This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M from Egham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

November self-drive trip 2016

Namibia between 9 Nov 2016 and 25 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was brilliant, we saw all the animals we wanted to see and more. It is so easy to drive around as long as you are careful on the gravel roads and the scenery is stunning, there seems to be a different view at every turn.

We found the people there so friendly and the level of accommodation was very good, comfortable beds always help! Although it was very hot - 35 deg on average, the dryness means it is not debilitating.

You can also see animals at the waterholes all day long, as well as in the conservancies , not just the morning and evening, making for a day long game viewing everywhere you went. Very pleased with all the help we received - it was nice to have a contact at the airport in Windhoek as well.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not that we can think of at the moment."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good place for first or last night"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"A very friendly place to stay on your first night night in Windhoek with a good little restaurant serving tasty food.

Easy to find and 5 minutes drive to bars and supermarket."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Loved this place"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"One of our favourite places, this lodge is set in stunning scenery overlooking the dunes in the distant.

You immediately feel relaxed and are welcomed with a cold drink and given a comprehensive informal chat on your stay and the facilities. The staff were all very friendly and would spare the time to talk with you. Dinner is served on a large candlelit outside balcony and is delicious. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The early drive to the dunes is wonderful with the guides being very capable and eager to share their knowledge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Convenient place to stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2016
"Sams Giardino is located an easy 10 minute walk from the waterfront.

The rooms are good - clean and comfortable and the garden very pretty. However, we were a bit disappointed with the 5 course dinner which was billed as 'a wonderful 5 course dinner in a romantic candlelit setting'. The dining room is very nice, but we wouldn't call it romantic and the food while fine, wasn't very imaginative all.

All in all, fine for a one night stay, the look is a bit 80's and could do with some updating."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Uis own arrangements

"Great little bed and breakfast"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2016
"We stayed at Pertra Guesthaus in Uis on a bed and breakfast basis.

The room and ensuite were clean and comfortable and Petra and her husband very accommodating and friendly. They run balloon tours and will take you into the mines, but we did not take this up as we were only there for one night. There is a small pool and pretty garden with beautiful flowers which attract birdlife. It's a couple of minutes walk to eat dinner in the town and there is a good supermarket and petrol station.

We would recommend this place."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"A treat to stay here"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"The drive up to the camp is stunning and is the lodge.

Fantastic room and ensuite with views down towards the mountains and the staff who were very entertaining with their singing were friendly and the food was delicious. Nice pool as well.

We didn't do any activities as we were only here for one night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Personal service at Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"We felt very looked after here, Dennis is a very attentive and a more than helpful host who makes you feel like one big family round the dining table in the evening. Very relaxed, but very well run.

The food is very good and included roast dinners, apple crumbles and lots of vegetables. The tents are very comfortable and it was nice to have a quick swim at the end of the day. The guides on walking activities and also the game drives are brilliant. They are so knowledgable and really wanted to impart what they knew as well as having eyes like a hawk to spot wildlife from miles away!

Some great drives around the conservancy, plus you get to have a game drive on the way up from and then back to your car.

Liked this place very much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Great game viewing at Hobatere"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2016
"The lodge is a lovely place to stay with a great view over the plains.

It's star feature is the waterhole about a half mile away which the guide will take to you to and leave you at the hide until you want to return. We saw a procession of zebras, kudus, giraffes, oryx, baboons, impala and springbok as well as many birds. In the evening we were rewarded by four lions who were lying between the lodge and waterhole.

There is also a small waterhole right next to the lodge which attracts wildlife. The food was very good, staff friendly and the pool quite large, though it could have been a bit cleaner.

The chalets are comfortable, but were very hot even with a fan and could do with air conditioning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Good for Etosha Park"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2016
"Etosha Safari Camp is located just outside Andersson gate so very convenient for getting into the park.

The chalet was clean and comfortable and dinner is buffet style. The food was OK, but one dish looked very much like the rest and the staff didn't seem to know what was what. We had great service one night, but the next night there seemed to be nobody there, just one chap who didn't really want to help the guests.

The evening entertainment is a couple of guys playing guitar. The pool here is quite large and very clean - we liked it!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"A definite to visit"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2016
"An amazing place that does amazing work, it did not disappoint.

The chalets are wonderful with huge panoramic windows overlooking the plains to hills beyond. The main building is stunning and beautifully furnished, staff are very friendly, food good and the guides who take you on the cheetah and leopard tracking drives do their very best to find the animals for you - we saw both.

We would recommend this place any day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Good for last night"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2016
"Good for the day before you fly home, there is a nice pool and the views across the hills are wonderful.

Although the staff were friendly, there seemed to be a bit confused at times. Although we didn't want to do any activities, we weren't offered any either.

We had a 5 course tasting dinner with wine - the wine was very nice, but the food was very disappointing, shame as it was our last night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team