This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs E. from Exeter

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

2

Our trip to Namibia

Namibia between 19 Sep 2018 and 3 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I absolutely loved everything about this trip. I found Namibia to be a fabulous place. I loved the wide open spaces that you cannot describe to anyone who hasn’t seen them. I love the desert and all the fascinating things there, and we only just scratched the surface of what it has to offer.

Of course the wildlife is the big feature of Africa in general, and we certainly. weren’t disappointed on that score.

The people we met, both locals and visitors were friendly and interesting and so informative. We learned about the country and it’s issues since independence, and we learned about other places that some of the visitors we met had been to. Definitely whetted my appetite for Africat.

We realised that we were on a particular circuit so often met the same people who were a day or two ahead of behind us. I think with just about 11 full days, the tour was perfect. We might possibly, in retrospect, with what we know now, have chosen to drive through Etosha and stay a night in one of the other lodges.

Having said that, on our third day at Ongava we spent several hours in the hide and realised just how many animals come to the waterhole. It was non stop in the morning, and breath taking. Then in the evening the rhinos came! It’s interesting that the guides are very cagey about the number of rhinos they have, and it great that they are so protective."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove , windhoek. "

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We really liked this guest house. It was very different from a European guest house, and charming.

The accommodation was excellent and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We particularly liked the way the kitchen was open to the customers.

The dinner was lovely, Oryx steaks, beautifully cooked.

Breakfast was relaxed and extensive."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Beautiful Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"When you first arrive at a place like this from th UK, it’s a real surprise.

The location in the desert is quite spectacular.

The rooms are all spread out away from the main building and some, like the one we were in are quite a long walk from the main building with a rather uneven path. We really loved the stay there with all the activities already booked and planned.

Our guide Richard was brilliant, and looked after us extremely well, not only with the trips out but with making sur that we were in position in time for sundowners each evening"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"A spectacular experience"

22 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

We were fortunate in that the balloons didn’t fly the previous day because there was too much wind, but we were extremely lucky and the day was perfect.

We were taken to the balloon site very early, in time for the safety briefing and to watch the balloons being inflated. There were 16 in each basket , and two balloons, so that we each had a view of the other. The pilot Sanchez came from a family of balloonists and was very experienced and great fun.

The flight over the desert was spectacular, and lasted over an hour, with Sanchez looking for a landing site.

He warned us that the balloon might tip over and therefore showed us how to brace ourselves just in case! As it turned out it was a bit bumpy but no problem.

Champagne breakfast in the desert, what service!
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Very nice high quality European style guest house, run by a very kind couple."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"aDun with Seals"

25 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

We were a little anxious before arriving as we have had no experience, but actually it was quite unnecessary.

We had a long drive over the sand past the salt factory with Jeanne our host. We launched the kayaks and once we were installed. We set gently into the lagoon.

We just had to paddle a short way before we were surrounded by seals.

Jeanne our host, took photos and videos and sent them to us later in the evening.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"Exciting safari searching for the elephants. Guide had amazing eyesight!

Great drive up the sandy dry riverbed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Great Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"On arrival after a long drive we looked at the steps with some trepidation!

However, it’s definitely worth the effort as it is spectacularly location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Beautifully designed guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"While the fabric of this guest house is lovely, we did not enjoy the stay as much as the other guesthouse we stayed at in Windhoek.

We felt that the service was pleasant enough but a bit indifferent, and slightly chaotic compared with other places. The lock on our door was “faulty” and when we comments that we had difficulty getting in, locking it, and getting out in the morning, we just had the advice to wiggle the key a bit.

The breakfast was very average.

While it was a lovely house, if I was ever to travel that way again, I’d stay elsewhere."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team