This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms R & Mr M from York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My August 2016 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 1 Aug 2016 and 22 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a good experience, although we did find some of the gravel roads quite hard work, but became more used to them. Perhaps we should have gone for a 4 wheel drive car.

However the landscapes and the wildlife were stunning, the lodges generally very comfortable and it was certainly a truly memorable holiday."

Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Vineyard Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"We enjoyed our stay there very much. We were upgraded to a room with a delightful view of Table Mountain.

We ate one lunch and three dinners there, and thought the standard of the food and service very high. The hotel was of considerable historic interest, and the grounds were delightful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, although it is a little distant from the city centre."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"This was a very pleasant stopover.

Our chalet had great views and we enjoyed the terrace. We thought the food was of a high standard.

We did not have time to book any activities but liked the short self-guided walk."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2016
"The location was quite spectacular and very splendid: worth the difficulties of reaching the lodge. The chalets were architecturally interesting, if rather minimalist. The food was fine, if not outstanding, served in a magnificent dining room. The views were quite fantastic.

We booked a full-day hike and enjoyed the descent into the canyon very much. We were however very annoyed to be told at the bottom that we would not be allowed to continue and had to return by jeep. Of course, one cannot challenge the decision of local guides (even if, as experienced walkers, we thought the decision wrong) but we had not been told that there was a risk of being thrown off the walk at the bottom, and we had paid the full amount.

We left Fish River Lodge feeling very bitter about the experience. So our Average covers an extremely mixed experience."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

"Hotel Helmeringhausen review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"This was an extremely useful stopover, and something of an oasis, with an attractive garden.

The room was spacious and perfectly comfortable, though the instructions from management were rather on the negative side.

The supper was at a fixed time, and fairly basic though adequate."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"A very comfortable lodge, and an excellent base for exploring the desert.

The food was very good, and our full-day trip to Sossusvlei, with a very well-informed and interesting guide, and a fine lunch, was most enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse Review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"This was a fine base, within easy reach of restaurants in Swakopmund, fulfilling all our needs.

Excellent breakfasts and very comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Day trip to Sandwich Harbour"

12 Aug 2016 • All-day excursion

A very good day out, made even more interesting by the fact that our only companions on the trip were Chris McIntyre and his son James. We learned a lot from Chris as well as from our guide Burger.

The highlights were the drive through, up, and down the sand dunes and the wonderful sight of lagoons full of flamingos and other birds.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"This was a very different kind of experience, signalled by our first sung welcome, in the Damara language. Everything was extremely comfortable in the tented chalets arranged around the central areas, all with fine views.

We booked an afternoon trip to to see the desert-adapted elephants; we found it extremely exciting, as our guide located tracks and we left the jeep to walk towards a group of elephants. We had a perfect view of the group, across a gorge, which fulfilled all our hopes.

Later, we enjoyed an evening meal, with the menu again sung in the Damara language. The service was excellent and we would certainly recommend this lodge."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"This was another very successful stay, in this beautifully located lodge; we enjoyed the early morning walk and the afternoon's scenic drive, and appreciated our guide's knowledge of plants and trees as well as of the wildlife.

The communal meals and generously offered drinks were all much appreciated and we benefited too from our hosts' conversation and knowledge of the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2016
"We had a premier chalet close to the waterhole here. Though the view of the waterhole was a bit limited, we enjoyed the terrace and we made the most of our proximity to the waterhole in spending time there in the evening.

The wildlife we saw there was fantastic; after one rather quiet half hour, twenty or so elephants came ambling in. At all times there was something to see. The chalet itself was very comfortable, although it needed a bit more care (the downstairs living room had no light when we were there, though one was rigged up by the maintenance man).

The food was buffet-style, for large numbers of people, but perfectly adequate. We did not take any of the tours available but as we drove around in the national park, we found some amazing viewpoints, where lines of game were queuing for their access to water. We were very glad to have gone there and experienced the park, in spite of the numbers of people and pressure on services."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2016
"We thoroughly enjoyed our time here; we went on a sundowner hike, and an early morning hike, and then did an extended self-guided trail in the afternoon.

In between we relaxed on the terrace of our very pleasant chalet and enjoyed the views.

If there had been more trails to take, we'd have liked to have had more time here. The food and service were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team