This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Berkshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

A memorable holiday

Namibia between 22 Oct 2008 and 14 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday more than lived up to our expectations. The accommodation in most cases was excellent and the extra excersions we had booked through Expert Africa were all well worth doing.

Namibia is a very interesting and diverse country and we would like to think that we will have the opportunity to return and visit the parts we didn't have time to do this trip.

We drove over 2500 miles and were glad that we had been advised to have 2x all terrain vehicle. The gravel roads we drove for the majority of the time were not as good as we had been led to believe by the guide books. People we met who had "normal" saloon cars all said they were struggling.

A 4x4 is not necessary but the extra ground clearance of our Hyundi Tuscan was an advantage.

In our exprience the service of Expert Africa helped us plan just the holiday we wanted."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"A great place to start our holiday"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2008
"A warm welcome on arrival. We stayed in one of the straw bale chalets, which was very spacious and comfortable.

Wish we had arrived in time for the afternoon nature drive."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"A beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Canon Lodge is like an oasis in the middle of the Gondwana Reserve. We were lucky enough to have no. 13 and had spectacular views of the surrounding area and the wonderful sunsets. They are just finishing a new swimming pool in a lovely setting overlooking the plains.

The optional drive to the Canyon was worth doing. A very good guide.

The resturant and food was very good. Especially their own produce, all very fresh and well prepared."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A good place to break the journey overnight"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"Very strong German atmosphere. We enjoyed the drive around the farm to see the old copper mine and we had a beautiful sunset and sundowner."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"A great location and very spacious accommodation. The pool area needed some shade but the pool was very warm and in a lovley setting.

The lounge and dining room were welcoming, although we had all our meals on the terrace overlooking the small waterhole.

We had booked to do a balloon flight through Expert Africa while we were staying here. It was a wonderful experience watching the sun come up and then having a champagne breakfast in the desert. Eric the owner of the company gave us a superb flight - an expensive trip but worth every penny."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"We were warmly welcomed by Marianne and imediately made to feel at home. We were extremely lucky to be given guest room number 9, built into the side of the hill - you needed to be quite fit to reach it! but once there the view and the room make it well worth the effort.

It was a very relaxing time and we were well looked after for part of the time by Neil (a friend of the family) and Jana as Marianne and Rob were away. We also enjoyed the food and the company.

We were glad that we had a high clearance vehicle to make the journey from Soussus Dune Lodge to Zebra River - Not too far in distance but hard driving."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Time to take a break from driving"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2008
"A warm relaxing atmosphere at Sam's.

Sam turned out to be a very friendly and interesting person. He is very proud of his establishment and rightly so. We were able to relax in his lovely garden and we enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening meals - we only bothered to eat out once at 'Erics'.

Whilst in Swakopmund we enjoyed two trips that we had organised through Expert Africa - a day out with Ernst (Turnstone Tours) and a morning kayaking with Jeanne Maientjes (Eco Marine Kayak Tours). We were extremely lucky to have Ernst to ourselves and it was a very memorable day."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"Very friendly staff - the manager, Jo, tried very hard to please.

The accommodation was very high standard and the thought of sleeping under the stars seemed a good idea until we were told they were expecting the temperature to drop to 9 degs that night!

The trip to track the desert elephants was exceptional - Gabriel our guide soon picked up fresh tracks from the early morning and we followed these to discover a herd of elephants in the hills. The highlight being the sighting of a 2 day old baby. We sat very close to the herd for well over an hour.

We also did the trip to Twyfelfontein, again with Gabriel as our guide, this was combined with a nature drive and a beautiful sunset with a sundowner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2008
"We were not made to feel welcome on our arrival. The lady collecting the Permit Fees was very unhelpful and rude (their card machine was not working).

The room was nice as they have just been refurbished, but the resturant staff and service were abismal. They really need some customer care training - its such a contrast to the service and friendliness we found at all the other places we stayed.

Nice waterhole, a relaxing place to watch the animals after the chaotic resturant experience."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2008
"Our rondel was very cosy, but in need of some refurbishment - particularly the bathroom.

The bar and lounge area more than made up for this, as did the resurant and the food. The staff were very friendly. Also the pool and garden area were attractive, unfortuately we didn't see any game at the waterhole as the rains had just started."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A grand finish to our trip"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2008
"The accommodation was superb. We enjoyed having the open side to the chalet to watch the game and the birds pass by.

The resturant and bar/lounge area were very relaxing. The activities were very well organised and we had the same guide, Richard who was very enthusiastic, all the time.

We were glad we had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team