This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs K from New Forest

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic!

Namibia between 30 Aug 2017 and 15 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We first contacted Tom in May to enquire about the possibility of arranging a holiday to Namibia in August/September. From day one he listened to our preferences and requirements and managed to put together an excellent itinerary in very short order. We very much appreciated his suggestions for places to eat, excursions, side trips etc and also his in-depth knowledge of what to expect at the places we stayed.

It was good to be met by the Wilderness rep on arrival in Windhoek who helped us with SIM card purchase and hire car collection.

Namibia surpassed our expectations as a holiday destination. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful, the scenery was spectacular and we saw much more wildlife than we anticipated.

Despite some initial concerns about self-drive, we thoroughly enjoyed it and are glad we decided to travel this way. (Having a brand new 4x4 pickup certainly helped!)

All in all a wonderful experience and we would recommend it to anyone - along with Expert Africa!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Galton House

Galton House

"Very convenient for the first night"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"A short drive from the airport and a tasty meal prepared by enthusiastic and friendly staff followed by a good nights sleep set us up for the journey to come.

We arranged to take a picnic lunch with us on the day we left and it was very good."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Superbly situated for visiting the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"Loved the location with stunning views of the dunes on the skyline.

The small waterhole provided a few sightings of oryx and silver backed jackals."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Good base for a stay in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2017
"Very helpful and friendly staff - Robyn helped with meal recommendations and reservations and she also managed to explain to me how my local data package worked!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"A musical interlude!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"We thoroughly enjoyed listening to both the 'click' language of the staff and the way they regularly burst into song!

Had an excellent guided tour with Leslie (new to the lodge) to see the desert-adapted elephants. After showing us the main herd, his determination to track down the lone bull paid off which was a real bonus.

We also much appreciated the efforts of all the staff to provide us with a memorable 'bush supper'."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"We loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2017
"Such a good experience in a wonderful isolated setting.

Great hospitality from Dennis and great guiding from Bonny.

Going on a long walk after all the driving - and learning so much along the way - was just what we needed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Wonderful waterhole!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"This recently opened lodge is rapidly finding its way and providing excellent facilities for its guests.

There is a large waterhole in full view of the restaurant (and many of the rooms) which has recently become a favourite with a number of elephants. At present the lodge has Michael - the best guide we encountered in Namibia - and although the game in some of the areas is still wary of vehicles we had some good sightings.

The food was excellent and on our second evening we were treated to a surprise dining location in a hide overlooking a floodlit waterhole which was unforgettable - especially when the rhinos put in an appearance!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ideal for driving into Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Good game sightings within the Ongava concession including a number of lions and both black and white rhino.

The camp waterhole also attracts a variety of different animals which were lovely to watch whilst having dinner.

Perhaps we were unlucky, but during our stay the food was disappointing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"A pleasant interlude."

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Watching the cheetahs being exercised was very interesting, as was learning about the work being done in the centre.

The hospitality side is a new venture and there are still a few wrinkles to iron out, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There is a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere here and for us it was a welcome break from early starts and long days.

On the second evening we had a splendid Sunderdowner drive with a surprising amount of wildlife, followed by a very tasty and tender steak!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Magical sundowner mountain"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Having read that guests were transported up to the lodge, we were surprised to be told to 'follow me'! In reality it is quite a short and easy drive - but you do need a 4x4.

As walkers, we really enjoyed the ability to give our legs a good stretch and thoroughly enjoyed one morning walk and two sundowner climbs with Gelasius who taught us so much about Namibian customs and culture along the way.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed some of the best food of our whole trip here. The dining terrace is hard to beat.

If you are leaving early to get to the airport, we can recommend the packed breakfast!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team