This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Goshawks from Merseyside

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

Great experience of remoter Namibia

Namibia between 24 May 2008 and 10 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic despite travelliing for 16 days without our bags.

All the Lodge Managers were very helpful and we did not have to burden ourselves with the admin of this problem.

Suggestions for improvement:

Keep up the good work!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2008
"A delightful place for our first night and we wished we had a second night.

The immediate environment was fascinating and we enjoyed the individualist craftsmanship and care that had gone into the making of the Lodge and its environment.

Our hosts looked after us well with personal attention. Timings of meals were flexible which suited us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2008
"A stunning location. The manager was exceptionally helpful.

As well as the main activities of rock art and desert elephants we enjoyed the interesting local self-guided walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2008
"The wildlife tours were interesting but involved too much time driving (6-7 hours with little stops).

The team spirit of the staff was great and we enjoyed their singing and the special surprise dinner in the kraal in candle light.

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about the desert elephants and their locational habits."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Skeleton Coast Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Skeleton Coast Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2008
"A very special experience - the highlight of our holiday. The desolate but beautiful area containing an astonishing range of fascinating aspects - geology, flora and fauna.

Although there had been a devastating fire destroying all the old communal area the staff team ensured that our visit and experience were in no way impaired.

Although the days were long the driving was broken by many points of great interest and opportunities to walk around and take in the atmosphere and many photos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Serra Cafema review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2008
"A very special place - it seemed somewhat surrealistic to have such comfort and care in one of the remotest places in Namibia.

We enjoyed our time on the river and were heartened by the sensitive and special relationship the Lodge had with the local Himba families"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"Gocheganas Wellness Village review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2008
"A very good place to wind down before out flight home."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Great and unusual holiday

Namibia between 1 Jun 2007 and 20 Jun 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa proved very reliable advisers on what to do and see in a country that was new and unknown to us."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Warm, personal welcome made good start to hol"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2007
"Personal touch and good library of books on Namibia enhanced our stay.

Enjoyed pleasant room on top of dunes.

Amused by collection of non fully wild animals."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Great experience of desert life"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2007
"It does what it says in the brochure.

The cold in evening was more extreme than anticipated - take extra warm jacket!

Scenery was stunning.

Our guide an enthusiastic and very curious interpreter.

Plenty of fruit and veg made the food good.

Care at the camp site (inc hot water bottles) was very welcome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Prime position for experiencing dunes"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2007
"Warm welcome but over elaborate intro to comply with company rules.

Main areas pleasant but food , although good in patrs, did not live up to brochure.

Local walks interesting but very limited. Trip to dunes very well done."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Good base for Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2007
"Amazing rooms with fascinating attention to detailed use of materials.

Breakfast cheery.

Recommendation to eat at the Tug led to the best meal we had in Namibia"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Action packed experience of game conservation"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2007
"Lovely relaxing garden.

Programme arranged to maximise opportunities of game viewing.

Sensitive arrangement of seating at meals made it pleasant and interesting socially."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Good stopover with wonderful viewing platform"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2007
"Good dinner.

Very well equipped and high standard accommodation.

Helpful manager

Direction to pleasant local walk"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

TUCSIN Tsumkwe Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Deep and wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2007
"Arno really knows his stuff and is quite remarkable in so many ways. We were given a good intro to life of bushmen and how modern civilisation is affecting them - views of time and space need rethinking!

Visit to Khadoum Game Reserve a very special and memorable experience.

Facilities at camp much better than expected.

Whilst we loved every minute of it the caution in brochure is very appropriate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

"Stuunning, unusual scenery"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2007
"Good walks and sociable dining arrangements"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team