This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Mrs F from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 16 Sep 2013 and 8 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We talked to a number of travel agencies when we decided to go to Namibia and Botswana. Expert Africa was clearly the most knowledgeable and helpful so it was easy for us to choose to use your services. We spoke to Maruska a number of times and she was able to answer all of our questions and help us make informed decisions. The materials she sent and your website resources were extremely informative and helpful.

This was a great trip and exceeded our expectations, especially the wildlife viewing opportunities. All of the lodges were very good and more luxurious than we are used to. We only gave a few "Excellent" ratings on our survey responses so we could single out the truly outstanding lodges and activities.

When we started planning this trip, we realized that it was going to be an expensive holiday: certainly more expensive than any of our other vacations. After returning home from a wonderful 3 weeks in Namibia and Botswana, we feel that it was money well spent.

Thank you for helping us to have the trip of a lifetime.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

There's nothing that you can do about this, but you might want to warn other travellers about the long wait time when arriving at Windhoek airport. It took well over an hour to clear Customs and Immigration. It would have been even longer but they moved a few of the older passengers (including us) to the front of the line. The staff were generally unwelcoming and unhelpful - not sure if this was an isolated incident or general practice. This was such a contrast to everyone else we met during our stay in Namibia."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"This is a lovely guest house with helpful staff. We arrived in the evening for a one-night stay and they went out of their way to provide a good dinner and take care of our laundry. That said, the meal was expensive by Namibian standards."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"This lodge is in a lovely location, although quite a way off the main road. The stone cottages are charming and blend well into the landscape. This was our first night in the Namibian countryside and we were thrilled to be woken at midnight by zebras munching on the grass outside our cottage.

Our only activities were a short walk on our own and a sundown drive, which was pretty but didn't provide good value for the cost (short, no animals). The lodge owners were away; they may have been able to suggest other activities."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"The lodge setting is a bit bleak, but the main building is spectacular and the "tents" are very comfortable. The food at Hoodia was the best we experienced in our 2 weeks in Namibia. The lodge owners were friendly and solicitous and had justifiable pride in their property.

We enjoyed our trip into the dunes. Angura was an excellent guide, providing lots of interesting information on the landscape and animals."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"We arrived in Swakopmund during a sandstorm, so the Cornerstone felt like a calm green oasis. The office staff were helpful and friendly and gave us good advice on things to do in the area. Bertina made a special effort to help us plan our day's activities.

Due to the high winds, we didn't go on a boat trip or guided drive into the desert, but did enjoy exploring the lagoon on our own. We recommend visiting the sea lion colony at Cape Cross."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"The lodge at Doro Nawas sits on a hill and has a lovely view of the surrounding countryside from the dining room, verandah and rooftop patio. The lodge staff were friendly and helpful. For example, a staff member spotted that one of our tires had a slow leak and changed it for us. He could have let us leave without saying anything, but his concern saved us a lot of hot dusty work at the side of the road. We really appreciated his effort.

We saw a herd of elephants by the side of the road as we neared the lodge, but didn't see them during our evening game drive from the lodge. We drove ourselves to see the rock carvings at Twyfelfontaine - highly recommended."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"Although it's in a remote location, we loved this camp and staying there was one of the highlights of our visit to Namibia. The location, staff and activities were excellent.

The camp staff were welcoming and really made us feel at home. Our guide, Johann, gave us an appreciation of the landscape and wildlife and is obviously knowledgeable and passionate about both. The rhino trackers were amazing! We have no idea how they were able to find the elusive desert rhino in such rugged territory."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"We stayed at a few camps run by Wilderness Safaris, including this one. They were consistently well run, with good staff, facilities and services. We went on 3 game drives from Ongava Tented Camp and were thrilled to see lots of lions, elephants, all kinds of antelope, giraffes, zebras, and a few white rhinos.

We drove through Etosha on our way from Ongava to Onguma Camp. We really enjoyed our day and saw an amazing number of elephants. It you like watching animals close up, the waterholes in Etosha are wonderful. But we appreciated staying at lodges outside the park so we could go on evening drives."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2013
"This camp has a lovely setting and the rooms and facilities are luxurious. The small infinity pool overlooks a great waterhole, so you can enjoy a cool drink and swim while watching the warthogs and antelope.

We went on a guided drive from Onguma into the eastern side of Etosha. A highlight was watching lions eating a giraffe carcass just a few metres from our open vehicle."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Due to the large size of the facility, this was our least favourite camp in Namibia. It can't help but be less personal with so many guests. That said, the rooms and meals were fine and we did get to see cheetahs close up."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"It was convenient for us to stay right at the airport as we were in transit from Namibia to Botswana. The hotel is large and very busy, a bit of a shock after 2 weeks in remote lodges."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"This camp has a spectacular setting, right on the Linyati River. We could watch elephants crossing the river to the marsh on the other bank and at night we could listen to hippos snorting around our cabin. Our cabin was huge and luxurious with a slipper tub right in front of a window with a good view of the river.

Our guide Matt and tracker PD gave us lots of information about the wildlife and could spot animals that we would never have seen without them. A highlight was parking under a tree to watch a young female leopard in the branches above us. Another highlight was seeing a pack of wild dogs trotting along the road and playing with each other."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"Little Kwara is in a beautiful area with lots of wildlife. The camp was well run, but we wish the cabins were equipped with fans as it was very hot (42+ C) during the afternoons. The cabins are raised on stilts; we could look down on antelope, warthogs, baboons and elephants from our verandah.

We saw lots of hippos, lions, elephants, zebra, and a big herd of cape buffalo. Two highlights here were watching a pack of wild dogs hunt an antelope (no luck) and a warthog (successfully) and a boat cruise into the Okavanga Delta. The boat ride was exciting as we sped along the narrow twisting channels, stopping at one point because 4 young elephants were blocking our way. Our destination was a bird rookery with large numbers of storks and kites and we ended our last night in Africa riding back to camp under a magnificent sunset."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team