This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D from Elegy

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

2

My Aug 2008 trip

Namibia between 17 Aug 2008 and 6 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We very much enjoyed the itinerary. Fish River Canyon was lovely, but clearly many people do not have time to do there. It was empty! People are missing out on some lovely scenery. It was a very good time of year to see Etosha, it is almost too easy to spot the wildlife! Using the N$35 guidebook is very helpful, shows you where all the waterholes are and what to look for at the waterholes. Great investment.

No hawkers etc, fantastic. Shops well stocked, road signs excellent, even if some of the roads are not quite excellent, but many are fine. Changing travellers cheques takes time!!!! I work for a bank and was able to help the teller through the system, otherwise it would have taken hours not he 45 minutes it actually took!!

yes we will do more trips to Africa, but not immediately

Suggestions for improvement:

As experienced travellers, the help and service was perfect for us."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"very pleasant view. Relaxed atmosphere. Owners were very accommodating when offering advice on restaurants and things to see."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2008
"cheetah viewing was one of the highlights"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"very much liked the room designs. Rock Hyrax's were fun to watch."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"room design and fittings again, very nicely presented."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2008
"There was no room key, they had all been lost which was a little disconcerting.
the staff tried very hard to please, but did 'miss on occassion'. Most of the time if you asked for sparking water you received still, etc..

Rooms were very nice, light and airy. Pool was the best we found, it was warm enough to swim in. (none of the other lodges with pools were warm enough. Soussus Dune had a pool cover which was effective."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"great hospitality, they went out of their way to make doughnuts for Duncan!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert"

25 Aug 2008 • Morning excursion

very pleasant start to the day. We enjoyed it
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Food excellent, nice location just outside immediate town centre but easy walking into the centre. Sam's advice was simple and practical Lovely collection of wines and books, even though I don't drink alcohol!

His phrase that has stuck is "Namibia is Africa for Beginners", it is absolutely true. Great choice for breakfast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

28 Aug 2008 • All-day excursion

unfortunately we were joined by a family with two children under 5 that were not really able to keep with the program, so we ended up finishing a least 1 hour early. Due to very windy weather we were not able to cover all the ground they usually cover, so a little disappointing,
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2008
"I was sick here from eating a piece of fish. The Manageress implied that it was my fault for drinking the local water or too much wine. I don't drink alcohol and I only drank bottled water! The lady in charge of the Restaurant was much more synpathetic and tried to help me with some bland food. I was not too impressed with the way I was treated.

Hotel setting was nice, rooms were good, again service was a little hit and miss. The entertainment after dinner by the restaurant staff was excellent, local songs and transalation of the menu into the local click language was very interesting to listen to."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Waterhole viewing of wildlife was excellent. Rooms were very small and cramped (compared with all others we stayed in). Apparently the rooms are now half the size they used to be, 1 room split into 2. The only place to sit down in the rooms was on the bed, not enough room for a chair.

I throughly recommend staying in the Park if possible, to see the waterholes after dark is fantastic.

Staff at check in very abrupt and arrogant. Did not answer any questions, did not tell us we had to book for dinner, hence issues about getting a table for dinner later. School Dinners does sum up the food here."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2008
"apart from waterhole not being as good for viewing as Okaukeuejo, everything else about Namutoni was FAR better.

Food better - good choice, a la carte, people much nicer, room lovely. Widelife around Namutomi was better for viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Rooms lovely, food good. They are pushing it a little to entertain guests for the two days. Little contrived with Leopards and Cheetahs having radio collars so whilst they make it that they are hard to find, it is not as hard as they make out. Also less exciting for us as we had seen a leopard in Etosha.

Guides, good with sound knowledge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team