This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs N from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

Namibia - fantastic trip

Namibia between 5 Sep 2008 and 24 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant trip. We saw lots of amazing sights and animals, and stayed in some wonderful places. The Namibian people were very friendly and helpful.

Some of the long drives between places are a bit boring, in particular the one from Sossusvlei to Swakopmund.

If we ever went to Namibia again, the only things we would do differently are:
- stay in Windhoek on arrival, so that we don't have a long drive on the first day
- hire a 4-wheel drive vehicle, instead of a saloon car. The car was fine on most of the roads, but some roads are very rutted and bumpy, particularly the private roads to some of the lodges
- take a bird book."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge - very friendly"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2008
"Rob and Marianna, and the staff at Zebra River Lodge were very friendly and helpful. They very kindly moved us to another room, because of a mouse in our original room! Special thanks to Jana.

We enjoyed the food, particularly the family atmosphere sitting around dining tables, the setting and the walk up to the Quiver tree.

The lodge is a little bit off the beaten track (if there is such a thing in Namibia), but it was a very nice place to spend our first 2 nights in Namibia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kulala Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"Thomas, the manager, and his wife made us feel very welcome, although we were slightly surprised that one of the first things Thomas did for us when we arrived was arrange restaurant bookings for us in Swakopmund, which was the next place we were staying. However this was quite a good idea.

The setting and the views are good, and we enjoyed the sundowner drive. We went on an organised trip to Sossusvlei, which had its good points, but we were a little disappointed as we felt we were rushed and weren't given the opportunity to climb one of the big dunes.

Bottled water is free, unlike Doro Nawas."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2008
"We thought Sam a little stand-offish when we first arrived, but think he must have been pre-occupied. He was an excellent host, being very informative and helpful. He introduced us to some excellent South African wines and told us about how he trains his staff.

We had dinner at Sam's the first night we arrived and the food was good. The breakfast was the best we had in Namibia - there was such a variety of things available.

Sam provides free internet access and tea/coffee with a wide selection of different tea bags. There are also lots of books (belonging to Einstein, his dog), that are available for browsing.

Sam's is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Swakopmund - we walked and found it safe.

Overall, we found Sam's a very homely and friendly place to stay.

Sea kayaking excursion: This was a great half-day trip. Jeanne was very helpful and reassured us that the trip was safe. We saw lots of seals and dolphins - it was terrific when they came so close to the kayaks, and there are no other boats around. Jeanne kindly emailed us some digital photos of our trip.

Excursion to coastal desert: This was a great day-trip, even though we didn't quite get to Sandwich Harbour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The rest of the party spoke German so he had to repeat everything for us. We loved driving and walking in the dunes, and running down them. We also saw a lot of bird life, including pelicans and flamingoes. Lunch was also excellent."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone tours - excellent day trip"

11 Sep 2008 • All-day excursion

This was a great day-trip, even though we didn't quite get to Sandwich Harbour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The rest of the party spoke German so he had to repeat everything for us.

We loved driving and walking in the dunes, and running down them. We also saw a lot of bird life, including pelicans and flamingoes.

Lunch was also excellent.
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Point Kayaking - excellent"

12 Sep 2008 • Morning excursion

This was a great half-day trip. Jeanne was very helpful and reassured us that the trip was safe. We saw lots of seals and dolphins - it was terrific when they came so close to the kayaks, and there are no other boats around. Jeanne kindly emailed us some digital photos of our trip.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas - excellent activities"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Doro Nawas. Elaine, who took us trekking Desert Elephants and to Twyfelfontein was very knowledgeable and would stop to show us things of interest or if we spotted any interesting birds. We didn't feel hurried.

Our room was very comfortable, the food was good and the setting pretty spectacular.

Tea and coffee always available within the central lodge. However, we were charged for bottled water.

Our only slightly negative comment is that when leaving, we asked for someone to take our bags to our car. Although we were told that someone would do this, it didn't happen, so we ended up carrying our own bags. This gave us the slight impression that once we had settled our bill, the lodge wasn't that bothered about us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"We had a chalet near the waterhole at Okaukuejo, but weren't disturbed by all the people who come to view the waterhole in the evening. The waterhole is brilliant - there is so much wildlife around in the middle of the day, and we saw rhinos both nights at around 9pm.

The chalets have very recently been refurbished, and are very smart and comfortable, with mosquito nets and air conditioning.

The food was ok - one night it was a buffet, the other a barbeque, but we would recommend either getting food early or booking a table, as Okaukuejo is very busy. The shop had a limited selection of goods - better than Namutoni though (which only had sparkling bottled water).

Note that on checking out, the reception radios one of the housekeeping staff to check that the room has been left in a good state before returning the deposit.

We expected there to be more information about where particular animals had been sighted and were surprised that this didn't exist.

We enjoyed our time at Okaukuejo, and saw a lot of interesting things on our self-driven game drives."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halili Restcamp - much quieter than Okaukeujo"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2008
"Halali was much quieter than Okakuejo, i.e. less people. The rooms had recently been done up. We had a one-bedroomed bungalow, which had a separate lounge - both the bedroom and lounge had air conditioning. The bed had mosquito nets.

The food in the restaurant was similar to Okaukuejo, and the shop was stocked similarly to the one at Okaukuejo.

We saw rhino at the waterhole in the evening, and one lunchtime we were at the waterhole, about 35 elephants came and used the waterhole.

Again, like Okaukeujo, there was no information about what animals could be seen where."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Waterberg Wilderness Lodge -beautiful setting"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Waterberg is in a beautiful setting. We arrived at about 3pm,having travelled from Halali, and were in good time for afternoon tea and then a game drive. The game drive enabled us to see white (wide-mouthed) rhino at very close quarters - we were able to get out of the Land Rover and were within ~10 metres of the animals. Fantastic.

The following day we went on a guided walk up onto the plateau, where we learned about the traditions and beliefs of the local people, and the uses to which the various plants were put. This was extremely interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Our room was very pleasant and the food good. The staff were very friendly.

The approach road to the lodge is sandy, quite hilly in places and has a lot of humps. Despite being very careful, our car grounded in a couple of places."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Okonjima Villa review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"We were very fortunate to be upgraded to the Villa from the Bush Camp. Our room, in the main villa, was amazing - we had a lovely view over the waterhole and into the bush. The service and food were excellent. Aldo is a very good chef.

The first night at Okonjima, we were the only guests and felt very spoilt, having a chef, guide (Johann) and hostess (Anya) to ourselves. Our evening trip was tracking hyena, which was a bit different.

On our second day, the morning activity was a bushman walk, where we learnt about how bushman tracked, hunted and survived. The afternoon activity was tracking leopard. We started a bit late, but found a leopard in a dry river-bed. It appeared to be sleeping, but then climbed into the tree next to us to protect it's most recent kill.

On our last morning, we went to see the cheetahs and wild dogs. The cheetahs are in a fenced reserve, but it was great to see them being fed.

Okonjima was a great end to our holiday - we may never stay anywhere as exclusive again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team