This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Salisbury

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

A great trip - thoroughly well organised

Zambia and 2 other countries between 3 Oct 2017 and 16 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic trip. We had a fairly good idea of what we wanted to do from the outset, having travelled reasonably widely in the region before.

Expert Africa listened well, came up with a good itinerary first up and put us in the type of camps that we really like. You can't ask for more than that."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Nice friendly lodge - good boat trip"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"We had only one night here. Arrived from the UK and were out on a boat on the Chobe river within 90 minutes. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. I suspect that one lodge's boat trip on the Chobe river is much the same as every other lodge's boat trip!

Can't comment further on other activities.

All staff were friendly and welcoming"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Excellent location; good game drives"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Very nice location inside Mudumu Park, by the river.

Extremely well appointed guest rooms in the gardens.

Enjoyed two game drives in the park.

If there is to be any minor criticism, the kitchen seemed to be trying a little too hard to over-complicate the food, but that is largely a matter of personal taste"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Luxury in the middle of nowhere"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2017
"Fantastic accommodation and hospitality at Nxamaseri.

As made plain on the website, this is a fishing and birding spot, not a game lodge, but we are not obsessives at either and had a great time over two days.

It may just have been chance but the clientele was very diverse by typical game lodge standards - not in a bad way!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

"Brief overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2017
"Namushasha did us well for an overnight stop.

It is a much bigger lodge than many in the area and thus had rather a different ambience to the other places we stayed.

Can't comment on activities as we didn't have time for any."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Great location"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"This is about as close as you can get to the falls on the Zambian side.

Food and facilities were excellent.

Worth noting that in October the Zambian side of the Falls is pretty unremarkable, although we were using Livingstone more as a stopover than as a destination in its own right."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Absolutely fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2017
"As far as we were concerned, Tafika and its sister camps are about as perfect a safari experience as it is possible to get.

The location is fantastic, the guiding is great and no importance is placed on superfluous luxuries.

Given the remoteness of the location, the quality and quantity of the food is quite extraordinary.

Try the mountain biking!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Tremendous"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"We were spoilt in that we were the only people there, so I believe we had 8 people in total looking after us between the walking safari and the lodge itself.

It is very much as described in the brochure - remote, walk in & walk out, tiny (maximum 6 people) and with limited things to do in the evening.

Seeing as you get up at 5am, this is not a big drawback!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Room with a view"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2017
"Difficult to pick a winner between Chikoko and Crocodile, and many people visit both.

With your first floor bedroom opening directly into the bush (just a bar there to avoid you falling out!), you may like us have the odd sensation of hearing an unidentified animal grazing outside on a moonless night and be completely unable to determine what it is.

The cook at Chikoko makes everything in a hole in the ground wood oven"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"As far as we were concerned, Tafika and its sister camps are about as perfect a safari experience as it is possible to get.

The location is fantastic, the guiding is great and no importance is placed on superfluous luxuries.
Given the remoteness of the location, the quality and quantity of the food is quite extraordinary. Try the mountain biking!

On a memorable last afternoon, 5 elephants sauntered around the camp for half an hour or so. Fortunately there was no one in the hammock at the time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Fantastic trip - thoroughly enjoyed by all

Namibia between 9 Jul 2008 and 25 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"We (2 adults, children 11 and 10) had a great time. We had been to Namibia in 1995 and found it really quite unchanged for the most part. Highlights were Etendeka, the dunes at Sossussvlei, the kayaking trip with the seals at Walvis Bay with Jeanne Meintjes and some of our sightings in Etosha, including 8 lions and a cheetah. By the end of the holiday we were already making lists of places we would go to next time (Northern Damaraland, Caprivi Strip etc)

We would rate Namibia as a great first time destination in Africa for those who are allergic to package tourism and want to be independent, and don't mind a bit of driving (we did just less than 2000 miles in 15 days, which I would guess is not unrepresentative)"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Small, friendly and hospitable"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"Very friendly and hospitable owner; impressed with the layout of the family room. Can't comment much on food as only ate breakfast there."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Friendly and informal - our type of place"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"We really enjoyed it here; the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the situation inside the park is a big bonus as it allows you down to the dunes either early or late (we did an afternoon / evening trip to Dead Vlei and had the whole place to ourselves, which was just fabulous, and the light for photography is as good at sunset as at sunrise). Trip cost from the lodge to Sossussvlei is very good value given the cost of the shuttle transfer if you don't do the last 5km by your own 4WD (or on foot!)

We liked the hot water bottles - it was very windy when we were there and the rondavels certainly sounded like they were being blown about, but remained intact.

If there was anything to suggest as an improvement, it would be to provide a little bit more information in the rooms about what was available in the way of trips. Food was generally good but on occasion seemed to be trying slightly too hard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Guesthouse Indongo, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Good transit stop in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2008
"Since most people's first wish on reaching Swakop is to cleanse themselves of the dust and sand accumulated on their journey, and their next wish is to indulge in various activities to re-cover themselves in dust and sand, good ablutions facilities are critical to your choice of hotel. Guesthouse Indongo scores well on this point, and was generally pleasant - quiet, clean, good family room.

Certain of your previous correspondents have marked it down, in my view, quite harshly, as it is not setting out to compare itself with many of the other Namibian lodges. It's essentially a small town hotel, which we had pretty much to ourselves. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and seemed to do just about everything.

Minor quibble about the food, the breakfast was a bit uninspiring and some of the fruit in the fruit bowl was in less than pristine condition."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Hard to fault, but hard to enthuse about"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2008
"We probably didn't get the best out of Doro Nawas as we only spent one night there. It was very polished and professional - possibly just a bit too much so for our liking. It seemed a much bigger place than anywhere we had stayed hitherto on the trip, and everything seemed like it was available for a price - nothing was free (contrast Etendeka Mountain Lodge). Specifically, to be informed you couldn't drink the water from the tap but not to have any bottled water freely available in your room just seems a bit un-Namibian!

The pool area was small given the number of guests it can accommodate and the game drive seemed pricey."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Fabulous experience - unforgettable"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"We loved Etendeka (all 4 of us, including our children aged 11 and 10 who really didn't want to leave). It is a fantastic place in a fantastic part of the country. The simple comfort of the tents, the excellence and homeliness of the food, the outstanding quality of the guiding by Bonny and Dennis. There is nothing else to add - it is one of the most memorable places we have stayed anywhere in Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Much smarter than 13 years ago!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"In Etosha the first choice is whether you stay in the park or not. We think that staying in the park is the right way to go as it cuts down on the amount of driving you do each day to get in there and you have the signfiicant advantage of the night time game viewing at the waterholes at the ldoegs (when we came back from dinner the first night we stayed there were more than 30 elephants and 3 rhinos at the Okaukuejo waterhole!)

The revamped lodge rooms are much smarter than they were and of a good standard, if a bit cramped. The food is a bit canteen like and outside of the canteen there is little in the way of self-catering faiclities in the rooms."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Better room than Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"As for Okaukuejo - if you decide to stay in Eotsha, then you stay in the three rest camps or nowhere. The family room we had here was better than the two adjoining doubles we had in Okaukuejo and the self catering faciltiies were better - albeit still at the kettle and fridge only level.

It is a smaller place than the other two camps and less affected by tour buses and overland trucks. However, there is a slight paucity of good waterholes nearby"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Good place for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"We liked it here - it was stopover en route to the airport and we got the impression many of the other guests were using it as a stopover at the beginning of their trips - en route to Etosha. Large percentage of German guests and a German manager, but he was extremely good - understood exactly where we were at (long drive from Namutoni after morning in Etosha = tired and dirty!).

Form the sound of it, the game drive would have been good if we'd had the time to go on it.

Friendly staff and very good food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team