This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs O from N Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

My Apr 2022 Namibia trip

Namibia between 25 Apr 2022 and 10 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"We booked this trip in late 2019 and it was postponed twice.

Claire kept us informed, and kept up our hopes that trip would actually happen.
Our trust in Claire and Expert Africa was justified, and we had a wonderful trip. We are so glad we didn’t miss it!

We particularly liked the amazing landscapes in Namibia, and the contact we had with the local people at the lodges."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2022
"A really good place for an overnight stop.

We were pleased to be able to have dinner there, which was very good.

We had our first bottle of South African wine which was one of the best on the whole trip.

Very welcoming and a stylish place."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

"Wolwedans Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2022
"What an amazing location! Great views of a beautiful landscape.

It was a long drive from Windhoek, and our ranger John was waiting for us and took us off for our first sundowner - a great welcome. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed the interaction with them and the college trainees.

The nature drives were excellent and the ranger was very knowledgeable. The night sky was the best we have ever seen.

The lodge was very stylish and comfortable and the food good. We were given a tour of the central facility and we were impressed by the importance placed on sustainability and protection of the environment.

We encountered lots of grasshoppers here!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2022
"The staff members saw us coming and welcomed us by name on arrival. The public areas were spacious and stylish with lovely outdoor seating and a pool.

The meals were our favourite on this trip. There was a choice of main courses and very good house wines were included.

The nature drives and the trip to Sossuvlei were excellent and our ranger Richel was very knowledgeable and looked after us very well. She gave us a guide to the night sky after dinner."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"We had a very comfortable 2 night stay here with a good choice of food for breakfast.

We had dinner both evenings at the Ocean Cellar fish restaurant. Delicious local oysters."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals review"

1 May 2022 • Morning excursion

The trip was well organised and enjoyable and Kevin was a mine of information. The sea was calm and any nervousness at the prospect of kayaking was soon dispelled.

It was great fun and the seals seemed to enjoy it as well - there were lots of them!

Kevin took photos of us all at sea but disappointingly we never got one of us.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2022
"The lodge is set on a hill and has spectacular views. The design of the lodge and chalets is sympathetic to the surrounding countryside.

The staff choir were really good and they sang to us on several occasions - we enjoyed it as much as they obviously did. The chalet was spacious and the outside shower was a bonus.

On our second evening for dinner we had a barbecue on the roof. We had a long trip with Bernhard the ranger and saw lots of wildlife, and we had time to leisurely observe the desert elephants.

The manager took the time to sort out a problem of our own making, and made sure it did not affect the enjoyment of our holiday. This was much appreciated."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2022
"Perfectly adequate chalet for 2 nights. Ideally located to explore the western Etosha.

Very good local waterhole illuminated at night - we saw interactions between elephants and a black rhino.

We also saw a large group of mongoose frolicking nearby.

The restaurant was busy and slightly disorganised but the staff were very pleasant and welcoming.

We spent sunrise to sunset out in the park, self driving, and saw a wide range of wildlife - a great place to be for 2 days."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 May 2022
"Great location just outside the eastern end of Etosha. Lovely chalet and a nice pool.

A bit impersonal and with little interaction with the staff.

The only place we stayed where we were charged for the drinking water in our room."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2022
"A long drive, but worth it. A stunning location among rocky hills.

A great drive with the ranger seeing rock art, giraffes and lots of bird life.

Very welcoming and helpful staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team