This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs V from Jersey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A variety of experiences!

South Africa and 2 other countries between 10 Nov 2011 and 5 Dec 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Time flew past all too quickly! South Africa as expected, although cooler than we would have wished - the electric blankets in Hermanus were most welcome! Botswana, undoubtedly depends on when you visit as far as game viewings are concerned, but based on our experiences we would not return having had better viewing experiences in South Africa, Tanzania and Naminia.

Victoria Falls - the only real problem on our trip. We planned our stay there to include a visit to Zambia, as there is a railway museum in Livingstone we wanted to see. In Botswana there were varying answers as to what Visas would be required. We travelled from Kasane to Victoria Falls with Wilderness.

At the Kazungula Border Post the driver gave us forms to complete and asked for US$ 55 visa fee from each of us. At the immigration counter I asked what Visa we would require as we wished to spend a day in Zambia, and was advised a dual entry Visa. I asked for a dual entry Visa and the Immigration clerk advised I could not have one. I asked why and he replied that such Visas were only issued at his discretion and his discretion was not to give us one. Reasoning did not help and I asked for the head of Immigration - he was at lunch but we waited for his return. I explained the issue, his clerk in the background was laughing throughout, but he said as we by now had the single entry Visa stuck in our passports he could not cancel them. He did however offer to sell us, in addition, dual entry Visas at a cost of US$ 80 each, or whatever. We declined.

I assume that this journey from Kasane to Victoria Falls is operated quite frequently. The driver of the Minibus ( on this occasion Big Boy) should be better informed on the options available beforehand so that such problems do not arise.

Regrettably, this finished our trip on a disappointing note."

Arranged By Megan Green


Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

"Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront review"

6 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2011
"Perfect location friendly staff. Only drawback it is 100% a business hotel.

We would, however, go back there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Ocean Eleven review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2011
"More a small boutique hotel than a Guest House.

The best breakfasts in the whole of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

"Le Quartier Francais review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2011
"This was our choice of hotel.

It used to be a typical South African style single storey building on the main street, with a great restaurant. Sadly, the public spaces and restaurant behind the street facade have been demolished and replaced with a concrete box. I described it as having lost its character, my wife said it had lost its soul, she was right.

The restaurant has been replaced by " The Tasting Room" where numerous courses are served to you as a blind tasting, ie you do not know what you will have to eat before it arrives on the table. The remaining part, or " The Common Room" is a bistro type restaurant. Needless to say, although we were looking forward to the restaurant there, we ended up having no meals there at all except the prepaid breakfast and even then their great speciality, the best porage I have ever tasted, has disappeared from the menu.

The bedrooms remain unchanged.

There was no personal or friendly service which we had received there previously."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2011
"Good location within the airport, shame they dont have a restaurant."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2011
"When we were there, most viewings were of birds and not game. Friendly staff, not much interaction with Manager as in other camps.

My wife was happy with vegetarian food, other food was so-so."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2011
"Same menu on same days as at Kasane and of same quality. Frendly Management, less friendly staff.

Small swimming pool which I was unable to access one afternoon as it was filled with staff and their guests."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2011
"Great Location, friendly Managers and staff, great food.

Best game viewing of the three locations we stayed at."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2011
"5 star hotel from the outside and public rooms, 3 star bedrooms. Good food and friendly staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team