This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs J & Family from Dunmow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

1

My Jul 2016 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 12 Jul 2016 and 26 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I think we suffered a little as Nick had left the company and Lucy had picked up our trip at a later stage. The itinerary details could have been better and were a little sparse."

Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2016
"Beautiful old colonial hotel with excellent service and lovely food. We couldn't fault it.

My daughter and I did the zip wire over the gorge from the Zimbawaen side which only took us half way across which was a bit disappointing and very expensive.

We really enjoyed the 'booze cruise' on the Zambezi and my husband and other daughter went white water rafting which is quite hairy and you need to be fairly fit to walk down and up the gorge sides to the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2016
"Beautiful lodge in a lovely position with an amazing view. The food and service was again faultless. The guides were extremely knowledgeably.

The boat trip in the Chobe Park was incredible, being so close to the elephants/crocodiles and watching the elephants swim across the river was a real treat

I felt we could have returned back to the lodge after lunch as it was quite a full day with a game drive afterwards. The lodge was quite a long drive from the entrance of Chobe NP and was also very cold when driving along the tarmac road."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"What an amazing place. When we flew in we thought we were in the middle of nowhere. We were made to feel extremely welcome. The horse riding, meekhat visit, quad bikes, san visit, salt pans and camp out were all real highlights of our trip..

Our guide, Micheal, was a great personality and made us all feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

Although there was not the extent of game as in Chobe we did really enjoy this experience and would definitely recommend it.
It was also very nice to have a lunchtime siesta and rest in the middle of the day - only mad dogs and Englishmen...........

The food was exceptional"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"This was a lovely spot to camp and the park was teeming with wildlife. Andrew was a very imformative guide and you always felt very safe and secure particularly when facing up to a bull elephant or having a leopard pace right next to the truck. He was very happy to do whatever we wanted and found lots of game including lions and wild dogs with a litter of puppies.

We went on several walking safaris to stretch our legs and had some incredible sun downers.

The hyenas and lions were very noisy outside our tent at night and my husband had an elephant stroll past whilst he was having a shower!! All great experiences.

Our chef and his team were always smiling and produced some amazing food from their camp fires."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Jul 2012 trip

Namibia between 9 Jul 2012 and 30 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a fantastic experience which all of the family really enjoyed. We did have some long driving days but these were to be expected.

All the accomodation that Expert Africa chose for us was extremely good and I would definately book with Expert Africa again. Maybe I would have liked to include a trek on my next trip but on the whole there was something for all the family to do. Namibia was definately a very diverse country to visit with lots to see and do and of course Etosha Game Park to visit.

Feedback on Pelican Point kayaking:

We were taken out with Craig and Bill, his father -in-law, to kayak with the seals off Pelican Point. It was quite a long drive from Walvis Bay but very interesting to see all the salt works and some flamingoes en route.

Kayaking was quite easy to pick up though very tiring and we paddled out past Pelican Point first to try and see some whales. Unfortunately we were unsuccessful but we did catch glimpses of dolphins. We then paddled back along the shore line to see the seals in their hundreds. They were leaping and diving all around us and we ended up soaking wet from their splashing!

This was a great experience finished off with tea/soup/sandwiches to warm us up which was very welcome."

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2012
"This was a lovely spot in Windhoek in a good location.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had an excellent breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2012
"This was a nice place to stay although the food was fairly average."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2012
"Fish River Lodge was in an incredible position right on the edge of the canyon with spectacular views. The decor of the lodge was very chic and modern and the rooms were equally chic with an outside shower with an amazing view. The food was delicious. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. However the weather was very cold and windy and we were frozen as the lodge only has two fires. It was so windy in the night we could hardly sleep for the noise.

I also felt the activities were a little misleading. The 1/2 day canyon walk was infact an extremely taxing, rock climbing trek down into the canyon which could take up to 6 hours. This would leave you little time and energy to return to the top of the canyon in one day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Under own arrangements review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2012
"Excellent camp site beneath the giant rock of Mirabab. There was only our two families there and we had a sundowner on top of Mirabib rock.

Only a dunny type toilet available though in which my husband discovered a scorpion."
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2012
"I really enjoyed Desert Homestead there was a very friendly atmosphere and the staff were happy and helpful.

We had Megan lead our sundowner horseride who was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable. The only slight drawback was the lodge was a good 40 mins away from Sesriem which meant you had to travel a little bit further to see the dunes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Aus - Luderitz"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2012
"We stayed in a very cold little cottage called Hessie's Cottage booked through Klein Aus We had to turn the oven on with the doors open to try and heat up this little cottage.

Went to see the desert horses and Koolmanhoop - the ghost town. Both were well worth seeing though the desert horses now have man made water holes so they are much more easy to see."
Excellent
Location
Good
Rooms
Poor
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"Beach Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"Lovely rooms overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The Wreck, the restaurant, served delicious meals.

From here we did kayaking, sand boarding, sky diving and dune buggy driving."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Seal playtime"

20 Jul 2012 • Morning excursion

We were taken out with Craig and Bill, his father -in-law, to kayak with the seals off Pelican Point. It was quite a long drive from Walvis Bay but very interesting to see all the salt works and some flamingoes en route.

Kayaking was quite easy to pick up though very tiring and we paddled out past Pelican Point first to try and see some whales. Unfortunately we were unsuccessful but we did catch glimpses of dolphins. We then paddled back along the shore line to see the seals in their hundreds. They were leaping and diving all around us and we ended up soaking wet from their splashing!

This was a great experience finished off with tea/soup/sandwiches to warm us up which was very welcome.
Excellent
Image alt

Under own arrangements

"Damara Mopane Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2012
"This was quite a large lodge enroute to Etosha National Park. It was all very clean with little vegatable patches around each room.

I thought it was a little expensive for what it was but we had a comfortable night there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Rhino at Halali"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2012
"Halali Camp was much quieter than Okaukuejo Camp with a much quieter waterhole as well though thankfully not nearly as crowded and noisy as Okaukuejo waterhole. There is also a fairly reliable rhino which visits the waterhole everyday and we were lucky enough to see a leopard as well.

We went on a night drive where we saw an incredible 8 rhino around a waterhole though not much else. We also travelled from here to Chudop waterhole which was a fantastic place and you could have sat and watched the animals for hours."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great safari at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2012
"This was possibly the highlight of our trip. We loved the beautiful surroundings and the food was absolutely delicious. We had a great guide called Neil who drove us to within 10 feet of a leopard!! We also tracked three cheetah on foot and managed to see the very rare wild dogs. Everything was really well organised and you felt very well looked after. The night hide was also a great chance to see porcupine and honey badgers which you would rarely see normally.

Unfortunately my husband suffered a bad electric shock when he opened one of the perimeter gate as there was noone there to open the gate for us. There should be warning signs on the gates"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team