This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Prof R from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

2

My Jun 2011 trip

Namibia between 9 Jun 2011 and 30 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"You listened carefully to what we wanted and did your best to help find it. Very well organised - we would certainly recommend Expert Africa to others. We wouldn't have changed anything fundamental about the trip.

The marked up map and advice book was helpful.

Not sure about the advice to collect our luggage and then check it in again at Jo'Burg Airport when changing planes, however. We didn't do this, and had no problems. It could take ages if you had to go through immigration and then back again.

One word of warning - we started on the Waterkloof Trail in the Namib- Naukluft Park and had to turn back afternoon as it was obvious we were not going to complete it safely before dark. We should have started earlier, but hadn't allowed for the fact that the trail is very poorly marked (and the mapthey give you is lousy) and we took wrong turns several times. I guess the rains have washed markers off. It also slowed us down crossing and recrossing the river - I reckon over 50 times there and back - slow, even when each individual crossing is easy. We met another pair of hikers who had had similar problems. Very frustrating - it's a beautiful hike.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No"

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Easy to find. Relaxing; attractive design; pleasant service. Excellent breakfast.

Taxi £5 each way to Joe's Bar, which had good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2011
"Superb; loved the scenery and the wildlife and this was one of the nicest places we stayed in Namibia. We went on one evening guided walk and a 4 hour morning walk, all included. Guides very knowledgeable and considerate in seeking out what we were interested in, and helping less one of us who had knee problems.

Also went on a N$440 evening drive which was rather steep, though we did see rock art, owlets and an aardwolf. Self-guided walks generally well-marked, but the markers did give out sometimes amongst the rocks and more are needed - take GPS or compass.

Good bird and mammal viewing from the restaurant, including an elephant shrew. Food excellent, but wine expensive. Cold at night, but duvets and hot water bottles meant that this was not a problem."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2011
"Close to Etosha and good location for an overnight stay before visiting the park. The hotel grounds were pleasant but limited in where one could walk around the grounds, although we did see some wildlife there such as warthog and steenbok. We didn't use a guide for any trips but we spoke at length to one guide who seemed very ignorant.

Food reasonable and wine fairly priced. Rooms very comfortable (hot water bottles!); attentive staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"We were upgraded to a larger 4 bed bungalow and had fun cooking on the braai for ourselves, having brought the meat etc from outside the Park. (The shop had a very poor selection and almost no meat.) The bungalow had crockery and cutlery for the braai. Ate dinner in the restaurant one night which was was extremely expensive and mediocre, not recommended.

Domestic and tourist information staff very helpful.

The floodlit waterhole proved disappointing for animals, though we did see a few. The seats were uncomfortable and rather cramped and noisy when lots of guests arrived."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"We used the braai twice but our 1 bedroom chalet did not have cutlery or crockery for the braai, only for making tea - luckily we had brought picnic plates etc with us. Basic equipment would be useful. The shop is fairly well stocked. Nice rooms, but rubbish not emptied from previous occupants though this was dealt with promptly when we complained.

Floodlit waterhole has comfortable seats and excellent views - we saw lions with cubs, black rhinos, jackels, giraffes, elephants etc and large flocks of roosting sand grouse."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2011
"Beautiful location amongst the rocks with lovely views from the cabins. We went for a walk by ourselves when we arrived - you will never get the grass seeds out of your socks! - and then went for the morning elephant drive next day which was expensive but well worthwhile. The excellent guide found us two herds of desert elephants up on the rocky hills and we had superb views of the animals.

Close to Twyfelfontainand the (disappointing) Organ Pipes rocks and easy to drive yourself there."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2011
"An ideal place to stay in Swakopmund (we had 4 nights there).

Very quiet, pleasant room and gardens, lovely breakfasts and a proprietor - Peter - who could not have been more friendly and helpful. The wi-fi and TV were a bonus. Very convenient location to walk to shops, museums and restaurants.

Highly recommended.

Whilst staying here, Expert Africa organised a Pelican Point kayaking trip for these travellers, who commented:

"A magical, well- organised kayaking trip in amongst the seals and then beyond the point into the open sea to see dolphins. The excellent guide took photos which she gave us on a disc before we left Swakopmund. Highly recommended."

We also organised a day trip to Sandwich Harbour, about which they commented:

"Excellent very knowlegable and experienced guide - Axel. A lovely day, though it was a very expensive trip.""
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Kayaking with seals"

20 Jun 2011 • Morning excursion

A magical, well- organised kayaking trip in amongst the seals and then beyond the point into the open sea to see dolphins. The excellent guide took photos which she gave us on a disc before we left Swakopmund. Highly recommended.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

21 Jun 2011 • All-day excursion

Excellent very knowlegable and experienced guide - Axel. A lovely day, though it was a very expensive trip.
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2011
"Friendly staff, particularly the knowledgable and helpful guide with whom we chatted in the evenings. However, an early breakfast ordered the night before on the guide's advice only arrived much later, delaying us in getting away to Sossussvlei. Food at dinner was terrible, and other guests were complaining as well. One dish of "lamb stew" was so tough it was inedible, and we are not normally fussy. The dining area is the furthest possible distance from the kitchen, so food is tepid when it arrives.

The cabins have nice views across the plains, but paths to the restaurant are poorly lit in places and it would be easy to trip over steps. Lighting is a major issue - by 7.30, dinner was over and the cavernous, gloomy, freezing dining room/lounge was deserted except for a few staff, but the poor lighting made in impossible to read there or in the cabins. The cabin doors and windows need better fastenings (they rattled and banged all night in the wind and kept us awake), and hot water bottles would be nice!

Horse riding is on offer, but we were unable to try it because of the weather."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2011
"We spent a lovely 4 nights here and would highly recommend Bullsport. Ernst and Johanna are very good hosts and there is a wide range of activities on offer. Very nice accommodation (we were upgraded to a spacious cabin with a separate living room). Gas heaters for the bedrooms. Swimming pool and outdoor barbecue area are available, though obviously not in use mid-winter! Excellent meals around a communal table with the hosts and other guests. Comfortable sitting room with lots of books, and you could borrow hiking poles.

We walked some of the self-guided trails, which are generally well signed although the recent rains had washed some marks away and more signs are needed in some locations. The full day hike towards and through the Quiver Tree Gorge is fantastic, for scenery, variety and interesting vegetation, birds and geology. Although there are some steep climbs, you can bypass the difficult scramble which some books mention and I managed it, even though I am in my sixties and have a minor knee problem. We were given a short-wave radio to call the farm if there was an emergency, which seemed a good idea.

We went horse riding for three half-day rides, which were well organised and a great experience - including riding near the rare Mountain Zebras.
There seems to be a good choice of horses for different abilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2011
"Convenient for the airport, but nothing much to do unless you pay for a very expensive game drive. Pleasant views of the city and arid hills.

The road up to the lodge is fairly rough compared with many other dirt tracks we went on in Namibia - perfectly do-able in a 2WD but take it very slowly to avoid grounding in places."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team