This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr A & Mrs E from Berks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

All we could have wished for, and more!

Namibia between 15 Sep 2018 and 1 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Really wonderful. Excellent choices throughout, with the exception of Safarihoek.

We would not recommend the detour via the Skeleton Coast, and 2 other groups had in fact been advised against it.

Also, distances on directions were not always accurate, and at Onguma, which we approached from the west, the gate was only 100 metres (not 500) from the park and was not signposted in that direction! We, as well as 2 other groups, ended up going past it for varying distances before turning back. Not good at the end of a day! We understand, however that a new sign is under construction.

We can recommend the one and a half hour Tour of Swakopmund Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow, run by Charly'sTours. Really excellent, knowledgeable and intelligent guide with a good understanding of the wider African context.

Windhoek Airport is absolutely terrible and simply cannot cope with the increasing tourist load. It will only get worse, but is a terrible introduction and farewell to a beautiful country. Do pressurise the authorities on this. One working x-ray machine for baggage is ludicrous, and an hour and a half in a non-air-conditioned immigration hall on arrival rendered us dehydrated, dizzy and shaky!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"A lovely welcome to Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"A lovely welcome.

Although not near the centre of town it was convenient for both airports. The room was very good, with the pool outside, although the air-conditioning unit over the bed dripped and at one point dropped ice on us!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Great dune experience in a comfortable lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Excellent friendly staff. Very welcoming and very good food.

The camp is some way from the Sossusvlei area, but is certainly very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"A wonderful dune experience"

18 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

We were extremely privileged to have a personal guide, which reduced the anxiety of our limited mobility.

Our guide, Daniel,was excellent - a very impressive, thoughtful and intelligent young man. We learned a lot from him; about the dunes, the life that exists in the desert, and about life in Namibia generally.

He dealt extremely well with questions, and was prepared to discuss anything
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"A modern international hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"A well-appointed modern room.

It looked over the car park, but at least we could see the ocean beyond.

We had an excellent meal at The Ocean Cellar, with the meatiest oysters I have ever had, and very good kingklip."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"A wonderful wedding anniversary"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Superb "superior" room. Very private, with a beautiful view, but also very close to the main building. It had its own dining area next to an outside fire, where we were invited to dine on our second evening. It was very romantic (but difficult to see what we were eating!). Two beautiful, colourful geckos in the room, which unfortunately were very camera-shy!

The shower was difficult to get to the right temperature without wasting water.

We had a wonderful elephant hunt to track the desert elephants with a very good guide again. We saw one group of 7 and another group of 8, with a lone male which was chased off. There was also a memorable sight of an ostrich pair with twelve chicks. The female objected to our presence and bravely advanced towards us fanning out her feathers.

It was also very good to see the village where our guide grew up, as well as his intended bride!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"A 3 star stalinist lodge with pretensions"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"A grim building complex which is trying to do better. We were so glad we were not here for our wedding anniversary!

There was one good waiter, Lulu, the rest did not seem to have a clue.

Fantastic setting with glorious view.

Our game drive was excellent, as was our guide, Kristoff. In adidtion to sightings recorded later, we saw a black jackal, 3 groups of red hartebeest, a magnificent male kudu, and although we didn't see a leopard, we saw a recently killed springbock up a tree! Also lots of different birds."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"A true luxury lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Wonderful facilities with a great view of the waterhole. Excellent table service from Josiah, and the food was also excellent.

We were bombarded by flying bugs on our second evening!
A pity one has to call for a buggy in order to move to and from ones room.

Another excellent guide.
In addition to the sightings listed, we also saw: 4 groups of kudu, 3 groups of impala and another ostrich pair with chicks.
Numerous birds including: tawny & martial eagles, pale chanting goshawks, a purple roller and vultures."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A fantastic finale."

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"We were so lucky to arrive and find we had been upgraded to The Villa, together with 2 charming couples, one Dutch and one German. We shared both facilities and game drives and got on extremely well, which greatly added to the experience.

Our hostess Zanelle was charming, knowledgeable and efficient, and her husband Richard was a brilliant guide, nicknamed "bushkiller" for his off-road performances. Emily is a superb chef.

The Villa itself is quite remarkable for the standards of workmanship, the attention to detail and the extreme good taste with which it has been furnished and adorned. Beyond excellent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"A surprisingly bad final night"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"The facilities are basically excellent.

Unfortunately our suite (No 6) suffered from an extremely noisy outside air-conditioning unit, which was impossible to turn off. As a result I got very little sleep. Apparently the unit had been re-sited the previous day because of earlier complaints, but this has not solved the problem. They were unable to change our suite because they were full, but this suite should not be used in its present state. You must check on this for future guests."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team