This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines


1°56’48.4"S 30°3’43.3"E

Reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines

Wildlife sightings and reviews

65 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hotel des Mille Collines and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 65
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2017
"2 nights at hotel - at the beginning and at end of stay in Rwanda.

1st night our room was at the back of the hotel (seems all odd numbered rooms face the same view) and was subject to noise at about 04.30 which, on commenting later to our guide, reckons was due to activity associated with a shopping mall which had recently been built. Best to avoid odd numbered rooms if possible!

Our guide had mentioned this to hotel management and he said they would ensure we were in a front facing (even numbered) room when we next stayed. In fact they put us in a mini suite which was a pleasant surprise and just a shame we could not take full advantage." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs G
Fareham

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"Hotel was only about 20 minutes from the airport. Security was tight.

Room was clean and tidy, if a bit tired/dated.

Breakfast and service were fine." See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr A
California

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 14 Mar 2017
"We had a very pleasant stay. The bar area by the pool was very nice for an evening drink." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Quiet Stay Downtown"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2017
"Very good choice in downtown Kigali. Good food and wonderful staff, convenient location downtown. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the terrace." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Rwanda; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J
Woking

"Luxurious stay at Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2016
"We only stayed at this hotel one night on our way to Tanzania but were very impressed with it. It was very much like any international hotel; very chic.

We were very tired and decided to have a massage. It was one of the best massages I've had." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Clean. Modern. Lovely."

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2016
"The hotel is clean, modern and generally lovely, and has quite a bit of character. The lobby and common areas, including the pool and restaurant, are very nice and modern. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate but not extraordinary. The hotel has an historical charm that adds to its character." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Clean. Modern. Lovely."

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"The hotel is clean, modern and generally lovely, and has quite a bit of character.

The lobby and common areas, including the pool and restaurant, are very nice and modern. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate but not extraordinary.

The hotel has an historical charm that adds to its character." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carter Caravan
USA

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"Unique history that thank goodness most hotels would not have. Had security check oint for entering hotel. A coupleof blocks down the street from the presidential palace in a more residential area. Close to banksand shopping. The prices are a little high for the food and beverage considerig this is Africa. There is a good restaurant a few blocks away called Heaven(same prices) but an alternative for dinner if you are staying 2 or more nights. Heaven is also a boutique hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rob
Watford

"A great location for central Kigali."

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"I arrived late on Sunday and left fairly early the following day. It is therefore not really possible to give a comprehensive account. However for the time I was there the staff were extremely attentive, the rooms comfortable and the food good." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The Denan Group
USA

"Very nice hotel"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2016
"Since we only stayed for an overnight we didn't have an opportunity to use all their services but everything was fine. Room was a typical hotel/motel room. Very Clean.
The breakfast was fabulous! Everything you could possibly want to eat for breakfast was available!

We did have dinner and lunch as well. Good food. We did sit out under the large canopy near the bar and it was a lovely respite from the city.

I would recommend it to future clients." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 65
84%
65 reviews of Hotel des Mille Collines by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
36
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kigali

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

Just 10km from the airport, the Kigali Serena is a comfortable option and one of Expert Africa's favourites for a stopover in Kigali.


89% (70 reviews)
Heaven Boutique Hotel

Heaven Hotel

Heaven Boutique Hotel is a comfortable and great-value option for a stopover in Kigali, or as a longer stay to explore Rwanda's capital city.


94% (13 reviews)
Heaven Retreat

The Retreat

Heaven Retreat is the luxurious and stylish sister hotel of Heaven Boutique, and makes for a great stopover, or a base to explore Kigali.


100% (2 reviews)
Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

The Kigali Marriott is a smart international hotel located close to KIgali's business district, in the heart of the city.


100% (1 review)
Kigali Radisson Blu

Kigali Radisson Blu

The Kigali Radisson Blu is only a short drive from the airport and offers a comfortable base in Kigali.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa