This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family trip from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

An excellent holiday

Namibia between 2 Nov 2012 and 18 Nov 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Having visited Namibia twice previously, it is our favourite African holiday destination. On this our third trip we wanted to share the experience with our son & daughter-in-law. The trip was a huge success and we are four very satisfied customers.

Sabina at Expert Africa was really helpful & knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble while we were putting the trip together. The information pack was really useful, all aspects of the tour ran exactly as planned, and lodges & activities specifically recommended by Sabina were first rate.

We will recommend Expert Africa without hesitation."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Great stay at Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2012
"Heidi & Benoit were really friendly & helpful. Villa Violet is in a quiet location & very comfortable. It proved to be an excellent choice of accommodation for our night in Windhoek before starting out on our tour. Look out for the home made marmalade at the breakfast table!

Villa Violet is well situated for local shops and also for Joe's Beerhouse!

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia is a first rate lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2012
"Specifically recommended to us by Expert Africa, Hoodia is a first rate lodge giving convenient access to Sesriem.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Centrally placed guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2012
"With rooms set in a really lovely garden, Cornerstone Guesthouse is a very comfortable & convenient place to stay in Swakopmund."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Fantastic experience"

7 Nov 2012 • Morning excursion

The kayaking itself was a fantastic experience, bringing us in very close contact with the Cape seals. All aspects of the activity were very well organized. In addition, Jeanne is hugely knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife. An added bonus was that Jeanne provides without charge the pictures taken by her of us kayaking as a reminder of a wonderful morning.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Fantastic day out"

7 Nov 2012 • All-day excursion

The visit to Sandwich Harbor is a unique & exhilarating experience and not to be missed. Sean, the guide from Turnstone Tours, was very knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife, great fun, all in all a first rate guide.
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Great lodge in a great location"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"A really nice lodge in an interesting area. We particularly enjoyed the views from the balcony in the bar.

It is definitely worth a visit to see the rock art at the nearby visitor centre, and the rock art at the lodge itself is good too. Burned mountain is described in glowing terms in the guide although our visit at sunset was something of a disappointment."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka is a great wilderness experience"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2012
"As a wilderness experience Etendeka is absolutely brilliant and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The freshly home-cooked food deserves a mention too.

Just a couple of comments:-

(1) The small jeep is not really adequate to be used on a game drive for six people - it was really most uncomfortable

(2) Having contacted Etendeka ourselves prior to the trip to advise a birthday of one of our party while staying there, they were kind enough to lay on a bottle of celebratory sparkling wine at dinner, but the surprise rather back-fired as the guide let the cat out of the bag by mentioning this on the drive in to the camp, but was muddled up about whose birthday it really was which spoiled the occasion somewhat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp enjoys an outstanding location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2012
"Dolomite Camp is set in an outstanding location with great views over Etosha. The game viewing was quite excellent. We would certainly return to Dolomite on a future visit to Etosha.

Couple of points regarding service:-

(1) Service at mealtimes is unacceptably slow due to insufficient numbers of staff, particularly given the distance of the kitchen from the dining room. The staff are doing the best they can - they simply need more people.

(2) It would be useful if they could have an information board in reception advising the water holes that are open / closed in this part of Etosha - this would save wasting time driving to closed water holes. Just a suggestion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Busy camp - good waterhole - good facilities"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2012
"When you book to stay at Okaukuejo you know that you are booking at a busy camp that gives you good access to Etosha Pan, and that's exactly what you get.

In retrospect we think that the night drive @ 600$ per person, although good, was on the expensive side compared to other night drives offered on this trip."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"A perfect end to a holiday in Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2012
"This is the second time we have ended a trip in Namibia at Okonjima, and it really is the perfect end to the trip. Everything is done such that guests have a perfect stay.

Having stayed at Okonjima previously 13 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it then, we were pleased to find that it was even better this time than we remembered it. In particular we would highlight the game drives and wildlife viewing both by vehicle and on foot, guided for us on this occasion by the outstanding Jonas. Recommended without hesitation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team