This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Haslemere

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

2 great weeks in Namibia - Oct 2013

Namibia and 2 other countries between 12 Oct 2013 and 5 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was as a whole was excellent. The Namibian 2 weeks went much more smoothly than I personally had anticipated for an African self-drive holiday. We booked 18 months in advance, so with Sabina's guidance were able to pick the lodges which seemed to suit us best, and we knew ahead of the trip which were likely to be the best and worst. Sabina put up with a massive number of email questions over the preceding year, and I can only congratulate her on staying cool, calm and collected, and answering my constant questions accurately, in detail, and with good humour!

We relied on Chris McIntyre's Bradt Guide to Namibia as our 'Bible' during our 2 weeks. It is packed with almost all the detailed information that anyone could want to know about everywhere in Namibia, with very few updates needed. We only had to pay National Park fees for Etosha, not for the Namib Naukluft Park nor the Skeleton Coast Park. We also didn't have to pay taxes for entry to & departure from Mozambique! The information given re the left luggage facility at JHB OR airport was incorrect. They charge ZAR70 per case per day, and have apparently never ever accepted credit cards. Fortunately we had ZAR980 in cash that this cost us.

Being in an air-conditioned car in Namibia we didn't need to drink anything like the recommended quantity of water, and found the garages we filled up at usually had enough food/sandwiches to keep us going, so we didn't buy extra food.

We did have a hick-up on flights a week before we left UK, but Chris and Sabina managed to fix this to our advantage!

We were delighted that we had gone clockwise round Namibia, ending up with the highlights of Etosha and the Africat Foundation at the end. We met a number of couples who had gone round anti-clockwise, and were disappointed by the relative lack of game after they left Etosha.

Our week in Bazaruto could have been marred as all the other couples at Bazaruto Lodge on our arrival left after 2 days, and the whole hotel was taken over by 64 S. African marlin fisherman for their 21st annual Marlin Fishing competition! However when we booked they hadn't, but as they have used the same hotel at the same time of year for the last 20 years Expert Africa should have been warned beforehand by the Pestano Group Central Reservations team. The Manager,Tony, was quite embarrassed, but it didn't spoil our stay there. What was disappointing was the cloud cover and rain, which almost ruled out snorkelling - our main reason for going there!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

"Heinitzburg Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"Very comfortable room with all facilities. Staff very helpful, food very good, but a bit chilly eating dinner on their terrace! Convenient location on Luxury Hill, and easy to get to from the airport.

Only 10 min walk to the Government run Craft market where we browsed the stalls with no haggling and pressure to buy - much easier to buy local Namibian made artefacts here than at other stalls on our journey round the country. Surprisingly though, no tea towels!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Disappointed at Bagatelle Game Ranch"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2013
"We had 1 night in a Dune chalet and 1 in a Straw Bale chalet. Dune chalets have a bath, are more expensive and give views over their not very impressive waterhole. But BEWARE - you need a 4 wheel drive car to get up to them. With a 2 wheel drive Nissan we got stuck in the sand, and had to be towed out! In the day the lack of wall insulation, and inefficiency of the air con unit in the Dune chalet made it feel as if we were literally in an oven - definitely NOT to be recommended, whereas we were quite comfortable in the straw bale chalet, all of which are closer to the Lodge reception.

Excellent early morning game tour - we saw a lot, though no Meercats! Also good sundowner tour. They have 3 orphaned cheetahs there, and we went on a short evening feeding tour into their enclosure, but it lacked the feel of the wild.

Good food, specialising in springbok, oryx and kudu. They even have a "tame" springbok, oryx and pheasant wandering around. Nice pool and pool bar.

Bad management - the owner/manager took no interest in his guests at all, never once greeting us or other guests, or asking if we were enjoying our stay. Would not return."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Excellent management at Hoodia"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"Thomas, the owner, greeted all guests very warmly, helped serve wine at dinner, and gave us a free cool box and water for our Sossusvlei tour, and suggested which dunes to climb. All the staff were well trained and helpful .FULL MARKS!

Stunning location with mountains all around, Hoodia was ideally situated for tours to Sesriem and Sossusvlei. Charming, comfortable stone wall chalets with amazing huge outside bath & shower. A nice pool area, tho' when it's windy the parasols can blow over, but there is a lower shaded deck.

Very well run by Thomas and his wife!! Would definitely return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Conveniently located Cornerstone Guesathouse"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"A very friendly guest house conveniently located at the South of Swapokmund town. Also close to the main shopping area and restaurants on the sea side. B&B only, but a very good breakfast, and very helpful owner and staff.

We had no problem parking on their premises tho' there are a limited number of places."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Kipwe, an amazing Lodge amongst the boulders"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"An amazing lodge built amongst rock boulders. It must have taken some imagination to create this!

Rooms were spacious, with loo and shower open to the stars, but our loo was only separated from the adjoining room's loo by a low wall! Fortunately we didn't use it at the same time as our neighbours! Their rock pool was really cold, though I did have a quick splash!

A very good sundowner just above the lodge with drinks brought to us by the staff. Our highlight here was an early morning tour (4 hours!) to find a herd of 10 desert elephants, including young. Very rewarding."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Great kayaking amongst flamingoes & seals"

20 Oct 2013 • Morning excursion

Very well organised by Jeanne. She drove a group of 9 of us with a trailer of kayaks right out to Pelican Point. A long drive, and it was still cold when we got there.

But Jeanne was very well equipped with fleeces, oilskins, lifejackets and even flat soled shoes! So the special trainers I had brought with me were totally superfluous! Pity as they had taken up unnecessary space in my case! NB Sabina!!

Jeanne also took some great photos and videos of all of us which we received later that day by email.

Very professionally run.
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Great safaris at Etendeka"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Denis was another excellent owner/manager who ate with us and made everyone feel welcome. We had a fireside drink, all on the house, and met the other guests. Fascinating real bucket showers outside our tents, but they worked well, with the water heated by solar panels. Being so high it was really cold at night, even under a duvet and blankets!

Saw a lot of game on the game drives, including rhino - in the distance - and had an excellent bush walk with Bonnie who taught us the difference between the spoor of the different species of game who had crossed our path.

Amazingly good internet connection, though we really were miles from any civilization!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Better than expected at Okaukuejo"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"We had a waterhole chalet, and used it to advantage, even going out to look at the waterhole in the middle of the night, seeing both rhino & herds of elephant, as well as many other game species. Though some aspects were below par, it is a definite must in terms of a 2 night stay.

Though it is a self-service restaurant, service was very poor, with almost no attention given to us once we'd been seated. However the food was better than we'd expected. Wine was half the price we found elsewhere - only N$70 for a bottle of Rosé.

Rooms were good and comfortable and included a fridge, which many other private lodges did not have.
The pool filtering system was either switched off or wasn't working, so the water surface wasn't pleasant. Also there were insufficient loungers for those that wanted to sunbathe, which after a long drive we certainly wanted to do."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Relaxing 2 days at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2013
"Beautifully located just outside Etosha's Eastern Gate. It had its own waterhole, swimming pool and viewing platform, and a nice garden. An excellent lodge to relax at after Southern Namibia and Etosha. Food was a bit below par, though the service was excellent, but the same bottle of wine that we had had at Okaukeujo was double the price - N$140!

The evening trail drive is to be recommended as we saw a number of species of nocturnal game that we wouldn't otherwise have seen.

However in trying to reconfirm our flights from Windhoek, the manager didn't know how our laptop could link up with his own group network. Not very helpful!!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Upgraded to Okonjima Bush Camp - great!"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"On arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Camp, so all comments relate to that. The rooms were fabulous, partly walled and part open with roller blinds. A nice seating area to one side of the bed at a slightly lower level, and good shower, basin etc. facilities.

The food was the best we had in Namibia, both in terms of quality and quantity, and David, the manager could not have been more helpful, reconfirming our flights with no problem at all.

2 excellent game day drives to find leopard and then cheetah. And a fascinating evening drive to see porcupines and honey badgers. All very successful. A great stay. If time had allowed we'd certainly have stayed another night and relaxed a bit more! We had a tiny water hole outside the room and bird seed provided - we were soon feeding hornbills, helmeted guinea fowl, sparrows, weaver birds and more!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Convenient night at City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"Located in the airport buildings it saved a lot of hassle not having to leave the airport. But signage to the lift for the hotel was not good from either Terminal, and it was a much longer walk than we had anticipated. The room had all mod cons. good bathroom, no aircraft noise, and was excellent for a brief overnight stay.

A good English breakfast in the morning!

We left some baggage in the basement Left Luggage area of the Airport, but were horrified to find that they ONLY accept cash, not credit or debit cards. Each bag costs ZAR70 per day, so for 7 days we had to pay ZAR 980 IN CASH!! No negotiation!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

"Good service at Bazaruto Lodge"

6 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2013
"The beach side chalets gave a good view of the sea when the tide was in, or c.1km of sand when it was out! Very comfortable, good mosquito netting, good hanging area for clothes, room safe, LARGE bath, and large outside shower area where we could also wash and dry some clothes. Staff very attentive, even doing some sewing for us.

The pool, though large, wasn't very inviting, so we didn't swim in it. A nice bar area with an old dug-out canoe suspended over it. Good big dining room, with very attentive staff, even though it was self service. After 6 days the food started to become a bit predictable, but it was always good.

Tony, the Manager, was very helpful and organised a lot for us. He made our stay very enjoyable, even though the hotel had been taken over by 64 S. African marlin fishermen during our stay!! We were unlucky with the weather - windy and cloudy for 4 days running so little snorkeling. Interesting bird life on the island and on the beach when the tide was out."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team