This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss F & Mr E from NL

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

A real eye opener!!

Namibia and 1 other country between 1 Jul 2009 and 22 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"All I can say is that we had never expected to travel to Namibia before this holiday but after it, we are so glad we have.

Seeing wonderful animals such as leopard, cheetah, elephants, lions and hordes of antelopes etc. in the wild and with the assistance and genuine affection for their jobs of the local guides, we both feel as though we have experienced something no one else has had...

Obviously, other people are doing the same, but we were made to feel very special by almost all of the people we met and by their staff, and it really made a difference to our holiday. The local people seemed so friendly and attentive to tourists and many countries around the world could benefit from their 'ideas on customer service'. A superb trip all round."

Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2009
"Finding the place is not as easy as it is shown on the map, especially after a 14 hours flight!!! But the welcome was warm, the breakfast was superb and they booked a restaurant and a taxi for us for the evening.

Had a nice chat with the owners the next morning, they apologized they did not give us their best room because the previous guests left the tap water running in the bathroom while they were away causing a lot a damage to the wooden floor."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2009
"Perfect start to a wonderful holiday! Warm welcome, very nice chalet.The food was superb, we especially enjoyed sitting in the lounge after dinner,talking to the other guests and making a fuss over Spike the very friendly pussycat!

We took a game drive with the excellent Pedro and saw our very first array of wild animals. We missed the meerkats (apparently out foraging), but we managed to watch with one of the guides the last rugby test match of the Lions against the Bocks.

We would recommend this place to anyone, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, superb food and wine."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2009
"Wonderfully remote, again a very nice welcome after a long and dusty drive. Tremendous view from the room , and very nice touch for the staff to come and put some extra blankets on the beds and hot water bottles. Food was good.

We had a wonderful trip to Dune 45 and a sundowner to Sesriem canyon with Christoph, the best guide we had during our holiday to Namibia.

All the other staff were very attentive , courteous and professional, so much so we were sad to leave this wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"We were given the 'Adam and Eve' room which was more like an apartment, a bit impersonal compared to the previous lodges but it didn't matter too much.

We ate in on the second day and we had the whole place to ourselves, which was quite strange, but we had a very nice italian meal with real italian ingredients.

The trip to sandwich harbour with our guide Ernest was really informative and fun, especially the dune driving!! This was one of the tours on the trip we shall not forget!!

Ernest our guide was a little like Crocodile Dundee, a wonderful man with a great personality and hugely knowledgeable and you were left feeling that you had experienced something unique to your own holiday... A lovely trip out to Sandwich Harbour was complimented by interesting local knowledge, a strong sense of humour and wonderful rapport with our fellow travellers. A real joy!!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A real outdoor experience!!"

8 Jul 2009 • All-day excursion

This was one of the tours on the trip we shall not forget!! Ernest our guide was a little like Crocodile Dundee, a wonderful man with a great personality and hugely knowledgeable and you were left feeling that you had experienced something unique to your own holiday... A lovely trip out to Sandwich Harbour was complimented by interesting local knowledge, a strong sense of humour and wonderful rapport with our fellow travellers. A real joy!!
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"After sorting out the problem with our first flat tyre of the trip we arrive at the lodge and again a friendly welcome which makes you forget those gravel roads!!! Very nice room with beautiful view and again we found the extra blankets and the hot water bottles.

Food was good but at times a bit extravagant and it didn't help the fact that the dining room was poorly lit. Staff again very professional and friendly and they sang for the guests at the end of the evening meal!!

Ignatious our guide was superb in finding the most beautiful views for the snacks and the sundowners!!!

Overall a place in a beautiful setting and once again we can only praise Wilderness Safari for their professionalism."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"What can we say about this camp: Butlins Africa style!! It is ok if you like to share your space with unruly children and rude tourists otherwise stay clear and maybe stay outside the park.

Our room was so small we could not even go around the bed, no place for the luggage, freezing at night with no extra blankets.The dining experience was dire, you have to queue for everything and got a very small portion for it ( which was cold as well), with people pushing in front of you in a bufet style frenz..., lots of people appeared to complain but the staff were not very helpful and unfriendly. A real difference from the private lodges which we had experienced up 'til now.

The only good point of the camp is of course the very busy waterhole, but even then the experience is often ruined by screaming children and pushy people!"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2009
"A much better experience despite also being Government run.

The room was better but still had no extra blankets, but there were less children and less pushy people which made for a more enjoyable experience. Even at the waterhole the people were quieter...., although this must be one of the quietest waterholes for wildlife on the whole trip..!!

The food was much better and the overall experience was much more relaxed."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"Wonderful and welcoming even if we arrived quite late due to our second flat tyre of the trip!!!View room was spacious and confortable and you could watch some of the wildlife passing by from the comfort of your bed.

The staff were very nice and even when, after dinner, we found an extra guest in our room ( a bat), one of the guides came to our rescue.........of course we called him batman after that! Armin our guide for the leopard tracking went the extra mile for us and we found one on top of a tree... He then found Pooh the hyena for us too and we were so close we could nearly touch - really special day... followed by the cheetah sanctuary which was also wonderful!! It was so refreshing to find such a enthusiastic person who clearly loves his job.

The quality of the food was of a very high standard.

We were sad to leave this wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2009
"I think that Erongo does not compare well with the other private lodges and on hindsight it would have been better for us not to stay there. This is mainly because of the tented accomodation and because it is about 3 hours from Windhoek airport.... We had a midday flight the next day, and had to leave early in the morning but they seemed unprepared for us to check out before 7am and this made us a little embarrassed..., it would have been impossible for us to make the flight if it had been earlier and I would suggest politely that EA take heed of this..... The last night would have been better in Windhoek then we could have enjoyed Erongo a little more.

The scenery was outstanding... Apart from that the other problem was that ,being winter,it was quite cold in the tents and because the bathroom was open to the elements, it was quite an achivement to have a shower first thing in the morning.

We opted for an afternoon nature drive on arrival and although the sundowner was in a wonderful spot, we did not see much apart from the occasional dik dik antelope and far off wildlife.

Overall, this place was a little too basic for us.."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
The Constantia

The Constantia

"The Constantia review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Wow, what a place!!

We had some problems with the organization of our stay in Cape Town on arrival... , African Travel Canvas gave the wrong time of our arrival to the hotel, so we had to phone directly to arrange this with a long delay at the airport...., then they also failed to give the correct information to Budget, the car hire company, so that the Car hired was some three hours late arriving the next morning.. My partner had to actually phone Budget himself to organise this, as being Sunday, the rep was unavailable on her mobile, but we cannot fault the Constantia and its management as when we arrived the water in the hottub was still hot enough to enjoy along with the bottle of wine which accompanied it... In our opinion, ATC failed completely to give us any service apart from the delay at the airport which was resolved.... We felt there was no real support, and had to check our return to the airport personally with the hotel.

I must say however how professionally this was handled at the Constantia and I would gladly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone.

The room was pure luxury, bubble bath and a bottle of wine on arrival and the following night we were surprised with more amazing finds such as rose petals on the bed...., and a free bar.

Breakfast was very good and Beauty was very chatty and attentive to all your needs.

Hennie the driver was a plesure to talk and he gave us lots of very interesting insights on the politics of South Africa at the moment, and our trip with the Racontours Organization to the Wine Growing Estates on our last morning (with the wonderful guide Lisa) was a real delight...

All in all, A lovely experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team