This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Mrs H from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

Namibia holiday 2016

Namibia between 6 Sep 2016 and 21 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip.

The roads were very variable, but we stuck to the route planned for us and felt we'd had the best option.

The yellow sheet provided with restaurants and cafes, was useful. please note the Camelthorn Beer garden no longer exists! The couple have divorced.

WE had lunch in Otijwrongo at Kari's ,Hindenburg street which was excellent and a good replacement, same directions would find it! The Farmhouse deli inThe Strand Hotel in Swakopmund was a real find too."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove a great start to holiday"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2016
"Friendly helpful Staff, very positive experience at the Olive Grove would recommend to others. The building is a bit shabby in places.

Stellenbosh Wine Bar and Restaurant great place to eat in the evening"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge -Great"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"We really loved the Hoodia Lodge every aspect was excellent.

Would certainly recommend to others."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guest house , ok"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"The Cornerstone Lodge was adequate, certainly the dining room was efficient in the mornings, breakfast good.

Staff were helpful

We felt the rooms were cold

These travellers also took part in the following activities whilst in Swakopmund and had the following to say:
Pelican Point kayaking:Loved it !
Jeanne was a brilliant guide who had thought of everything to make the morning a success.

Catamaran Boat cruise:
A good trip, though very cold.
Did feel that maybe blankets could have been provided..
We were kept waiting an hour before boarding
The sealion and pelicans on board provided entertainment!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Jeannne Meintjes Kayaking, Unmissable!"

10 Sep 2016 • Morning excursion

Loved it !
Jeanne was a brilliant guide who had thought of everything to make the morning a success.
Excellent
Dolphin and seal cruise

Dolphin and seal cruise

"Surprises on boat trip!"

11 Sep 2016 • All-day excursion

A good trip, though very cold.
Did feel that maybe blankets could have been provided..
We were kept waiting an hour before boarding
The sealion and pelicans on board provided entertainment!!
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo , great location"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Great location, but not alot to see.
Tented accommodation was probably not for us ."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas , brilliant elephants!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2016
"We liked Doro Nawas and had a wonderful guide for an early morning drive out to see the elephants , just made our stay!
Rooms were good.

Staff friendly, but real lack of information if you were travelling as a couple, the larger groups with a tour guide seemed to know what was going on!
The shop was never open"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere lodge .. lovely!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"We had a good stay at Hobatere Lodge, great food too.
Staff were helpful and the singing in the evening was fun.

Successful early morning trip with guide... could see animals from the lodge and waterhole. We would definitely recommend this lodge, though rooms are small and no facilities for hair drying or coffee making etc unless a flask is collected from reception.

The wifi was non existent.

We would have been happy to stay another night and access Etosha from the lodge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo, a busy place!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"A very busy lodge. Meals adequate, though no cutlery, bowls,or plates at times did add to experience...... no one around to keep things stocked up.
Accommodation was ok, towels completely threadbare.

The waterhole was very good in the evening.

Drive with guide in the afternoon was disappointing we would have seen more in our own vehicle."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima, unmissable!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"This was a great place to finish holiday, we were upgraded to The Bush Camp which was fabulous and strongly recommended .
The food and service just excellent
WE had a great guide who made sure we saw the leopards and cheetahs. We would have been very happy to stay another night and just relax at the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team