This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Portugal

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2011 trip

Namibia between 18 Jan 2011 and 4 Mar 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful a great adventure and a beautiful country.
Sorry about the comments on some of the stopovers, but you did ask for opinions!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just to say if you gave the kms or miles from each camp and Guest houses and very approx. time is should take.

Try to insist to the client a second spare wheel is part of the hire deal, to get a punture and know you still have 200Kms to cover on gravel roads is a little daunting."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jan 2011
"Our room on arrival was not a luxury room, with hugh puddles outside the door, with no way of wiping our feet till we put a towel down, having asked for some method of drying many times.

The last visit on our return 5/2/11, we were then given a luxury room, without having to go outside to enter, good as it was raining very heavily, but we had a incident as we were leaving, all our luggage was taken down stairs and left on the terrace, I left in the room my makeup, hairbrush and tooth brush and toothpaste, so after breakfast I could freshen up in rediness for our flight. Returning half and hour later, the expensive makeup and hair brush had gone, BUT toothbrush was left!! We sat in full view of all the staff when have our breakfast with the luggage still in view. Complaining to the manager he went to the staff quarters and found my missing items, he was full of apologies, but I was very cross by this incident."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2011
"Excellent Game drives and information on the rehabitation, a very good cause.

The hospitality staff seemed pre -occupied in the communial areas had little time for guests.

Loved the venue."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2011
"Great camp, wonderful hospitality, game drives were exceptional, our bush guide had so much patience and paid rewards 3 week old lions with mother plus many other sighting.

The bush camp "feeling" was a little too much when enjoying our evening meal and swams of insects invaded each night.."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2011
"Fabulous venue, outstanding location, enjoyed our stay and treking the elephants, very rewarding.

Thank you to Adrian for organising the repair of our punchure."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2011
"We wish had chosen somewhere else, The location was so noisy as it is on cross roads. The room was unbearably hot, with no means of cooling it down, even some windows were stuck!! We asked for an electric fan to try to circulate the air, but the reply was no. The breakfast was very frugal.

The laundry service was quick, so quick everything came back as dirty as it was given in, and ironed but still very damp. It was rewashed without charge to us.

I would not recommend this guest house to any one. Unfortunately we did to some guests at Kipwe (taking Expert Africa advice to us) and they complained about the noise and unbearable stuffy room as well."
Terrible
Location
Poor
Service
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Poor
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2011
"The very best camp, wonderful host and hostess, beautiful setting.

Well done Thomas and his wife (sorry forgot her name) We hope you all goes well for you both."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2011
"Love the drive to Aus, so wild and beautiful. Changed our Lovely Eagle Nest acommodation, to the chalets located next to the main area, the views from there were still stunning.

Unfortunately after our wonderful drive from Hoodia to drive another 8km to the remote sleeping acc. and then back for evening meals and breakfast was just too much."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

"Kalahari Farmhouse review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2011
"No problems, very peaceful and pretty rooms. Lovely gardens."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2011
"You have our comments when we commenced our wonderful trip in Namibia. [Ed: see below]"
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team