This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 91-100 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Dr L
Cheshire

"Great centre for gorilla trekking"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2011
"The lodge was lovely with bungalows for each couple. A fire was lit in your bungalow every evening and hot water bottles were brought after dinner (but often not before you'd gone to sleep).

The service of the bungalow was poor and not up to the standard we expected (glasses not washed, bottled water not provided, etc)

The Lodge was well located for golden monkey and gorilla trekking from the National Park Centre being only 20 minutes distant by car.
The days trekking were excellent and we had great encounters with the gorillas. Each day we went to a different group of gorillas. One day they were moving around and feeding and the second day they were resting and playing. Each day was highly memorable.

Our driver/guide, Augustine, was excellent in ensuring that we got on good treks and then finding interesting activities for us to do in the afternoons, eg travelling north to see the Burera and Ruhondo Lakes, visiting the Iby' Iwacu Cultural Village and the local daily market." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J
Surrey

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"Overall the Gorilla Lodge was very good the staff always helpful. accommodationwas very good.

There was one slight problem for the first day was the length of time the breakfast course took, especially the leaving time of 6.30am, however as soon as they introduced the buffet style breakfast the problem was over come.

Not sure where to include this but Kamanzi Aloys [Ed: our guide for this traveller] was excellent.

" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Oxon

"Fantastic stay at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2010
"We loved every minute at the lodge. The views were amazing. All staff were always happy, very friendly and helpful. The room was great - nice decor, large and clean. Due to the location we weren't expecting to have hot water any time of day but we did.

The food was good. Our only comment was it would have been nice to be given the option to try some local dishes. Our boots came back from cleaning after treks cleaner than when we had arrived. The children who came to do local dancing in the evening were very entertaining.

In a nut shell we couldn't fault anything with the lodge and would certainly go back again in the future.

Concerning the private guide that we organised for these travellers, they commented:

Guide in Rwanda - Johnson - an amazing person and guide

We can't praise Johnson enough. He was a fantastic guide. In the short time we were in Rwanda he gave us an amazing insight into the country, its people, history, culture and wildlife. He is a very knowledgeable and caring person.

Any requests we had he went out of his way to deliver.

We were sad to say goodbye and feel we have gained a new friend. We intend to travel back to Rwanda to see more of the country in the future and will definitely request Johnson as our guide." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr W
Spain

"Lovely located base for wonderful tracking"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2010
""Excellent" because of the tracking activities. I'd say "good" for the lodge itself. Room and bathroom extremely spacious and clean with comfortable bed and nice furniture. Limited times with electricity but normal in many lodges. Nice, and perhaps necessary, idea of log fire in rooms at night and a hot water bottle in the bed. The problem was that sometimes they forgot to light the fire or it was left to go our later and hot water bottles sometimes leaked. After hearing tales in the dining room of rebellious hot water bottles, one checked one's own carefully every night. Extensive grounds and lovely setting. Could be clearer indications, for example, to get to the dining room at night as we got lost when we first arrived. A very helpful young worker came up to help us, but there was no common language, so, in spite of our wonderful eating mime, he kept looking at our keys and pointing us back towards our rooms!
The food again, considering the standard of the lodge, was not great. The breakfast with its buffet and freshly made omelettes again fine.
Food was overcooked or made earlier and reheated.
The activities of tracking, as expected, were wonderful. The golden monkeys, as you probably know, is an "easy" hike. The first gorilla trek was quite hard because of the climb and the distance but the pace was not fast and the second one was easy because the gorilla group was near and the pace set by the people was slow. Our driver was good in that he negotiated the groups we were in with the guides etc. as I'd told him I was a bit fearful of being in a group of young fit people etc. Apart from the huge emotion of seeing the gorillas again, we again had a very memorable unexpected experience. For the second trek, our driver suddenly pulled us out of a group and, accompanied by the man in charge there, we were put into a group of Rwandans! The lady there introduced herself as Rose, the Speaker in the Rwandan Parliament. She was so friendly and unassuming. Little by little we discovered the other people included her daughter, a young man who was head of protocol in Parliament, and the head of security. There's always an armed soldier accompanying the trek in case of buffalo but this time there were three! She explained that Rwandans don't understand the interest foreigners have in animals. She didn't explain why she was there as she and her daughter didn't seem that interested in the gorillas and were in fact quite noisy. Anyway, it was interesting talking to her and she invited us to her hotel for lunch - we went straight from the trek all dusty and dishevelled but we were in a room just with her, her daughter and the head of protocol and was able to get some interesting information. She'd been a lawyer for women's rights. On the way back from the trek, in her honour we were taken to a village where they had a king's palace and compound and they put on a show with Intore dancers. Darrell was dressed up as king, and because Rose declined to be queen, I was dressed up as queen. All this was another highlight.
Seeing some less professional Intore dancers at the lodge was nice, especially knowing they were from the local village.
We went to lakes Burera and Ruhondo and I was able to revisit Virunga Lodge (where I'd stayed in 2006), now gone very upmarket and having lost some of the earthy touch, especially the bag showers and the eco loos which you threw ash into instead of flushing! There it was very nice, too, as our driver arranged for us to give local children the pens and notebooks Darrell had taken (he just called down into the valley where the village was and the children were up in no time).Seeing their faces on getting the stuff was great.
In Kigali, we had a tour of the town including the main avenues, new residential areas, a handicraft market, we spent some time in the Genocide Memorial, and we wanted to have a look at the Hotel des Milles Collines, where the story of the film "Hotel Rwanda" took place and where I'd had lunch on my last visit. It's also been refurbished.

Food seemed overcooked or just reheated. Drinks, even water, expensive, as were the postcards, shop etc, but we were given a small bottle of water free every day in our rooms.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Aberd

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2010
"The lodge was really exquisite, felt lovely to stay somewhere that was not a hotel and you really get the feel for being away from the crowds, the staff were faultless and always smiling, Gilbert one of the waiters was always grinning like a cheshire cat. Was great to see someone so happy to be at their work.

I understand this lodge will shortly be connected to mains electricity.

The spacious lodges were well spread out and the rooms very spacious as well as comfortable, was a nice touch to have a fire going in the room in the evening and hot water bottles in the bed." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Middlesex

"Wonderful views, great food and staff"

4 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2010
"The staff were warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. The food was plentiful and varied. Great views and lovely surroundings. The cottages were large and comfortable. We had a fire and hot water bottles each evening, plus hot towels, boots cleaned and ginger tea on the verandah after trekking.

The lodge was decorated in a traditional, interesting way. We had good access to hot water and light with the generator (small comment: it would have been good to have had towels dried as they stayed damp with the climate). We really enjoyed the dancing by a group of local children arranged by the hotel.

Overall, we had a wonderful time here." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Notts

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2010
"Great log fires and fabulous views." See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms W
USA

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2009
"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge was comfortable, clean with great surroundings for birding. Victor the kitchen manager was a great birding resource and was a great bird guide our last morning there.

Rwanda

Extremely friendly people, very clean country and quite frankly felt as safe as I do at home. Primate Safaris and Eric our guide was prompt, professional and provided us a wonderful drive from Kigali to our lodge and return.

Two days of gorilla trekking more than made up for this missed golden monkey day. Visited Umubano and Sabyinyo groups with relatively easy hikes and good weather. Very inspiring event that had Pam in tears as she has wanted to have this experience since middle school and thought extinction due to man's conflicts would eliminate any chance. Saw 9 of the first goup and 7 of the latter including Guhonda the largest of Rwanda's silverbacks and a baby in each group.


" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms K party
Herts

"Great base for gorilla tracking"

4 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"Lovely rooms in a great setting looking out onto the volcanoes. Great showers and lovely log fires which were lit and checked by the very attentive staff in the evenings. Very welcome after trekking! The central restaurant/bar was not open when we stayed, they are currently using one of the rooms as a makeshift restaurant, which was fine, although it lacked a little atmosphere. When the new facility is open in October, it is going to be fantastic. Staff were wonderful, very helpful and always smiling!

Our only negative comment would be the price of drinks, which came as a bit of a shock. Over $300 for 3 of us for 4 nights. We had soft drinks at lunchtime, a glass of wine/gin and tonic at night and plenty of water... One night we did have a bottle of wine, which I think we paid over the odds for having been told it would be $17.50. We understand that some drinks are imported, but this far outweighed what we paid elsewhere. Hopefully, once their new restaurant/bar is open, they will have menus and price lists on display to avoid future problems.

Overall all though, great place and you cannot fault the location. Close to the park HQ (15 mins)." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
C family
Shrewsbury

"Comfortable and friendly hotel"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Friendly staff - as everywhere in Rwanda.

Rooms are huge, if a little characterless, but fires, hot water bottles and tea/coffee in rooms was much appreciated. Hotel will be much improved when the central bar/restaurant is finished. Relatively close to the park headquarters. Beautiful situation.

Food was delicious - best we had in Rwanda, and the chef deserves to be able to do his work in a permanent kitechen and dining room." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 4n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 91-100 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa