This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs AS from York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2009 trip

Namibia between 12 Sep 2009 and 28 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Have already recomended Expert Africa to people"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"The only negative is the size of the leopard enclosures which we felt were a little small.

A torch provided by the lodge as in other locations would have been useful.

Ben was excellent."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"When we first arrived I was a little disappointed with the feel of the place - it needs a bit of TLC as it feels unloved.

If we had stayed just one night we would have left feeling that it was a bit disappointing. However by the second night the place had started to grow on us as had the company. Elka is planning to do a spring clean/spruce up which should help."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"The rooms here are fantastic, although if you are in the end ones as we were it can be a bit of a walk.

Not all the rooms can see the waterhole, although there was not a lack of views.

The views of the sky were amazing - (I know this out of anyones control but WOW).

Service here was hit and miss, it was as if some of the staff did not really know what they were doing (a common problem in goverment run/NWR accommodation) eg we booked an early morning drive to Dead Flei leaving at 5.30 and were told to be prompt. We arrived at 5.20 only to be told it had already left. I went back to the room to get my car keys and by the time I returned the driver was there. However we then waited until 6.00 before leaving as another couple was supposed to join us.

The early morning Dead Flei views are an absolute must!

Check out was slow - especially if trying to pay with a credit card."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"Comment on Swapokmund - we had problems getting into the restaurants we wanted to try.

It might be worth advising people to ring ahead to avoid disappointment. It's common sense I guess but I didn't think about it.

Pelican Point kayaking excursion
Excellent view, well organised, the guys put on a real show for us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Ballon trip"

18 Sep 2009 • Morning excursion

Excellent view, well organised, the guys put on a real show for us.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2009
"Love the fact that the local people own part of this lodge."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"The waterhole here is AMAZING. We were totally blown away by it - unbelievable.

Difficult to be fair to this place as one night we had a waterhole room (W34) and perhaps the best room in the plcae and the second night was a bush room which was OK but disappointing in comparision. My grades are for the waterhole room.

The food and service here are disappointing as it feels like a very average cafeteria."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"The food & service here were better than Okaukuejo - which was a suprize as we had been lead to believe it would be the other way around."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"A true luxury lodge. Efficient & well run."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"Cheetah are guaranteed.

Leopard is not guaranteed but is so worth the extra time and far more exciting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team