This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Honeymooners from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Superb - a once in a lifetime experience

Namibia between 4 May 2009 and 25 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic!

Namibia is so varied and we did so many different things that it felt like we'd been away for a lot longer than we had.
Thank you for helping make our honeymoon extra special!

Suggestions for improvements:
Both the trip and service were excellent.

The only thing I would have changed is to take more warm clothes for the evening - it got really quite cold which we expected in some places but not everywhere. One fleece wasn't enough.

A tip for contact lens wearers - get prescription sunglassers! it's obvious when you think about it but the dust means that lens really aren't good during the day. (Thankfully I bought some the day before our trip)"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Perfect after a long flight"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2009
"The perfect place to relax after a long flight.

The bubble bath, drinks and personalised notes in our rooms made it extra special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Fabulous trip to the dunes"

3 nights Arrived 6 May 2009
"Generally we loved this place and the trip to the dunes was fabulous.

Great room. Particularly the outdoor shower.

Our only small issue was that we were woken at 4am two mornings in a row, despite our hot air balloon flight having been cancelled due to bad weather - I think there was a little bit of confusion between the staff - One morning 3 people came to our room between 4 and 4.30 with different messages - in the end we had to get up and go to reception to find out if out balloon flight was cancelled or not."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Freindly, clean, central and secure..."

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"...Everything we needed. Peter was v.helpful in booking restaurants and excursions for us and Margot's paintings and lavendar biscuits in our room were nice personal touches.

We did two excursions in Swakupmund: Hot air ballooning near the moon landscape; and kayaking with seals at Walvis Bay - we'd highly recommend both."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Highly recommended"

10 May 2009 • Morning excursion

It's great to be able to get so close to the seals - even in the dull weather this made it worth the trip to Swakupmund.
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"What a location!!"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2009
"Watching the sunset with a gin and tonic at the view point was a real highlight.

The staff made a real effort to make our honeymoon special with a surprise private dinner under the stars and a private breakfast at the viewpoint - lovely.

The excursion to see the desert elephants was fabulous, we didn't expect to get so close to them.

It's a really little thing but it felt like the staff have been told to say "I hope you enjoy it" after everything - it got a bit repeatative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Our favourite camp on our trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2009
"We really felt like we were in Africa (not just a nice hotel) Eating with all the other guests was great and our hosts and guide (Ali) were fabulous fun.

Surprisingly luxurious rooms considering that it's in the middle of nowhere - we were very impressed.

The best sunset I've seen. Rhino spotting - what a rush"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole and access to Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2009
"We were delighted to see 3 rhino, 4 elephants and 2 lions at the waterhole on our first night!! (But it would have been even better without the mobile phones of other guests)

It was a bit of a shock to be around so many people, it seemed very noisy by comparison to everywhere else we stayed (particularly in the restaurant and by the waterhole).

The location is undoubtably the best thing about this camp

The shop was understocked and v.overpriced."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Surprisingly excellent rooms"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2009
"Being a state run camp we didn't expect such good rooms - they were on a par with most of the lodges we stayed at (particularly good shower).

Great location for Etosha but we didn't see anything at the waterhole."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"What a unique experience!"

3 nights Arrived 19 May 2009
"Our time with the bushmen was truly unforgetable. We really didn't know what to expect but we loved every minute.

Our host and guide, Arno, was a complete character (we thought he was great) and Estelle is extremely knowledgeable too. We felt like part of the family."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great for seeing leopards"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"Excellent experience to see the leopards so close (particularly the ones we tracked for hours). It was good to learn about their work with the cheetahs too.

When our guide was talking about the plans for the camp (expanding and introducing other big animals) we were a little concerned that they might loose focus on what makes Okonjima so special - their work with the Africat Foundation! Don't loose focus on the cats!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team