This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

Reviews: Kayaking with seals

Below are independent comments from 167 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 141-150 of 167
Date
Miss H & Mr R
London

"Wonderful experience"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 19 Oct 2009
"Jeanne is a lovely lady and very interesting with her knowledge of the birds and wildlife around Pelican Point. The seals playing and making noises around our kayak was delightful and they seemed to enjoy our singing too!! As a non-swimmer and first timer in a kayak I felt very comfortable throughout & can highly recommend it." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss N
Leeds

"Brilliant Highly Recomended"

Based at Swakopmund Guesthouse on 18 Sep 2009
"Expert Africa pre arranged this for us and it is really worth it, the seal pups will come and play with you it is such a brilliant experience, and the lady who does the trip is so knowledgable about the local area, expaining about the salt farms and birdlife, she also serves up a hearty lunch at the end next to the seal colony!! We didn't see any dolphins but to be fair the seals are what this trip is really about! The lagoon is really calm so don't worry if you don't have any previous experience.

Just a note, the meeting point has changed from the Mola Mola Coffee Shop, I can't remember the new location but is worth double checking when you confirm with her." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Ballon trip"

Based at Villa Margherita on 18 Sep 2009
"Excellent view, well organised, the guys put on a real show for us." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Brilliant"

Based at Villa Margherita on 20 Sep 2009
"Not to be missed!! even though we had never kayaked before." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Swanley

"Brilliant experience"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 9 Sep 2009
"Jeanne was an excellent guide who made the whole experience come alive. She also took numerous photographs throughout the morning which she delivered on a CD to our hotel that night.

Without doubt the highliught of the holiday due mainly to the consideration and professional attitude of Jeanne." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"What a wonderful morning"

Based at The Stiltz on 30 Sep 2009
"Excellent excellent excellent - a great experience we wouldn't have missed. Jeanne is very well organised and knowledgeable. On the way to the point, driving through the salt pans she spent time pointing out all the birds. On arrival at pelican point we were quickly kitted out and were told about the workings of the canoe. We went out to sea to find the dolphins and then returned to Jeannes seal colony where we spent the most wonderful hour with the young fur seals which came up to the canoe, played with the paddles and some even let you touch them. The sound and smell was unbelievable!!!!!!
When we landed sandwiches and hot coffee were provided and we drove back via the salt pans and more bird watching.
Jeanne gives everyone a great experience and a very full morning. This trip should not be missed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr H & family
UK

"Kayaking"

5 Aug 2009
"A great morning and worth booking in advance, enjoyed by all , the drive there was a treat in itself. Kids loved it and lunch after a bonus" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms W & Ms B
Alaska

"Kayaking to Pelican Point review"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 9 Jul 2009
"We chose not to go on our tour of Pelican Point because felt like our time in Swapkomund was too scheduled and we needed a break. If we'd gone on the tour in the morning, as we'd planned, we felt we might not make it back in time to make our drive to Windhoek in a relaxed manner." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Leicester

"Kayaking with seals"

Based at Sam's Giardino on 30 May 2009
"We had originally wanted to do the longer (all morning) trip but, because of a shortage of time because of long drive up to Doro Nawas meant that we onld had time for 2 hour trip. Neverthess, this was very pleasant and relaxing experience with our guide Francois who we found easy to chat to about various issues Namibian. Unfortunately, we couldn't get as close to the flamingoes as we would have liked but, all in all, atrip to be recommended." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Honeymooners
Surrey

"Highly recommended"

Based at Cornerstone Guesthouse on 10 May 2009
"It's great to be able to get so close to the seals - even in the dull weather this made it worth the trip to Swakupmund." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 141-150 of 167
98%
167 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
151
12
4
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team