This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr JH from Switzerland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

New country - great trip

Mozambique between 14 Sep 2012 and 28 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"As we had not been to Mozambique before had no prior expectations. However it is clearly on the up touristically especially in respect beach holidays.

Safari part was good for us since it had a "freshness" that has disappeared in some other destinations as safaris have become more "packaged" and up market. People very friendly and staff performance level good"

Coral Lodge

Coral Lodge

"Excellent Lodge - staff top"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Coral Lodge very good and excellently run - current Managers for the Ottos (Nelson & Sara Rato) excellent and you sense the dedication to training local staff all friendly and everyone helpful. Food and service excellent.

Good activities but their planning a bit haphazard. New Activities Manager just getting started so probably still getting up to speed. Incidentally once new Nacala Airport gets going this will reduce transfer time to about 30 minutes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Explore Gorongosa, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Excellent Safari experience"

5 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"Gorangoza Ntl. Park – we really enjoyed and while obviously the diversity of the species is not yet where it once was the Antelope herds were among best we have seen in many Africa trips. Sables in particular stunning. Elephants also good and on the up. Birding as advertised. If track system could be extended to North side of the lake that would enhance later dry season visits.

Explore Gorangoza Camp. Excellent for all who want a comfortable, well run Bush Camp. Just what we like and getting harder to find with trend to up market safari lodges. Ranger (Blessed) was outstanding and staff excellent. We had a temporary Camp Manager Paul. The South African couple left 6 to 9 months ago and the replacements left just before we arrived (the female half was from Lisbon and could not stand the isolation!) Paul, an experienced South African) had just arrived and obviously had everything under control so that was OK. But obviously eventual permanent replacements will be critical.

The road transfer from Beira was efficient & comfortable if tedious with all the trucks on the road – unless they find new fly in solution this will detract. Flight out as advertised to Benguerra & very pleasant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Marlin Lodge, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Not quite up to standard advertised"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"Very nice set up, staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed very much overall.

For up-market place food OK for us but not up to what is advertised. But just new F & B manager said he was working on it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Excellent trip -no hitches in organisation

Zambia and 3 other countries between 31 Aug 2007 and 25 Sep 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa as good as last time.

Chris gave good overall initial guidance and Lucy Scholte was just great and worked continuously to make sure we got what we wanted on our itinerary. Even after trip had been paid for Lucy still worked up to departure to get changes in bookings to meet requested loges/camps.

Not many agents bother like that once the cheque is in. Really outstanding work by Lucy and much appreciated.

We would certainly use Expert Africa again."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"oustanding bush camp safari"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2007
"This is one of best bush camps we have stayed at.

Well laid out on Zambezi, great management and staff who took care to always be of service without being obtrusive. Outstanding guiding with tremendous care to be informative and point out both the "Big" and the "Small". Diverse activities - walking, game drives and river trips with the excellent guiding, or relaxing in camp, made this camp a great experience with no reservations to recommend to others.

This is a camp that gives you an authentic feeling of the bush in Africa. Comfortable but not OTT."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Lodge great as before -"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2007
"Having stayed at Tongabezi Lodge before the repeat was still a pleasure to experience the spectacular location and luxury.

Service and food perhaps a shade off last time (no fish on dinner choice for example) but still very good. Room service with Butler great and all staff very friendly. Pool not well maintained.

Dog House view could be improved with some with some judicious pruning of trees/bushes. Bathroom only limited surface space to place toilet articles and no real chest of drawers for fold up clothes storage. This could be improved.

For a lodge of this class top management attention to detail would benefit to really keep it excellent"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

"Great river camp -fantastic location"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2007
"Sindabezi was great with it island location and great layout.

Real delight to feel "alone on the river" and the morning and evening trips on the Zambezi were magic. Great birding but also some good game sightings.

Camp very well run, tents and facilities good and well maintained to give a bush camp feel with good comfort.

Managers and Staff friendly and working hard to make stay so nice. Guiding excellent with big effort to see and explain."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Nice Camp -good but not top safari"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2007
"Excellent well maintained camp. Good management, friendly staff.

That being said we felt that Kwando has got into such a routine at its Camps that the experience is almost "canned" . Guides were were good and knowledgeable but again feeling working to their programme rather than client. Focus on big stuff rather than trying to make all sightings interesting. If pushed then fully prepared to stop and explain e.g birds were low on Guide's totem pole; but next time again had to be stopped and asked.

I think Kwando really need to work on bringing back the individual experience taillored to client. 3 years ago at Kwara experience was completely different which is why we chose Kwando again and bit disappointed. (From fellow guests heard same about Kwara)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Excellent camp- good but not top safari"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2007
"Well managed, friendly staff excellent facilities.

But as at Lagoon feeling that you fit into Kwando routine rather than individual experience. Guides very friendly and knowledgeable but again focus on big things rather than making all sightings an event. If stopped then guides very willing to explain but needed to be stopped again next time. Improved after we talked to Management about this.

Realise Guests put lot of pressure on Guides for "big things" but need to be sensitive to all clients interests. Kwando need to work on this."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Southern Sun Jo'burg International.

"Excellent for overnight airport stay"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"Excellent/helpful staff - nice bar and restaurant.

Nor everyone wants buffett so more focus on a la Carte would be better"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Well organised camp as base"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2007
"Spacious clean, reasonably equipped self catering chaletss, well set out camp, friendly staff.

Good shop and Restaurant.

As Kagalgadi Transfrontier Park is essentially a self drive experience, which is what we wanted, the activities are not extensive but adequate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Good basic camp"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"More basic than Twee Rivieren but excellent location in centre of park for self drive activities.

Minimal provided activities.

Friendly staff.
Clean basic chalet adequately provide for self catering.

Shop minimal except for basics but OK for remote location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Canyon Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good stopover point"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2007
"A bit frayed at the edges but very adequate for overnight stay.

Coffee shop excellent. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Incidentally at Keetmanshoop we followed Bradt guide recommendation and ate at Desert Lodge - only bad meal we had on entire trip in frowsty surroundings!! Breakfast at Canyon Lodge very good"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team