This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 175 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 141-150 of 175
Date
Mr C & family
UK

"Brilliant Kayaking! - Highlight of trip!"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 10 Aug 2010
"Jeanne, who took us, was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. She gave us a great experience - we all thoroughly enjoyed the ride across to Pelican Point (it's quite a long way on sand to get to where you can launch the kayaks - not just a nip across the bay, but it's interesting to see flamigoes and salt pans along the route!).

Don't miss this if you go to Swakopmund - kayaking and a baby seal allowing me to touch its whiskers, was for me personally, on a par with seeing rhinos at close quarters in Etosha!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Family M
USA

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Lagoon Lodge on 2 Aug 2010
"What a great thing to do! we love the kayaking. saw tons of seals , dolphins and a surprise visit by a humpback whale! Wow! tour guides were very nice and enthusiastic! loved the trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"A Namibian highlight"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 9 Aug 2010
"Nothing could fault this truely unique and excellent experience.

Jeanne was very well organised and very professional. Her knowledge and enthusiasm were excellent. She seemed to know the thousand odd seals, pelicans and cormorants personally not to mention the odd dolphin for good measure!
The kayaking was safe even for novices and we were all very well looked after.

Interaction with the seals just an amazing experience. If you only have one full day in Swakopmund (plenty) then do this activity - you won't regret it. Photos are taken by Jeanne and emailed to you so a nice keepsake of the day, which also means that you don't have to juggle with the camera whilst kayaking!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs A & family
UK

"Pelican point BOAT TRIP"

Based at The Stiltz on 27 Jul 2010
"Having booked the kayaking, due to a hiccup we ended up on the boat trip, which arguable was a better option.

We were taken out well into the lagoon, in an effort to see whale (there were none) but we had an excellent trip with lots of chat and enteratinment in the form of pelican feeding and fly-bys, seals coming onto the boat for petting, feeding and photos, and a look at the flamingos on the shore.

We were treated to a picnic of sparkling wine, oysters and other canapes before return home 3 hours later.

A good fun trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr L & Mr L
Kent

"Pelican Point Kayaking review"

Based at Villa Margherita on 10 May 2010
"Great ! The only two on the trip, how lucky is that ? A lovely way to spend a Monday morning. Jeanne was a good hostess, informative, enthusiastic and relaxed company. Seals wonderful, Dolphins annoyingly appeared only very briefly, Pelcians, Flamingoes and Jackals all nice to see too.

Never kayaked before, but didn't have much trouble working it out." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Good fun with a great Instructor"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 16 May 2010
"This was a great fun morning. We enjoyed the trip out to Pelican point as much as the kayaking itself. Despite my husband being a non-swimmer Jean had provided a double kayak and was very encoouraging. Although we had 'co-ordination challenges' in mastering the kayak and I managed to capsize it when getting out- Jean was lovely and very patient with us!

The shipwrecks made lovely photo opportunities and to have been surrounded by all those baby seals and observe the flamingos was lovely. Jean kindly e-mailed us some pictures after our return which was very kind. The rolls and coffee were much appreciated and it was a lovely way to spend a Sunday morning. Thank you Jean." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Hansa Hotel on 15 Oct 2009
"We were not blessed with the weather on the morning of our kayaking tour and the Dolphins did not come out to play so it was fun but would have been better in other conditions - the weather on the day is very important.

Jeanne is great and highly professional." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 13 Sep 2009
"Something a bit different where you have to be active. Happy we did it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Miss M & S
London

"Wonderful experience"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 19 Oct 2009
"Jeanne is a lovely lady and very interesting with her knowledge of the birds and wildlife around Pelican Point. The seals playing and making noises around our kayak was delightful and they seemed to enjoy our singing too!! As a non-swimmer and first timer in a kayak I felt very comfortable throughout & can highly recommend it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss N
Leeds

"Brilliant Highly Recomended"

Based at Swakopmund Guesthouse on 18 Sep 2009
"Expert Africa pre arranged this for us and it is really worth it, the seal pups will come and play with you it is such a brilliant experience, and the lady who does the trip is so knowledgable about the local area, expaining about the salt farms and birdlife, she also serves up a hearty lunch at the end next to the seal colony!! We didn't see any dolphins but to be fair the seals are what this trip is really about! The lagoon is really calm so don't worry if you don't have any previous experience.

Just a note, the meeting point has changed from the Mola Mola Coffee Shop, I can't remember the new location but is worth double checking when you confirm with her." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 175
98%
175 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
158
13
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team