This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 167 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 131-140 of 167
Date
Mrs B
London

"A wonderful way to see the seals and dolphins"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 26 Aug 2010
"A lovely morning. I'd have liked to stay out longer than the 1.5 hours we had
Jeanne was a great host. She took photos and emailed them to us for our return

We did a sandboarding trip in the afternoon - the kids' favourite part, I think. We had a great time too. The instructors were great fun and looked after us well" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Kayaking- closeness at sea"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 15 Aug 2010
"A superb experince would recommend it to anyone. Well organised and the guide was once again extremely good , saw lots of seals and dolphins as well as numerous birds jellyfish and jackals." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr C & family
UK

"Brilliant Kayaking! - Highlight of trip!"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 10 Aug 2010
"Jeanne, who took us, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. She gave us a great experience - we all thoroughly enjoyed the ride across to Pelican Point (it's quite a long way on sand to get to where you can launch the kayaks - not just a nip across the bay, but it's interesting to see flamigoes and salt pans along the route!).

Don't miss this if you go to Swakopmund - kayaking and a baby seal allowing me to touch its whiskers, was for me personally, on a par with seeing rhinos at close quarters in Etosha!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Family M
USA

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Lagoon Lodge on 2 Aug 2010
"What a great thing to do! we love the kayaking. saw tons of seals , dolphins and a surprise visit by a humpback whale! Wow! tour guides were very nice and enthusiastic! loved the trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"A Namibian highlight"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 9 Aug 2010
"Nothing could fault this truely unique and excellent experience.

Jeanne was very well organised and very professional. Her knowledge and enthusiasm were excellent. She seemed to know the thousand odd seals, pelicans and cormorants personally not to mention the odd dolphin for good measure!
The kayaking was safe even for novices and we were all very well looked after.

Interaction with the seals just an amazing experience. If you only have one full day in Swakopmund (plenty) then do this activity - you won't regret it. Photos are taken by Jeanne and emailed to you so a nice keepsake of the day, which also means that you don't have to juggle with the camera whilst kayaking!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & family
UK

"Pelican point BOAT TRIP"

Based at The Stiltz on 27 Jul 2010
"Having booked the kayaking, due to a hiccup we ended up on the boat trip, which arguable was a better option.

We were taken out well into the lagoon, in an effort to see whale (there were none) but we had an excellent trip with lots of chat and enteratinment in the form of pelican feeding and fly-bys, seals coming onto the boat for petting, feeding and photos, and a look at the flamingos on the shore.

We were treated to a picnic of sparkling wine, oysters and other canapes before return home 3 hours later.

A good fun trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr L & Mr L
Kent

"Pelican Point Kayaking review"

Based at Villa Margherita on 10 May 2010
"Great ! The only two on the trip, how lucky is that ? A lovely way to spend a Monday morning. Jeanne was a good hostess, informative, enthusiastic and relaxed company. Seals wonderful, Dolphins annoyingly appeared only very briefly, Pelcians, Flamingoes and Jackals all nice to see too.

Never kayaked before, but didn't have much trouble working it out." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Good fun with a great Instructor"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 16 May 2010
"This was a great fun morning. We enjoyed the trip out to Pelican point as much as the kayaking itself. Despite my husband being a non-swimmer Jean had provided a double kayak and was very encoouraging. Although we had 'co-ordination challenges' in mastering the kayak and I managed to capsize it when getting out- Jean was lovely and very patient with us!

The shipwrecks made lovely photo opportunities and to have been surrounded by all those baby seals and observe the flamingos was lovely. Jean kindly e-mailed us some pictures after our return which was very kind. The rolls and coffee were much appreciated and it was a lovely way to spend a Sunday morning. Thank you Jean." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Hansa Hotel on 15 Oct 2009
"We were not blessed with the weather on the morning of our kayaking tour and the Dolphins did not come out to play so it was fun but would have been better in other conditions - the weather on the day is very important.

Jeanne is great and highly professional." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 13 Sep 2009
"Something a bit different where you have to be active. Happy we did it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Showing 131-140 of 167
98%
167 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
151
12
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team