This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 177 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 131-140 of 177
Date
Mrs C
kayaking

"A Namibian 'must do'"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 23 Nov 2010
"This was definately one of the highlights of the trip. Jeanne is an outstanding guide and clearly knows and loves the area. The salt water pools in amazing colours (green and pink) were extraordinary, the bay beautiful and we saw flamingo, jackals and of course 100s of seals. The Kayaking was fabulous and the whole trip perfectly organised from the clothing/equipment provided, instruction provided and commentary to the welcome and warming hot coffee and picnic provided at the end. Anyone visiting Walvis Bay must do this trip!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Sea and seals"

Based at The Stiltz on 4 Nov 2010
"Despite the original vehicle breaking down, the experiecne overall was great. This was our first try at kayaking, you really do get in close amongst the wildlife. The leader obviously knew her stuff and as it was a small group - 6 of us - was able to spend time with each couple explaining what was happening with regard to the colonies of animals we encountered.

This trip is excellent value for money and well worth undertaking." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms S & Mr D
London

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 25 Oct 2010
"We both thoroughly enjoyed our kayaking trip with Jeanne. My husband is keen on water sports and had kayaked previously, so was very much looking forward to the trip. As I have an aversion for water sports, I was more apprehensive. We had a double kayak. Kayaking around the lagoon itself was very calm and we also went out to sea to see the dolphins. The trip felt completely safe throughout and is an enjoyable experience even if you are not a water sports enthusiast.

Whilst on the trip we saw seal and dolphins, as well as lots of birds, including flamingos. Jeanne also took us to see a family of jackals living on the point. Jeanne provided lots of information about the local wildlife.

We arrived home to an email from Jeanne with photos of our trip. As all of our photos showed what we were seeing from our kayak, it was great to have some photos of the two us in the kayak, as well as some fantastic additional wildlife shots.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our morning kayaking with Jeanne." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
R Family
Alaska

"kayaking trip"

17 Oct 2010
"I suppose it depends on your past experiences.

We found this trip, hmm, slow and a little boring - but we've done lots of kayaking before. Other people in the group had a great time. It wasn't that there was anything wrong with the trip - the outfitter had good boats, life jackets, great relations with the clients - so no problem there, we thought there was a little more to it than just paddling back and forth along the shore." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Pelican Point Kayaking"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 21 Oct 2010
"Jeanne was not around but the young man who stood in for her did a great job. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and provided a safe but interesting experience.

There is plenty of opportunity to get close to the seals and pelicans although it gets a bit crowded when the motor launches come in." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D & Ms S
UK

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at The Stiltz on 4 Oct 2010
"The kit is a bit on the old and used side, but Jeanne made up for it all with her personality, and we had a super morning on the water.

Note that the meeting place is not quite as described - worth checking with her to get it right; I think it was a different coffee house." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss T & Mr B
London

"an experience!"

13 Sep 2010
"Great experience, though very short due to strong winds...again just luck of the draw.

Advanced information on what to wear/bring, not to wear etc would have been helpful.

Very knowledgeable guide.

Please see earlier comment re correct meeting point." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"Please can we do it again"

Based at The Stiltz on 11 Oct 2010
"This was great. Very well organised by Jeanne who thought of everything, including a bush toilet for the ladies. As very inexperienced kayakers the female amongst us was nervous but quickly reassured by Jeanne's competence and professionalism. She made it a great experience and even took photographs for us which were sitting in our inbox when we got home." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs C
Surrey

"Kayaking at Pelican Point"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 4 Oct 2010
"Woke up to horrible cold weather in Swakopmund and really didn't want to go kayaking. Even worse when we got out of the car at the beach to freezing force ten gale! But Jeanne had plenty of warm clothing, waterproof shoes and even woolly hats, so we were warm and toasty while in the kayaks. Lovely gentle pace, plenty of time to take in the frolicking seals and got really close to the colonies.

The drive to the beach was also a real highlight - Jeanne was really informative and pointed out loads of interesting sights.

This trip came highly recommended and fully met expectations." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Amazing"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 20 Sep 2010
"Neither daughters with me at the moment but they both said it was amazing and far exceeded their expectations. Also they were full of praise for their instructress. So I think it was very successful" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 177
98%
177 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
160
13
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team