This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr S from AskhamBryan

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

total trip review

Zambia between 15 Oct 2008 and 25 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"excellent trip"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Excellent total experience at Kaingo"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"Our guide Retief was exellent, plenty of birds (our main interest) but also saw mating leopards and lions - a first for us. The camp set up encouraged interaction between guests.

The food and accomodation was very good. The daily programme was just right. The trip to see the Carmine Beeaters was stunning. The staff were very friedly and helpful.

No adverse comments."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Great birding on the saltflats at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Our main guides Alex and Rory were excellent. During a trip to the saltflats with Rory we saw huge flocks of Crowed Cranes and several types of eagle (including the Martial) plus all four types of vulture you would expect in the region.We asked one morning if we may see a Purrple Crested Lourie and of course Alex found two for us.

The camp set up was good as in encouraged interaction between the guests, particularly drinks before meals where everyone mixed and the use of two round tables instead of one long table. The rooms were very good but the only adverse comment I would make was that because of their open aspect it was difficult to take a midday snooze without being pestered by insects."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chingwe River Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Our main guide Richman was excellent. He had the difficult task of finding new species of bird that we had not seen at the two previous camps in which he suceeded.

The rest of the aspects were not as good as the two previous camps. The room was basically very good but there were no mossy nets and the use of insect killer was discouraged hence I was bitten a lot. Pre dinner drinks were taken round the camp fire but it was dark and you could not see the other guests and dinner was taken on one long table. Both of these made it difficult to mix with the other guests.

The activity options were not made clear and I had the feeling we were beeing pushed towards those activities that suited the camp rather than the guests. One example was on the final afternoon where we had planned to go fishing we were persuaded to go on a quiet canoe ride to see unusual birds. When we got down to the river there were three other canoes some occupied by children which made for a less than quiet boirdwatching session."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

African Adventure

Botswana and 2 other countries between 7 Nov 2007 and 2 Dec 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"A thoroughly enjoyable trip wich on the whole was well organised.

The transfers between camps were efficient and well timed with the exception of the transfer from Muchenje to Linyanti. We had to be out of our room by 10am and then wait around until 12.30 to drive for our flight. That left us a little short of time on arrival at Linyanti an earlier flight would have been better."

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Relaxing start to trip at Royal Livingstone"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2007
"The first evening the staff had left lights on immediately outside our room and a lamp inside. When we return after dinner the room was full of insects. We call for service and they sprayed because of the volume of insects then literally swept out the room. On future nights the lights were left out to avoid the problem.

The price of wine was extortionate, a modest South African red which we can buy in England for less than £5 was $58 a btle."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Introduction to Botswana at Muchenje"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2007
"Very friendly but professionally run camp.

Good basic plain food.

Very knowledgeable guides"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"A Gastronomic Experience at Linyanti"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"We arrived just before the afternoon game drive but were given a very warm welcome. The literature indicates swamps and vast numbers of game, in fact the swamp area has been dry for 20 years. We did see many of the species we expected but not in huge numbers.

The tents were excellently furnished but rather overheated in the date time and would have benefited from any outside shaded viewing facility. The food was definitely the best we experienced in Botswana.

An ice making facility would be very beneficial. The cold towels on return from the bush were much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Great game viewing at Sandibe"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"The game was plentiful and our guide, Katembo, was excellent.

The rooms were nice but very dark.

In the dining area in the day time there was a big problem with Vervet monkeys, stealing food and being quite aggressive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Game scarce at Nxabega"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"The variety and quantity of game indicated in the literature was vastly overstated. This is very much a transitional camp. We were lucky enough to see lions but they hadnt been previously sighted for 7 months.

Our guide and tracker, Dux and KB, worked very hard to make our experience enjoyable but are clearly embarrassed by the claims made in the literature.

The manager was notable by his absense until we were leaving!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Wild dogs at Kwando"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"The highlight was a pack of 13 wild dogs and the hippos walking past the tent at night. Generally the game was plentiful.

A very well run and organised camp in a lovely setting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Southern Sun OR Tambo, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Where???"

1 night Arrived 24 Nov 2007
"Due to a late flight change our overnight stay was in J'burgh

Just dont ask about an overnight airport hotel!!"
Terrible
Breezes Beach Club

Breezes Beach Club

"Relax at Breezes"

5 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2007
"Having paid for a Deluxe room we were very disappointed to find our room was right at the back next to the standard rooms which were in fact not being used!! The management were very unhelpful stating that rooms were allocated at the time of booking and there was nothing they could do.

The restaurant choices were not as stating in the brochure. There was no seafood restaurant which was a major reason that we had accepted this hotel. In fact the only choice was the main dining room and an indian restaurant where the airconditioning had failed."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Serene Serena"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2007
"A lovely corner room but as it was on the ground floor the foliage obscured the sea view!

The hotel informed us that the pool would be closed for a private function from 3pm on the only full day we were there! After complaining they allowed us to use the pool until sundown."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team