This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

Reviews: Gorilla Trekking Safari

Below are independent comments from 73 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 51-60 of 73
Date
Jenny
Faversham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 27 Sep 2018
"It's hard to describe just how wonderful an experience this was. I did two one hour visits and would recommend doing two. The walk to my first group was gentle, the second was rather more strenuous. There are plenty of helping hands though, including your porter, so most people of reasonable fitness will be fine. The guides are very knowledgable and experienced and although there were some 'naughty' adolescent gorillas who got too close, I never felt at risk. The guides also understand the magical moment for us tourists and offer help with photos and suggest the best places to stand. Sabyinyo silverback lodge provided gaiters and gloves, and you are offered a stick to help with the hike - take it. When you see the gorillas, don't spend all the time behind your camera lens! It really is worth concentrating on a few good photos and then simply enjoy the experience. An hour goes quickly, but is enough - for both the gorilla and us." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jenny
Faversham

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 29 Sep 2018
"See previous entry" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr + Mrs M
Vancouver

"Encounter of a lifetime"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 27 Sep 2018
"Encountering the gorillas in the forest was a wonderful experience.

We were able to get much closer to them than we had anticipated, because of the tightness of the undergrowth, and they did not seem at all disturbed. Their play and interactions were very moving." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
P and S
Chilterns

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 21 Sep 2018
Overall
Excellent
Dr H
Lancs

"Brilliant Climax to my Trip"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 2 Sep 2018
"It was brilliant. I had no idea that we would be so close up and personal with the Gorillas. One just brushed past me, inches away.

The SilverBack was very regal, with great presence ,you certainly knew who was boss. The younger family members were huge fun,interacting and playing and the mothers were often busy grooming some of the younger ones.

[ In another section of his review, this traveller noted:

Early start for Gorilla trekking. Be down at reception at 6.00am, they put gaiters on you, give you a snack bag to take for the trek and provide gloves [ for gripping the undergrowth and in case of nettles.] Quick breakfast [cooked or continental] Then off to the Park Centre to be allocated the Gorilla family [ one of ten that are habituated to humans.....they also have another ten families for research only] that you will be visiting. You can specify easy, medium or more difficult treks but as the Gorillas move about from one day to the next there are no real guarantees.

I did 2 treks the first was about 90-120mins but not much elevation and we saw about 20 Gorillas including a three day old baby. The next day it was a shorter trek but much steeper and the landscape and vegetation were different so it was a nice contrast. On that occasion we saw about 16 gorillas who were much more active and were interacting, grooming, playing, climbing trees and eating bark from the trees.

It was all first rate and thoroughly enjoyable and very memorable.]" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr H
Lancs

"Wonderful"

Based at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge on 3 Sep 2018
"A brilliant experience like no other.

Just do it!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"Experience of a lifetime"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 1 Sep 2018
"2 days of trekking, 2 days of unforgettable experiences with 2 different gorilla families!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Seattle

"An experience of a lifetime"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 2 Sep 2018
"2 days of trekking, 2 days of unforgettable experiences with 2 different gorilla families!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
C Plowdog
Sydney

"Gorilla Trekking"

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 21 Aug 2018
"We had 2 treks on consecutive days. The first day was an easier trek than the second while both were classified as "moderate". We engaged a porter both days.

Seeing the gorillas was a wonderful experience and the local guides, porters and trackers were all excellent.

The second trek was outside the comfort zone of us both although more so for one of us. It was steep, slippery (although not wet) and a tangle under foot. If it wasn't for the porter it would have been almost impossible, and the standard payment of $10 was well earned by the porter (although we gave him more) who was exceptional.

However all things considered we are very glad we saw these wonderful animals, particularly the young ones. In one instance the head tracker facilitated our seeing a young gorilla with its parents." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
BJ
Minnesota

"Insane experience to finish incredible trip."

Based at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge on 17 Aug 2018
"Insane experience to finish incredible trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 73
99%
73 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
71
1
0
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team