This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr-W NYorks from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Family Holiday of a lifetime

Namibia between 8 Aug 2007 and 26 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was great and lived up to our/my hopes. The ONLY problem was at Okaukuelo which certainly worried my wife at the time."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Wonderful Quiver Tree Gorge Walk"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"This was a great first stop in Namibia after the flight. Easily driveable after the morning arrival and a coffee in Windhoek.

The welcome was great as were the afternoon coffee and cakes. Lots of local walks either from the farm or after being dropped off. VERY good value for money and the evening meals all together were a delight.

The mix of nationalities was great. The horse ride for complete beginners was marvellous even for the two most nervous of our party. Easy reach of the Naukluft park.

We would like to stop here again if we are lucky enough to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Our first proper Sundowner overlooking the Du"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"The welcome and rooms were amazing. The staff could not be more helpful and split our FBA across two days so that we could do a game drive and sundowner after arrival and the dune visit the following day. The kulalas were marvellous with great views.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. His name was David. The food was good but the sweets and cakes were rather sickly. The starters and main courses were good. The service was great and the sining in the evening of the first day was very good with all the satff joining in.

The drive to the Dunes was much colder in the open top than we had anticipated. The ponchos were very good but we got rather wind-burnt. Lunch had been left or taken by another driver so we did not have quite as much time there as planned. We would have like d to go up Big Moma or Big Dada, but that might not have suited all those in the landrover."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Estuary Tree Houses"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"This was magical. we would stay here again and wished that we had 3-4 nights in Swakop. The rooms were magical. The breakfasts great and everyone as helpful as they could be. Meals in the town were also very good and good value.

The Kayaking with Jean is another thing we would repeat as it was a fantastic experience. You may like to up-date your brochure as I am not sure she does the lagoon kayaking now as it is silting up.

The dunes and the coast were incredible. We would like to go back to dune board and do the zip wire as well as the living dersert trip. It would be helpful to have more links to work these things out before you go. The distance to the Welwitschia drive was not something I had appreciated from the brochure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Truly awesome experience"

15 Aug 2007 • Morning excursion

Jean is wonderful and the whole family had an incredible morning with her. We were lucky to see 5 or 6 Atlantic bottlenose dolphin very close as well as all the seals.

Again something I have reccomended to people already.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Luxury in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"The whole place is to be reccomended to everyone. The staff and welcome were great and everyone seemed happy to be working there. Rooms were great and the family two lodge set up was very good. The pool was the warmest we tried with a marvellous view.

Morning views from the rooms have to be seen to be believed.

This is only a 2-3 night stay at most even though we did not want to leave. The elephant drive in the moring was VERY good and we were lucky to go with Barnabus and Isabelle. The latter was a vet studying the elephants. Between them they were more than we could have hoped for.

We saw two families of elephant and got he most amazing experience and pictures.

Seeing the night skies with a very good expnataion from the roof of the main lodge was another very good experience. This was done by the manager at the lodge.

The food was very good and the trip to Twyfelfontein was also very good on the hottest afternoon we had. The quide at the carivings was poor and did not really want to show us arouond. Barnabus tried very hard to make up for her lack of interest. The sundowner on the way back was also very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Elephant Bathtime"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"As I have already mentioned to Tracy, our booking had been changed. When we originally booked, we asked for two 4-bed rondels in order that they should be side by siide (as advised by Expert Africa). I had not noticed on the booking slips sent that this had been changed to three 2-bed accommodations which was not what we needed for 3 children and 2 adults.

When we got there it was not organised. We were told that we had two 2 bed lodges and that the workmen weere still in them. This was true. The airconditioners were still being put in, the windows had no locks, the front door had no handle, the front had not been finished with great big potholes in it and there were no self-catering utensils. In the end an extra bed was put in one room and at one stage they wanted to charge me for that!

The maid was lovely and as helpful as anyone could be. She said that she had told everyone that the rooms would not be ready! I had to negotaite with the workmen to be finished in time for us to occupy the rooms at 5.45 pm. The man at registration was not helpful.

Trying to sit around the swimming pool with inadeqaute seeting did not help eveyone's temper. I wish we had known to go and sit around the waterhole which was where we eventually ended up. This was a great move and we saw amazing sights.

The lack of organistaion also extended to the restaurant which was in a tent, but the food was good and the people helpful.

The next day when the situation was sorted out and I had spoken with Expert Africa I went back to ensure thatthe Halali rooms would be OK. At that time I found someone (a lady) who did know what was gomig on and wanted to know why I ahd not picked up the keys to our third room! I explained the whole thing and told them the the rooms we were in were OK for now but they would need finishing before they let them again. I was not the only person complaining. She was as helpful as she could be.

The experience was great because of the wildlife and the waterholes. The poor sservice was NOT down to the maid who tried her level best to help us. Advice from Expert Africa was helpful but at a weekend Wilderness Safaris in Windhoek were out.

Other travellers need to know about the restaurants which may be difficult in the future and whether there will be utensils to self cater as well as how much food will be available at the shop. In fact we found that there should have been utensils and there were 4-bed lodges as we had ordered near the waterhole."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Great Game drives with Lion and Rhino as well"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"These lodges were fantastic and we got what we had asked for (and what we ahd wanted at Okaukuejo). The game was brilliant with a good waterhole where we saw again elephant and rhino as well as Honey Badgers and much else. We would have happily stayed another day here.

The shop had very little in it so you need to know to bing food in, especially meat of which there was nothing. This was a shame as the barbecue pits were fantastic but we were not able to use them. A lovely site which will be marvelous when the pool is finished.

The restaurant was almost a disaster. We had no food so early on I went to book for dinner. I was told by the head waiter that I did not need to book as they only took bookings for 6 or more (we were 5) but if we came as they opened we would be fine. This we did to be told all the tables were gone as coaches were coming in and we would not be able to dine that night. Fortunately I held my ground and we did get to eat a good meal (so long as we were fast!!) but they were incredibly disorganised and the chefs serving the meat quite grumpy. This was an amazing contrast to Okaukuejo restaurant which had been in a tent but very friendly. It was only following our example that some older British tourists finally got to share our table and eat. In fact the coach parties they were expecting never arrived.

The resort needs to sort out the restaurant service, booking and expert africa need to advise those who think as we had that they will self cater here. All utensils for self catering were there but food would have need to be brought from Outjo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Incredible African expereince with an expert."

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2007
"This was a wonderful experience which allowed a family to truly walk in the african veldt with an expert naturalist. We would defintiely do this again if we get back to Namibia as we hope. Having siad that I do not think that what we had heard from Expert Africa truly described what the camping and walking experience was going to be. This meant that it took a little more time for Bruno and us to assess each other as to what was on offer or appropraite for us as a family. He did this very quickly and ensured an incredible experience but more information form expert africa would have helped. The first days walk proved a little too much for our 12 year old son at the end of a holiday, in the sun and possibly with less water intake in the previous day's motoring. He needed a pick up to finish what the rest of us had found a great day's walk.

Bruno adjusted the next day perfectly with two shorter walks and some caving.

The camping was great but more basic than we had been led to believe. this mattered not at all it was just not quite what we ahd expected. We would go back to it though.

Bruno's cooking, knowledge and conversation was fantastic and I must admit that we have already reccomended him and this stay to several friends. I think that the other thing you may need to consider is that whilst Bruno is a very modest man, having his individual attention, skills and teaching is a wonderful experience even down to teaching my son to do fried eggs on the open fire each morning. Before going we had not appreciated what a privilege it would be to walk and sit in his company.

It would have been good not to have needed to rush off on the last day.

The only reason for the average mark for facilities is that it is after all a camp with a bucket shower, but the location is better than excellent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team