In truth, I missed the smaller, more intimate Chiawa Camp of 1998, but I enjoyed getting to know the new incarnation. And I'm very glad to have also visited its sister camp, Old Mondoro, which is very reminiscent of the "Old" Chiawa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Lovely camp and great guides"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2013
"On our 90-minute drive from Mfuwe Airport with guide Lloyd to Tafika, we saw enough wildlife to make our visit worthwhile. And that was just the beginning.

Owners, John and Carol Coppinger, are clearly pros who know how to run a camp. They have high standards, and this is reflected in the quality of their staff and guides. We had good game drives with Makubu and Amon, and especially enjoyed our time with Bryan, whose amazing leopard sighting and pursuit was the wildlife highlight of our trip.

Vegetarians will delight in this camp. Because Carol is a vegetarian, most dishes served were without meat. The food was perfectly adequate--not often delicious but good enough and always nutritious.

The camp was very congenial, with good opportunities to meet and chat with others around the campfire, the bar, and the dining table."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

"Designer gorgeous with creature comforts"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"I was glad that Chinzombo was the last camp of the four that we visited in Zambia. It is gorgeous and comfortable--perfect for rest and relaxation, which is mostly what we did.

Our early morning game drive was uneventful until 8:30, but finally livened up. Our guide, Willie, suited us well and seemed to realize that we'd been "around the bush" a few times and didn't need to hear all the basics. One drawback is that there are lots of other camps and self-drivers sharing the same patch of the park--we saw a dozen or more vehicles during our morning drive.

My guided walk from camp was worthwhile in terms of both much-needed exercise and useful information. I think that one can never know too much about dung!

The camp itself was so inviting that it was hard to drag ourselves away. Our villa's deck had enough comfy lounge chairs and sofas that we could move from one to another and have shade all day. Note: be sure to look for sausage tree pods above and stay out of their line of fire until the staff can climb up and cut them down!

We enjoy lazy wildlife viewing from camp, but because the camp is set on a high bank of the Luangwa River, most of the animals you see are on the far bank--close enough to spot but requiring binoculars to see well. We were glad to find vervet monkeys in the trees above our villa and hear an elephant beside our villa one night.

The designers from South Africa have created stunning villas and public spaces, but in doing so forgot some practical elements. There are beautiful bath towels but simply nowhere to hang them to dry. Most of the space for hanging and stacking clothes is occupied by handsome leather boxes and decorative storage devices that are impractical for their purpose. Lighting is lovely to look at, but it's certain that no women were involved in the decisions about vanity illumination. There is a wonderful bathtub that would take hours to fill with its meager trickle of water, and the anemic water pressure in the shower makes washing your hair a long and vexing procedure. (The managers were aware and concerned and said that a solution was expected soon.)

Managers Wendy and Findlay, both Scots, are delightful and eager to please in their first experience with camp management. There was very little interaction among the guests, with each party having its own dining table. It appeared that both managers had to work extra hard to host tables and chat with guests, whereas in most camps, guests help entertain each other. The guides have been with the Norman Carr organization for many years and the staff was always friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed Josphat, who seemed to be everywhere at once anticipating and attending to our needs.

The food was beautifully presented--sometimes delicious and always good enough. It seemed that the kitchen was still learning how much food to prepare since, on one occasion, lunch was nearly depleted by the time we arrived at 12:15."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Welcoming and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"We were at Eight Reedbuck Hotel for less than twelve hours, arriving after dark and leaving in the early light. We felt as if we missed much of what it had to offer--the lovely garden with a roaring fireplace looked inviting, but we were too bushed to do more than have a quick dinner and go to bed. Even our short stay gave us a feeling of a place that was lovingly and tastefully designed and warmly hospitable. We were welcomed on arrival by Vincent and Alex, who proved to be the chef and the waiter. The first room we were shown had only one bed. Although we had paid for a standard room with two beds, with no fuss and no extra charge, we were quickly ushered to a two bedroom suite which was perfect.

We ordered tomato garlic soup and an Eight Reedbuck salad for appetizers, both of which were so large and so good that we could barely make a dent in our main courses. Note: Skip the bream with chips, as the former was cooked too long and the latter not long enough. Otherwise, it was a lovely meal.

The owner was not on duty but made a point of meeting us and apologizing for the odor of paint, which wasn't a problem at all and easily excused in the interest of progress.

Eight Reedbuck is 30 minutes from Lusaka Airport, but it appears that no hotels are closer. It was a perfectly pleasant stopover for us and we wish we could have seen it in the daylight."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team