This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H & Family from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Namibia exceeded all expectations!

Namibia between 6 Oct 2007 and 20 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you for all your help and advice in advance of the holday and for booking us into such lovely places (apart from kulala lodge where i hope the level of service improves). I thought the the time we spent in Etosha was fabulous and i cant believe the amount of game we saw there, seeing cheetah and a leopard at okinjuima was fantastic too and we really enjoyed all the driving as it gave us a chance to see the changing landscape.

I was impressed with the state of the roads and would thoroughly recommend driving to anyone who asked about this. The main reason I wanted to go to Namibia was to see the dunes, which did not dissapoint, and we went on a light aircraft flight over them to see the extent, stunning.

It was a fantastic holiday and i plan to return - and will spend more time at Erongo and go back to wolwedans dune lodge for definite."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Elegant and realxed start to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Lindy and Roger were lovely hosts, and we really liked the quiet elegance of the Olive Grove with the Morooccan feel to the rooms and decking. We did not have dinner there but thoroughly enjoyed a meal at Joe's, which was recommended by Lindy.

I also thought it really sensible that the soaps and lotions came in big bottles rather than many hotels which give little amounts in small plastic bottles which clutter up washbags and are not environmentally sound at all. Having a his and her basin was a lovely luxury and a jar of cookies with the tea and coffee a nice touch!

Thanks for a really enjoyable start to our adventure in Namibia."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Fabulous service at Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"Its hard to describe how much we enjoyed our stay at Okonjima! I loved our chalet and the bird bath outside provided hours of entertainment. The shower was so cleverly designed, it was wonderful to lift the canopy and feel surrounded by the bush and thank goodness for the blankets as we were there during a cold snap.

Albert, our guide, was superb, really professional, knowledgable but also with a great sense of humour, with his guidance we trekked two cheetahs and a leopard which was really exciting. Also the blankets on our vehicle were a treat, as was the expertly mixed G&T!

My main comment would be on the service, I have never had such good service before, everyone was really polite, courteous, friendly, charming, and seemed to enjoy their jobs and each others' company which made a big difference. I was also impressed with the attention to dietary requirements and how well the kitchen managed to meet these requests.

I would recommened a stay here to anyone who plans to visit Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"lovely waterhole at halali restcamp"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2007
"We were slightly anxious about this venue as we had been informed that it would be basic, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Our chalet was very clean and spacious, the food, in the school dining room atmosphere, was fine and we had a lovely few hours by the waterhole, which is set away from the rooms, watching elephant.

We only stayed one night and left early in the morning so did not really have a chance to use facilities etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"lovely pool at okaukuejo restcamp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2007
"we had a fantastic chalet here, really close to the waterhole and were awoken at dawn by a lion's roar which was really exciting. it can be quite distracting as the chalets are very close to the waterhole so you can hear people talking, but on the whole the restcamp has good facilites, a lovely pool which was very refreshing from all day in a dusty car, the steak was really tender and delicious at the evening meal, a good choice of food at meal times, very clean rooms, and we like the fact that there was a book listing animal sightings from the day before which gave a guide of where to go."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"loved the singing at damaraland camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"I really loved my stay here, the hosts and guides were all very friendly, cheerful, and professional, the food was really nice, and we loved eating in the boma one night. It was the first time that anyone had sung in the evening and we really enjoyed that, as well as the menu being read out in "clicky language".

The pool was a welcome refreshment after the drive on the dirt road and the mountain bike ride a good bit of exercise after several days of eating lots of good food. The view here is incredible and we had two nights here to enjoy some peace and quiet which was wonderful. Thanks for such an enjoyable stay!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"amazing sundowner at erongo wilderness lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2007
"What a surprise when you drive over the huge rock to see the rooms set smong the rocks. I was so impressed by the architecture here, attention to detail and having a mini bar in our room was extremely welcome! Unfortunately we only had one nights stay here and i would really recommend anyone to stay for two so that you can enjoy the walks.

The wooden walkways to the main lodge are really fun, the design is amazing, hosts very friendly and we were taken up for an amazing sundowner on a rock where you can see for miles, that has a chair atop it for great viewing of the surrounding area. Ostrich stir fry very enjoyable and watching love birds while we ate breakfast was a joy - i hope to get an opportunity to come back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"dissapointing service at kulala desert lodge"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"This was the only place where we have negative comments, we received a lacklustre welcome, which we may not have commented on had it not been that everywhere else we were greeted with a cooling drink, smiles and details of the lodge and activities. We were not told about the activites etc and had to go and find someone after dinner to find out details for our morning balloon ride, i had to go to the kitchen several times to ask for the hot water thermos to be filled up and the place seemed deserted most of the time. The morale there seemed low, staff disinterested and hard to track down.

It is a shame as the location is so close to the dunes and the morning drive with albert was fabulous (once we had tracked donw a guide to find out what was possible) - as was the breakfast as sossouvlei but i would not recommend staying here"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"smooth balloon ride"

17 Oct 2007 • Morning excursion

We were really lucky with the weather for our early morning ballon ride, it was cloudy which meant the dawn was really specatular and it was not too hot when we stopped for a really superb spread for breakfast.

I was really impressed with our pilot who brought us down really low over the river bed but have to say that the flames were a lot closer than i had imagined and it would have been good to have been advised in advance how hot it was on board as i thought my fleece would melt!
Good
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"wolwedans - perfect place to end a holiday"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"WOW! Coming over the crest of the dune and seeing the stunning lodge was a treat. The architecture here is fantastic, really well designed, the canopy sides to the chalet were fantastic and i loved the walkways. Also was really impressed with the thought to the environment with shower water going straight to the acacia trees and cutting off if too much was used! The food was really well presented and delicious and i hope that the scheme to train young people here continues.

Again our guides were excellent, ben and john, and we learnt a lot about the flora and fauna with them. Finally i cant imagine a more stunning setting for a swimming pool! I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who asked."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"friendly stay at Eningu clayhouse"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"We were really lucky to arrive at the eningu clayhouse during the first rains since march so everyone was in high spirits! Hard to beat drinking a glass of cold white wine while sitting in a jacuzzi surrounded by the desert, and followed by a really delicious dinner cooked by the chef named doctor!

The rooms are really comfortable and the use of clay is really clever. Its location is fabulous, so close to the airport, and so we wish kate, the lodge owner, all the best for the future."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team