This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mrs E from New York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

We had a most wonderful time.

Namibia and 1 other country between 1 Apr 2016 and 21 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Despite a few glitches, we absolutely loved our trip as a whole.

Sabina from Expert Africa designed a customized African adventure for us and went out of her way to help us during one difficult episode. She was an incredible resource for us as this is the type of trip one cannot embark on successfully without a travel agent.

Prior to our trip, there were many many exchanges both by phone and email in which she was always ready, willing and able to answer any and all questions. Thank you Sabina and Expert Africa!

We will be sure to turn to you again for our next Africa trip!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Very nice accommodation."

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2016
"Very pleasant, well situated and helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Excellent facility - loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2016
"Excellent and friendly personal attention, wonderful food and beautiful facility.

Dunes tour was fabulous and included a gourmet lunch."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Very pleasant and attractive facility."

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2016
"Staff went out of their way to help us with our difficulties with our vehicle.

Pleasant accommodation and nice surroundings."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Great tour! HIghly recommended!"

6 Apr 2016 • All-day excursion

Fabulous tour to the harbor as well as up and down the dunes.

A truly unique experience. A nice lunch on the dunes was provided.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Just so-so."

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"The staff was rather disorganized and inattentive to our dietary requirements. Also the food was not good.

On the plus side, the pull-out bed where one could sleep under the stars was an unexpected surprise.

Elephant tour was excellent."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Absolutely wonderful with amazing staff."

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"We loved our stay at Desert Rhino. The staff was extremely attentive and addressed our dietary needs without having to be told in advance.

We were greeted upon arrival and departure with beautiful singing. At Desert Rhino, we learned first hand about the "clicks" spoken in the local languages. We especially liked the communal style dining where we got to meet other guests and which also included our guide and one of the managers. A special treat was the "bush" dinner. We also enjoyed the early morning rhino tracking.

One minor downside is the location which is 1-1/2 hours from where we had to leave our car."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Nice camp but room was inferior."

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2016
"At Anderssons Camp, the staff is very friendly and attentive. Being practically right at the gate to Etosha was a distinct advantage because we were able to do both the afternoon and morning safaris. The food was generally good.

The big downside to Anderssons is the actual accommodation. The room was tiny and dirty and the bathroom was gross. The "shower" consisted of a dirty, rusty metal bucket.

However, a big plus was the "hide" where one could observe the animals up close as they drank from a watering hole on the property."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"An absolutely stunning facility."

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2016
"Okonjima is a stunning facility which has been upgraded and modernized in every way.

Our "view" room (as it is called) gave us an up close look at the animals as they sauntered past our window. Our cheetah tracking tour was excellent and professionally managed. We were fortunate enough to spot two orphan cheetah sisters.

Another facet of Okonjima which we liked is their affiliation with the Africats organization which rescues endangered and at-risk animals."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Absolutely outstanding in every way."

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"As world travelers, we are able to compare the facilities where we have stayed with others. I can honestly say that Four Rosmead is one of the finest, if not the finest, guest house where we have ever stayed.

To begin with, the facility is beautiful and the decor is tasteful and elegant. The staff and particularly Jade, one of the managers, is attentive to every detail of each and every guest's needs and without having to be asked, checks on each party's plans, needs, etc. Jade and the other manager, Sonia, are never too busy to help with any and every issue and are incredibly accommodating and caring, especially in view of the fact that Capetown can be an overwhelming city to a new visitor. In addition, the breakfasts were outstanding and the other staff were exceptionally polite and helpful.

I recommend a stay at Four Rosmead to any visitor to Capetown without hesitation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Avongrood Guest House

"Very pleasant with attentive service."

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2016
"Avongrood is a very pleasant, although not luxurious, guest house. The manager, Justin, was very friendly and attentive.

The breakfasts were excellent with very fresh food. We were lucky enough to have a private garden attached to our room.

The winelands was a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Capetown."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

"Excellent -- see previous review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2016
"Outstanding in every way - see previous review. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team