This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs N from Hexham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful holiday in Namibia

Namibia between 27 Aug 2009 and 4 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved Namibia. The people, animals, landscape etc. After our tour fell through with Jules Verne we were a bit apprehensive but you were so helpful and reassuring and we felt that we could manage the Self Drive. [Ed: these travellers booked a trip to Africa with a tour operator, which fell through. Then they came to us, to help them swiftly create a trip!]

We found some of the gravel roads in the Namib/Naukluft area poor - particularly the D854 where we had a puncture. Hot and heavy work changing the wheel but we managed it. Puncture No 2 outside Walvis Bay was changed rapidly by a farmer and his son. We should have liked longer but our main holiday was in the Cape. We liked the feeling of frienliness and confidence in the people which must come with their independence. Enjoyed doing our own thing particularly in Etosha - 3 nights wqs just right."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Magical Desert Stat at Sossus Dune Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2009
"Liked the position of the Lodge in the Park and raised walkways and the rondavels on stilts. Lovely pool.

Particularly liked our Herero gude who was very knowledgeable. Got us to a dune overlooking Dead Vlei for sunrise. Good breakfast set out for us beside Sossus Vlei."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"B and B in Colonial House in Swakopmund"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"Very good large comfortable room in older Colonial house made our stay more interesting.

Receptionist very helpful and rang Dunlop Tyres Out of Hours service so we could buy 2 new tyres, Also advised on restaurants. Liked the decor."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole Chalet in Okaukuejo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2009
"The position of our Chalet was excellent - so close to the Waterhole. Arrived to find 6 bull elephants at the waterhole - later black rhino with calf, giraffes. springboks, oryx, more elephants and jackals. We were amazed at how many animals came to the waterhole in the morning - lots of zebra and springbok - also kudu and oryx.

We found the food pretty average and the main courses poor apart from good steaks. Vegetables overcooked.

We did not like the way our postcards were sorted in the PO into countries and left exposed to the public.

We did one night drive which was good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Rest Camp"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"Bush Chalet good. Loved the waterhole. Lovely position below the koppie.

Saw herd of elephants twice.

Tourist shop much better than Okaukuejo and food better. Smaller made it more friendly."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Bush Lodge in Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2009
"Upgraded form Main Camp to Bush Lodge. Could have stayed 2 or 3 nights here.

First class service and excellent food in beautiful surroundings. Can see why people go to private game parks. Saw a leopard and 6 cheetahs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2009
"Not sold on the cement fittings in our room but very comfortable bed and good dinner.

Glad we did not have to go out for a meal as a bit of a shock returning to the city and we had an early start the next day.

Receptionist insisted on the night security guard delivering us breakfast at 0545. The day guard washed and valeted our car for N$60. Budget had said we would have had to pay N$380 if the car was very dirty which it was."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team