This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Harriers from Switzerland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A memorable holiday in Namibia

Namibia between 7 Jul 2008 and 21 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole,this trip was a holiday of a lifetime. With the help of Expert Africa, we enjoyed our exploration of this beautiful country. Our total journey was 3400 km, but we did not unduly feel we were tied to the vehicle. We were happy that our planned route was in a clockwise direction, as it left the high points towards the end of the holiday (including hotter temperatures!). Unfortunately, we missed a key activity (ballooning over the dunes) due to high winds and we also hit an extremely cold winter snap. We enjoyed seeing the towns/villages and spending some time in them.

One point I would like to stress is that these lodges are mostly built to provide cool accommodation in summer, and therefore can be bitterly cold and draughty in winter. Visitors could perhaps be given more warning to pack winter clothing. Restaurant staff are wearing anoraks - ours were at home!

We did not appreciate open plan toilets or sharing a dinner table with people we had little in common with.

We found the guide book by Chris extremely helpful and appreciated all other documents."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Avoid rooms with open plan toilets"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2008
"Did not appreciate the open plan toilet! Is this necessary?
Very helpful and friendly owners and staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2008
"Be prepared for 25k drive off main road to ranch. Made to feel very welcome. Despite arriving late after lunch time, were served sandwiches upon request.

Beware sand dunes can be very cold at night - it was -3 during the night. Heaters kept the room bearable during the night!
Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely lounge area with good fire which was good to meet and chat to other guests. Appreciated own table for meals (other lodges tend to put guests on same table, despite language differences). Interesting cheetah information and visit in closed compound."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Excellent location at Sossus Dune Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2008
"Whole lodge designed for summer heat - our winter visit meant that bar and rooms were very cold and draughty. Restaurant was heated by gas burners. Outside temperature was -5. However, were given hot water bottles and extra blankets upon request. 70km/h winds meant ballooning trip was cancelled.

Although rooms were very comfortable and roomy, felt this lodge lacked personality and character. Long walk from central facilities to room. Excellent location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"Efficient and friendly welcome by Sam. Enjoyed Sam's extensive wine collection and his wine knowledge. Very helpful regarding activities and booking them for us, even to the extent of going to the bank for us during our trip to the dunes.

Thoroughly enjoyed Living Desert learning experience - but be prepared for a cold early morning start! Loved the buzz of Swakopmund town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"Warm welcome and enjoyed our stay very much. Excellent rooms and made to feel very welcome by staff who sang beautifully. Special evening meal in bush was a treat! Beware of horrendous roads at times.

Dune elephant safari was well coordinated and leisurely. Not many animals present in this area and glad we did not do full day safari, as distances and road conditions to try and find them are unwarranted.

Recommend reading about training and development of local staff from reading material in room."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Wonderful waterhole at Okaukuejo Restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Comfortable bungalow facing busy waterhole. Excellent buffet dinner, entertained by children singing to raise money for their school. Nice pool area. Enjoyed walking around restcamp and the restful time watching the game visit waterhole.

Camp pass - we arrived for a 2 day stay at 2.30pm. Problem was that the pass expired at 2.30 after 2 days, which means that we had to exit the other gate by this time, or buy another day pass. I feel that the pass should be for a full day if arriving after 1.00pm."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"We did not enjoy these two nights. We felt there was too much emphasis on luxury in main lodge (we just wanted basic, comfortable accomodation, not over-the-top vogue-style decorations) and disliked the small, cramped wooden lodges facing boring bush/scrubland. Other guests all German. One table for all guests.

Friendly, well trained staff. Chef kindly accomodated our off the menu food requests.

As we had exited the park (due to pass time out) we enjoyed an afternoon in Tsumeb. Had excellent lunch in Makalani Hotel and wish we could have spent second night there instead of reluctantly returning to Mushara Outpost. By this time we were feeling the need to avoid isolated and secluded lodges!"
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great AfriCat experience at Okonjima Camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Had fanastic time from start to finish. Could have stayed here for 2 days and done bush walk and other activities. Again did not enjoy forced sharing of table with hard to talk to strangers.

Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and shared their enthusiasm for their work and AfriCat Foundation.

Loved being woken up by roaring lions at 4am.

Very comfortable home from home accommodation. A wonderful way to end our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"An enjoyable, comfortable stay although rooms need attention to detail (e.g. kettle flex does not reach table top) and maintenance (curtains falling off rails.) Excellent bathrooms. Excellent breakfast served in our rooms."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team