This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr Pix from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Unforgetable trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 7 Sep 2007 and 5 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a very rewarding trip to see so much wild life and the amazing landscape of Namibia. My wife broke her wrist on day 4 at Zebra River but even this hardly detracted from the enjoyment of the holiday. Excellent treatment in Swakomund.

As an experienced owner driver of a 4 x 4 I feel that this is the the type of vehicle needed for most of the terrain encountered. There were occasions where the saloon car did not have the ground clearance or the traction required to negotiate the conditions safely."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Good start to the holiday"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2007
"Easy to find, excellent welcome and comfortable stopover after the flight."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2007
"Charming hosts and friendly staff. Excellent massage with Gail. Very relaxing 2 days.

Unfortunately I fell and broke my wrist on the morning of our departure. Rob and Marianne were very kind and helpful and were happy for us to extend our stay if I felt unable to travel. Decided to carry on to Desert Lodge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"easy location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"Only able to spend 1 night here as I realised that I needed medical attention in Swakomund for what turned out to be a broken wrist"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Unique design"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2007
"We were able to book in a day early after receiving treatment at the Bismark Clinic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"The Place to see desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2007
"Excellent guides, amusing and informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Life with the lions"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2007
"Some of the best walks and game drives of the whole trip. Excellent hides. Steve very interesting to talk to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Big game waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"It was very exciting to see so many animals at both the on site waterhole and driving around the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"The comfortable bungalow"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"Night time viewing at the waterhole included herds of elephants and black rhinocerus"
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Outstanding location"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"Although the staff were very obliging there was no ambience created by the owners as we had experienced at other privately run lodges.

It was difficult to acquire any local knowledge of the area. Briefing on activities was poor. The guide on the game drive was not very confident with the guests and had no assistant."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Up and personal with the cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"We appreciate the work being done at Africat and were impressed by the enthusiasm of the staff.

Guests should check their bill carefully as there were a lot of mistakes on ours."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"In the shadow of Table Mountain"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"Great welcome from Thomas and very helpful on local activities and restaurants."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Whale watching from your room"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"As this was whale watching season we had the wonderful experience of seeing whales in the bay constantly"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team