This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kigali Serena Hotel

Reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

62 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kigali Serena Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 62
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"On the surface a posh, modern, well appointed city hotel. On safari I find them a necessary evil to help accommodate flight times etc so I may be biased against such places

Like many such hotels nothing is ever as good as the façade. Our meal was very average, the air conditioning in our room too noisy to sleep with if left on and our packed breakfast didn't arrive" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms AW
SW London

"Lush oasis in city centre"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"This was truly a 5 star hotel! Grounds were lush and terrace overlooking the pool area was a bonus!

The breakfast buffet is large and varied. The design of hotel is very good!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms AW
SW London

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"This is truly a 5 star hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the terrace backing onto the pool was superb for drinks.

It seems to be an in spot with the Kigali up and coming types. The pool was outstanding. Morning buffet breakfast had a great selection." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
John
Australia

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jan 2014
"Good hotel. The only issue was that the room had not been properly made up, i.e. previous linen was still in the room, even after they turned the sheets down." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Kigali Serena Hotel luxury"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Luxurious hotel in centre of Kigali. Pity we only had 10 hours there (check in 5 pm, check out 3:30 am!)

Very good food, wine expensive compared to elsewhere we travelled in Africa." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Victoria

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Removed from town, so one feels restricted in exploring or moving about. We had our best meal in Africa here." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Victoria

"Luxurious Kigali Serenade Hotel"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2013
"Very good food, extremely reasonably priced ( US$30 per head for 4 courses )

Wine however comparatively pricey, around US$ 70 per bottle." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Sydney

"Had to cancel due to Rwandair stuff-up!"

1 night Arrived 18 Jan 2013
"We never got to stay at the Kigali Serena Hotel as Rwandair Express cancelled our flight and rescheduled it to the following day - which was annoying especially as they didn't even notify us of the change.

Rwandair Express also cancelled our flight back to Jo'burg TWICE, again without notifying us. Avoid Rwandair Express like the plague and fly South African Airways instead." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Miss F & Mr H
York

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2012
"Good quality captial hotel." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The F family
London

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 62
91%
62 reviews of Kigali Serena Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
17
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

The Hotel des Mille Collines offers a comfortable base in Kigali, or a stopover on the way to or from Rwanda's national parks.


84% (61 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


92% (5 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa