This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Pygmy Falcons from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Wonderful

Namibia between 24 Jul 2008 and 12 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was wonderful, everything worked like clockwork and all the arrangements were perfect.

Namibia was a beautiful country and the weather was perfect, much warmer than we expected, though cold at night, and no clouds at all for the entire trip, fog at Swakopmund on one day. The driving on tarmac was easy and on gravel we felt that 4x4 made the driving much more pleasant, others suffered with ordinary hire cars.

We ventured into towns, shops and garages and felt quite comfortable, only at Windhoek was there more of an edge with quite a lot of youths hanging about in the evening. The standard of accommodation and food was higher than we had expected, the scenery outstanding and the game in Etosha more widespread than we had expected."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Nice first night at Hilltop House"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"Hilltop House was a very pleasant place to stay on our first night in Namibia, the welcome was effusive and the room was splendid and vast with a lovely view over Windhoek and the hills beyond. There was a slight mix-up over a quick sandwich that we'd ordered when we arrived but everybody was most apologetic. The building work below the hotel meant we could not use the balcony because of the dust.

We took the car down to African Roots in the evening, a restaurant recommended and booked by them, and this turned out very well, with a huge (too huge!) and original meal. We spent the morning, after the good breakfast in our room, in Windhoek before driving south, and this was worthwhile."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Pleasant night at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Our stay at the lodge was good except I had a pair of sandals taken from outside the lodge - I had left them to dry following wearing them back from the pool - during dinner and unfortunately they did not turn up before it was time for us to leave.

The larger pool was excellent though the other did seem rather small. The meal was excellent and the atmosphere in the dining room good with all guests eating at the same time. The staff were very helpful and willing to talk about their experiences and life outside the lodge. Before the meal started the staff made a point of announcing the menu in their own languages."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"A lovely stay in beautiful countryside"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2008
"A beautiful setting in the middle of nowhere, about 30 miles from the Fish River Canyon. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly.

The rooms were plain but pleasant although it was pretty cold in the night. The swimming pool looked lovely, but it was a little too cold and windy to use it! We spent our day gazing at the Fish River Canyon and walking along the top."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Fantastic stay at the Eagle's Nest"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2008
"The location was incredible, a 7km drive from the main hotel. We had the Rock, courtesy of Expert Africa's influence, and this amazing house built around a large boulder was beautiful, with a little terrace overlooking the desert and its sunsets. There were a pair of black eagles in a nest on the rocks above us, feeding young, we think.

We drove the 7km to the main hotel on both evenings for dinner, and the meals and service were both very good. We had a breakfast platter at the Rock on both mornings, whcih lasted most of the day. The walk we followed was easy to follow and had fantastic views."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Fantastic 2 nights at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"After a long drive from Aus, with a splendid break at Helmeringhausen on the way, we had a lovely welcome at Kulala. The staff were extremely friendly and mostly Herero, and two of them stayed with us after dinner for a long chat about life!

The food here was outstanding, rather more inventive than elsewhere in Namibia and slightly smaller portions, which wasn't unwelcome. The room was splendid, quite close to the main house (another coup for Expert Africa) with a splendid view over the desert.

We had a tour to the Sossusvlei dunes on our one full day which was outstanding, a nice combination of travel, walking, climbing dunes and watching wildlife and birds. Our guide, whose name eluded us, was brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden Guesthouse

"3 relaxing nights in Swakopmund"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"We decided to spend 3 nights in Swakopmund. The Secret Garden was simple and pleasant, if rather cold at night.

The guests were mostly German, and the welcome was warm, with every effort made to find restaurants for us, as booking appears essential in Swakopmund. We had 2 contrasting days here, the first was beautiful, sunny and warm, and we went to Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours.

The second was cold and windy, though we had a nice time seeing the sites of Swakop."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Excellent trip towards Sandwich Harbour"

2 Aug 2008 • All-day excursion

A brilliant trip with Ernest, just us and an Italian couple. I was a little disappointed not to be able to get to Sandwich harbour because of high tides, but we visited the dunes, walked along the coast and then went out on to the lagoon with a fantastic number of birds, particularly flamingoes and terns. A nice lunch also. A really exceptional full day. Ernst took us to places we would never have been able to get to and made everythng perfect with his explanations and his interest in us as well as Namibia.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Fantastic stay at Doro Nawas"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2008
"This was the hottest part of our trip. We spent 3 nights here and spent quite a lot of time lounging around on the beautiful balconies to recover from exertions on the earlier part of our trip.

The room was vast and very comfortable. The location was fantastic with endless views over plains and hills. On the first morning, we went out on our own to see the rock paintings which was interesting, if not compelling - far greater paintings in Kakadu in Australia!

We went on 2 fantastic guided trips, both with Gabriel, on both occasions we were on our own. the first was by LandRover to find elephants, and he found 2 herds for excellent close-up views, as well as loads of birds. The second was an early morning walk through the scrub, and we really appreciated the amazing efforts of explorers like Livingstone who walked (for years) in the bush.

All the staff were fantastic and very professional, especially Florentia, with whom we talked for hours."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Lovely stay at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Okaukuejo is unique, it's a large complex in the middle of the safari park. It's not luxurious, though our Waterhole Chalet was very comfortable and beautifully located.

The food is institutional and the service tends to the terse. But that's not the point! The location is fantastic, the waterhole at night is spectacular, and not bad during the day. There are plenty of places to drive to to watch even more game, and the birdlife just wandering about the camp is excellent."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"One night at Namutoni"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"Namutoni was a pleasant experience but not in the same class as Okuakuejo.

The room was wonderful with a bath! The service was much better than Okuakuejo with the exception of the restaurant which was rather amateurish compared to most other places.

The location though was by no means as good, the waterhole held no animals at all while we were there and the area around was not as interesting. We felt that the whole camp did not fit in with the surroundings - the huge walkways and fences in particular did not feel or look right."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Excellent finish to holiday at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"To finish our stay in Namibia we had 2 nights at Erongo. This was an excellent idea, the location was very good, in a montainous area of Namibia and we used the 4-wheel drive for the first time to get to the lodge.

Our room was very secluded, if a little cold with its outside washroom and shower, especially on the first windy evening. We went on one guided early morning walk, which was a little bit slow for us, and one excellent walk on our own to the top of the adjacent hill as the sun faded.

The welcome from Brian and Adele was excellent, and they, and all their staff, were very helpful. Birdlife was very good. A beautiful and peaceful end to our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team