This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A truly marvellous holiday

Namibia between 28 Mar 2016 and 25 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We would not have changed anything that we did in Namibia. We found the people to be both friendly and engaging. The scenery and wildlife was just stunning. The places we stayed were superb and of the highest quality with very helpful staff.

We had some trepidation about driving in Namibia but this proved unfounded and was a joy. We are glad however that we decided on a 4 x 4 rather than a standard car.

Our subsequent visit to South Africa for a family wedding also went off without a hitch.

We would heartily recommend Namibia as a destination and were surprised how few people from the UK were visiting it.

Thank you Expert Africa and Elizabeth, in particular, for organising such a wonderful memorable trip."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great place to start or end a journey"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2016
"We chose it as our first stop after a tiring overnight flight and it proved an ideal place to start a holiday.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose to have dinner there and the food and service was very good."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Experience life on a Namibian Farm"

1 night Arrived 30 Mar 2016
"We spent one night here on our way to Sossusvlei and it was well worth it. We were the only guests and were royally looked after by Jonathan & the staff.

We did the nature drive on the farm on which the guide was very personable and informative.

The accommodation was lovely as were the farm dogs.

I did the short Kudu Trail at sunrise which was beautiful on Jonathan's recommendation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A wonderful lodge in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2016
"It was 39 degrees in the shade when arrived so be prepared for heat. A superb lodge and very eco friendly.
Petronella and the staff were first class and thanks to the mechanics for changing a tyre for me.

The facilities were excellent and the accommodation stunning but too cold to sleep on the roof.

We did an evening Game Drive and Sundowner, a trip to Sossusvlei and a trip to Sesriem Canyon. Our guide Alfred was superb and extremely knowledgeable.

Just stunning!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Lovely accommodation and well located"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2016
"The room was spacious and charming with good Wifi. The food was excellent and the grounds were beautifully kept. The owner Peter and his staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful.They made dinner reservations for us for the two nights we stayed there and Peter sourced a new tyre for me for the hire car.

We particularly liked the fish at The Tug Restaurant.

We did a day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours which was one of the highlights of our trip. The scenery was spectacular as was the sight of hundreds of flamingo in the Walvis Bay Lagoon. Berger the guide and driver was both amazing and skilful with a font of knowledge on Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Just the most amazing accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2016
"A stunning place with such original bungalows. The outdoor en suite bathrooms are amazing. The staff were very attentive and the food excellent.

We did a morning trip to see the desert elephants and managed to see a large group of about fourteen drinking at one of the waterholes as well as a separate sighting of a mother with two babies.

I also did a trip in the afternoon to see the rock engravings at Twyfelfontain which was great but very hot!

The guide Tafi was very engaging, knowledgeable and his tracking skills were superlative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Great location with rustic accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2016
"The reserve is located right outside the gate to Etosha so is superbly positioned. The main area of the camp is lovely and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The accommodation is quirky and rustic and much smaller than the other lodges we stayed. That said it was still very comfortable.

We did a sundowner game drive on their own Ongava Reserve and saw lions, zebra and many antelope.
The guide also walked us up close to a white rhino and calf which was quite mind-blowing.

Anderssons Camp is a great base for exploring the Eastern side of Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"The food is superb and the Camp stunning"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"The food at Mushara was absolutely top quality and the staff very engaging and friendly. The tented accommodation was spacious and extremely comfortable. The main reception area and restaurant are architecturally stunning and the grounds are very well tended with a family of wart hog wandering about.

Mushara is a good base for exploring Eastern Etosha and is located about 9km from the park entrance.

As we had previously spent two days self driving in Etosha we elected to do a morning game drive from the lodge. This proved a good idea as we saw black rhino, a pride of 14 lions, cheetah, elephant, giraffe and hyena."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"A wonderful experience"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2016
"Okonjima is centred on it's conservancy work and it's game drives. The accommodation was extremely spacious with a large picture window looking out over the bush. What a wonderful view to wake up to!

The main area is functional and a bit like a large canteen but serves it's purpose. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

We did four tracking activities leopard, cheetah, wild dog and hyena while at the camp as well as visiting the Africat Centre.

All of the drives were extremely successful and our guide Emms together with assistant Michael were very engaging,knowledgeable and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team