This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp


1°24’44.2"S 35°24’16.8"E

Reviews of Ol Kinyei Adventure

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ol Kinyei Adventure and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ol Kinyei Adventure.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs G
Bucks

"Stunning safari, near Maasai Mara, quiet"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"Amazing safari, watching baby lions, cheetah family playing, lions feeding with hyena, vultures and jackals taking over, awesome crossing of zebras and wilderbeest at river, with crocs taking animals and lion making a kill just beyond the river.

Wonderful sundowners, one whilst surrounded by 12 lions sleeping. Conservancy nice and quiet. Felt exclusive." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Wow - the game drives around Ol Kinyei were amazing. I think we had seen everything but rhinos within the first 24 hours at the camp. Watching the pride of 10-12 lions and the cheetah mom and cubs was really special.

Very similar to Selenkay, but we did like the solar lights hanging in our tents every evening when we came back from dinner (Selenkay should add this.) It was also shadier, so we weren't as hot in the tents napping during the day. We appreciated the buckets, soap and drying lines for laundry. The water pressure in the showers was also a little slower, so our showers lasted a little longer!

Nice big meal tent with charging table and assorted magazines and guides to read. We took full advantage of those. Meals were very good.

It was a busier camp than Selenkay with more guests coming and going, so the staff was busy. We didn't feel as connected to them as we did to the Selenkay staff. We did enjoy our time with them, but just felt like we didn't get to know them as well. However, the service, game drives, etc were all excellent.

One thing missing from Ol Kinyei - there was no village visit and no beading or anything available to buy from nearby villages. This was not a problem - just something to be aware of when planning what to buy where." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs J.
Colchester

"Spoilt for life by our Ol Kinyei Safari!"

3 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2018
"This was the highlight of our trip. Brendan and I have done many safaris, including Kruger Park and this is top by far. The whole Conservancy experience was great - excellent game viewing and so much better for the feeling that it was being done with the blessing of the local people. The visit to the local village was a really genuine experience. The day in Masai Mara was a huge contrast - 22 vehicles around 1 leopard, but it was lovely to see the Mara river again and we did see a lot, although we missed the plains game of the Conservancy. We all felt we would have been disappointed with the amount of general animals had we stayed in the Mara.
The camping experience was great fun and suited us much better than a more luxurious one would have done, to us it fitted much more comfortably with the environment and with our hosts. The tents were comfortable and the shower system worked well. The askaris did a good job of chasing the elephants away at night!!
The camp staff were amazing, and our two guides, Ben and Geoffrey were excellent at finding the animals and birds and telling us everything we could possibly want to know about them. The vehicles were the best we saw anywhere and they were very happy to put us in two rather than be crowded in 1 vehicle. Our breakfast on the way to Masai Mara felt like a real "Out of Africa" experience!" See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J
Ridgewood

"Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2018
"It's a great camp and a great value. Everyone there felt that they had booked the right way - the beds were very comfortable, they had hot showers and the food was FANTASTIC. You really got the sense that you were getting the best of the other Ol Kinyei lodges but at a much better value.

I am tempted to withhold that feedback because I don't want the word to get out about how great this was, but Olivia had mentioned all this in her recommendation and was very much proven right.

The best part was having a private reserve to see wildlife without so many other cars." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Dario
Richmond

"Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2017
"Ol Kinyei was our first experience of the Mara: it was great all along. A minute after we landed (the airstrip is already an experience if you never landed on one) we were taken to see a cheetah that had been spotted a few minutes before by another car. That was a great start!

The camp was very nice, tucked away by the bend of a stream, a few tents scattered around with minimal impact on the surrounding environment. The camp manager gave us a tour and a talk and was very helpful with everything. Our guides were great, knowledgeable, just very nice people all round. The food was great too and again they catered to the 2 of us that were 'grass-eaters'.

The drives were always different and fascinating; the night drive was also a first for us and we saw animals we would only see at night so again something completely new. And -cherry on the cake- we had a resident female-hippo that came to graze every night by our tent - but very discreet! Top marks all round." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Cape Town

"Fantastic wildlife experiences at Ol Kinyei"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"The wildlife we saw while at Ol Kinyei was truly spectacular - too much to list, but suffice to say even for us reasonably experienced safari-goers, we were blown away. The highlight was two night drives, both times finding ourselves in the middle of a pride of lions on the hunt!

The camp was beautifully situated and comfortable, the staff friendly and service great.

Would be good if there was some way the tent area could be configured to give a bit more privacy to the individual tents." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sarah
Arizona

"Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2015
"Staying at Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp was a great adventure. We slept comfortably in sleeping bags with high density foam pads on the floor of our tent. Our tent had a toilet/shower room just steps away from our tent which was adequate for us.

The staff were very friendly and the guiding quite good during our stay.

Food was buffet style with good quality fare." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Ol Kinyei Adventure by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa