This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Stockport

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Africa 2015

Zambia between 17 Oct 2015 and 29 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Best holiday ever- again!

Claire sorted all problems caused by Emirates delays. Contacting everyone, camp and pro flight for us, no problems for us arriving a day late."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

"Anabezi"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2015
"Extremely comfortable, lovely setting by the river. Could watch lots of animals from our deck. The plunge pool on our deck was very welcome in the heat of the afternoon.

The camp had something of a hotel feel rather than a safari camp due to individual dining and activities. Told we could invite others to dine with us but because of separate activities we didn't get to mix much with others. We prefer the usual camp communal dining.

The food was excellent, dinner was ordered in advance from about three choices.

Staff and service was very welcoming, we had the same guide throughout our stay.

Guides were top notch but possibly due to it being a new camp there didn't seem to be much local knowledge, so drives were often quiet. We usually go to camps where there are no more than four guests to a vehicle. Here we had a car to ourselves, this resulted in not having a spotter on night drives, making them a lot less productive.

Walks were the most interesting activity, plenty of close up animal encounters. The boat and canoe trips were also highlights, one of the advantages of the lower Zambezi"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Return to Tafika again"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2015
"Our third visit here, our favourite camp in South Luanguwa. A lot of people seem to return to this camp!

Don't really have much to say that hasn't been said before. We had fantastic walks and drives, you can even go on a bike ride if you wish, unfortunately the microlight wasn't available this time. A visit to see the carmine bee eater hide is to be recommended.

We particularly like the way guides stay with the camp for years, working their way up the ladder. This results in fantastic guiding, the best we have encountered. Excellent training plus all the local knowledge is unbeatable.

Can't wait to go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Great bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2015
"Returned to another favourite. Crocodile is a basic walking camp with comfortable beds. We were the only guests at the time so very quiet.

Stopped one morning for tea under the shade of a tree, soon joined by a family of elephants under the next tree. Youngsters entertained us playing at pushing each other round."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"Same as ever [Ed: See review below from their visit here a few days earlier in this same trip.]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2012 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 30 Sep 2012 and 14 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"All arrangements made by Expert Africa worked flawlessly. We are very impressed with the level of service and follow-up, and certainly would use them again. Thank you!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2012
"This was the first camp on our first visit to Africa. We couldn't have made a better choice. Most fellow guests had made many previous trips to Tafika, and we think that says it all. Mostly the trips are game drives, including night drives to see nocturnal animals. We were lucky enough to see wild dogs - we were very honoured according to other guests who had not been so lucky after many drives in Africa. Staff were amazing; eagle-eyed, friendly, hard-working, nothing was too much trouble.

The huts (rooms) were very spacious, practical and comfortable with hot water on tap (there's a boiler on site). One of the highlights was the micro-lite flight. If you get the opportunity do it! Don't forget to take a memory stick and ask John to switch on the wing camera.

When we get back to Zambia, Tafika will be top of the list for a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"Chikoko is a walking camp, no drives were on offer. Part of the journey to camp involves crossing the Luangwa river in a canoe.

Walking in the bush is very different to jeep drives, you will see fewer animals because they are more wary of people on foot, but it is really exciting to walk amongst them. Seeing a lion watching you with nothing between except blades of grass really grabs your attention.

We judged the location to be "good" with the river completely dry, but it would have been "excellent" when there is water by the camp. The food was every bit as good as at Tafika - how they do this at such a remote location is amazing. We saw a cake baking in the oven - a hole in the ground - which when we ate it was light and delicious.

The rooms here are on two levels, with the bedroom above and facilities below. The stairs are a bit rustic in nature, and need care at night. We didn't find any problem with this however. The bedroom upstairs has only three walls, being completely open at the front. It is completely private, though, and overlooks the river (dry when we were there).

Same high standards of service as at the main camp, with not many compromises to its remote location. Enjoyed it immensely."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2012
"Mwaleshi is a very remote camp, usually reached by small plane. As at Chikoko, the rooms and facilities are a bit more rustic than at Tafika, but we still rate the rooms and facilities as excellent considering where they are. The morning hot water, for example, is delivered in a tin jug, through a hatch. Hot water for the shower is provided in the evening, after your walk. Food and friendly service were also excellent here. You certainly won't be losing weight on these trips!

Most trips are on foot, but with a limited number of drives. It the truck was used, it was usually to deliver the party to a remote location from which we walked. We did manage to have a night drive with spotting light - this gave our second view of wild dogs and was one of the highlights of the trip. The animals in North Luangwa are much more nervous than in the south, and here we had a couple of interesting interactions with them. Out for an evening walk, we came across an elephant who was not going to let us pass. After several retreats we made a final about turn. Once the elephant realised this he trumpeted in delight! Although exciting, we did feel perfectly safe - the guiding (as at all three of our camps) was very good and operated with safety in mind.

On another walk we encountered a herd of buffalo wanting to cross our path, we had to stand back and allow this. They seem so much larger and more intimidating when on foot that from the jeeps. Also out on a walk, we saw vultures circling; this led us to a tree with a leopard in it. Thanks to the excellent spotting by Special; we would certainly have missed it. If you are considering these walking camps - do it! You will not regret it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"We returned for our last night in Zambia. Tafika, with its brick floors and extra facilities seemed even more luxurious after our 6 nights in the bush camps. We even saw the wild dogs again, on the way to the airport next morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pumulani

Pumulani

"Pumulani review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"This lodge has the most incredible location, rooms and views! The flight in by light plane was brilliant, seeing the lodge from the air confirmed our high expectations, and set us up for a special few days of relaxation after our safari. Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and efficient - we were soon enjoying lunch and a drink on the terrace overlooking the lake. The food and service were brilliant for all of our stay. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. Overall we had a very good stay, didn't use the boating facilities except for the sunset cruises on the dhow. These were really good, with snacks and plenty of drinks provided.

There were some negatives. The wooden walkways that lead to the rooms and the beach were in an appalling state of repair, with loose boards and handrails, and many exposed nails. This included the decking around the pool - ok in daylight with care, but at night most of the walkway was not lit. A small torch was provided attached to the room key, but this wasn't really adequate given the state of the boards.

Our return flight to Lilongwe was a big disappointment. When we were advised that we would be joined by another couple and a large amount of luggage we were promised by Claire the manager that a bigger plane would be provided. Not so! The plane that arrived was the same Cherokee Six that had delivered us. At best this is a 4 plus 2 seater, including the pilot, which was why we were concerned over fitting in 5. It was impossible for my wife to move her legs at all during the fight, as the other couple were seated opposite her with their legs trapping hers.

A great hotel, good food and service and a fantastic location, which we did enjoy, but in the end we were not impressed with this part of our trip. On reflection we would have been more relaxed spending extra days at Tafika, in Zambia.."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team