This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Cambridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful experience

Zambia between 8 Jun 2019 and 20 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Remote Africa Safaris provide a truly exceptional experience combining superb wildlife sightings with first class service."

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2019
"Many of the dishes on the menu were not available"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Tafika

Tafika

"Warm and friendly welcome back to Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2019
"Such a welcoming and friendly place, like coming home. Food was outstanding, service excellent. Guides very knowledgable. Fabulous night sightings of genet, civet, slender and white railed mongooses, elephant shrews and an adorable Scops owl."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Wonderful walking at chikoko"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2019
"Love the stit houses, a beautiful setting. Saw many sights and signs, aardvark den, spoor and droppings, heard hyena and elephant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2019
"Secluded and atmospheric, delightful camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"As amazing as the first time"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2019
"So peaceful and remote, an African paradise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2019
"A home from home in the African bush. The post-dusk drives give an extra dimension and open up a whole new spectrum of species to see. The typical day at Tafika gave us 9+ hours on game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

South & North Luwanga - August 2015

Zambia between 4 Aug 2015 and 18 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was beyond our expectations (which were very high!). Fabulous wildlife viewing, superb and friendly camps, smooth transfers and first class guiding all added up to a trip which left us wanting to book another visit even before we left.

Our thanks to all at Remote Africa Safaris for making our visit so special - and to Expert Africa for their advice and making all the arrangements

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, we can't think of anything to suggest.

Thanks once again for organising another unforgettable trip!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2015
"A great place to recover from the long journey, start the holiday and get into the African spirit!

Friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms and delicious food.

Good bird-spotting around the camp.

There for one-night stopover."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"Home from home! Real family atmosphere created by John & Carol greeting and hosting guests at meal times. Also by the staff having been there for many years. Very well managed camp, wonderful food (much of it from their own amazing garden), great location

We particularly enjoyed the format of the daily activities which allowed for extended night drives. As a result, the night-spotting was the best we've ever enjoyed in many years of wildlife travel. The guides and spotters also demonstrated a deep respect for the wildlife as well as expert knowledge of animal behaviour in the locality. And by the way, the sightings were amazing including leopard every day and elephants crunching seed-pods outside our hut.

We've stayed at some fantastic camps all over the world but never left any feeling we must return soon as much as on leaving Tafika."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2015
"We were spoilt in having the camp to ourselves for two night stay. We felt very remote but also very safe in the expert hands of our guide and the rest of the staff.

The walking was at a pace that suited us in covering a lot of ground but also with plenty of stops to view lots of detail you miss from the vehicles.. This more than compensates for not generally getting as close to the larger wildlife whilst driving -(although tracking two young male lions and watching them eat a buffalo from 40m away was a close encounter and one which we felt very safe in.

The great delight of these camps is being able to walk out in the morning and return back on foot - especially to the smell of fresh baking bread!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"Truly a remote camp and a unique experience! Very well organised and managed, the staff produced outstanding service.

The walking and guiding was exceptional. Brent has unrivalled knowledge and passion of the flora and fauna and of the local environment particularly, taking our understanding to another level. Safety was paramount demonstrated by Special's instinctive move to place himself between us and a threatening elephant.

Wildlife encounters were great and leaving after 4 special days was quite emotional"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2015
"It was great to come back to Tafika for a couple of nights to gradually re-intergrate ourselves to civilisation after 4 nights in North Luwanga. Going straight home would have been a big shock to the system!

Our second stay matched our first and our final morning game drive afforded views of every animal you could expect to see!

Once again, we felt very much part of an extended family at Tafika."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Expert Africa

Rwanda and 1 other country between 27 Aug 2008 and 8 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful experience and an inspiring country!

Thanks for the advice and arranging to fill our gap between flights in Nairobi by going to the Palacina Hotel - we had a fantastic meal, were very well looked after and returned to airport relaxed and happy!!

Suggestions for improvement:

Apart from comments above, no - your help, advice and organisation skills were, once again, excellent"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2008
"Would have preferred location nearer airport for such short overnight stay. We weren't there long enough to be qualified to comment further (in and out in a few hours)!"
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Image alt

Peace Guesthouse, Rwanda (this camp has since closed)

"Peace Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2008
"Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms had seen better days - rather scruffy but clean and comfortable (as billed). Staff always very helpful particularly the young lady in the office.

Home-cooked food was excellent although sometimes staff were a little disorganised. Facilities were limited. H

owever, there is clearly massive potential here which a little investment in smartening accommodation, restuarant and providing a few facilities will help provide an outstanding place to stay in a stunning setting overlooking Lake Kivu."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

"Moriah Hill Resort review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2008
"Stayed one night. We were only guests. Stunning design and idyllic setting overlooking the lake. Plenty of photo opportunities - sunsets, birds, views etc. Great location to break the very bumpy journey north!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

"Virunga Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2008
"Magical setting with 360 degree views overlooking lakes and volcaneos. Particularly impressed with ecological credentials - the solar toilets are ingenious. Staff couldn't be faulted and made our stay memorable.

Tribal dancing was uplifting & fun - not at all "cheesey" as we're experienced elsewhere. The kids looked like they really enjoyed it too!

The gorilla treks were everything we had hoped for. The organistion at park HQ was slick, the guides were first class (knowlegable, informative and aware of comfort / safety / needs of guests). We left with great pictures and even more wonderful memories!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Akagera Game Lodge

Akagera Game Lodge

"Akagera Game Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2008
"Stayed 2 nights. Impressed with organisation and service, particularly restuarant staff. Great range of game to view. However, park guide allocated for our game drive appeared neither observant nor greatly interested in showing us his knowledge of the park. More time driving within the park would have been nice."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team