This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mr B from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2014 trip

Zambia between 3 Aug 2014 and 15 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"One our best African safari experiences.The lodges were all excellent, the guides outstanding and the logistical arrangements were handled to perfection.

Well done and thank you to all concerned.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just keep doing a wonderful job.
Especial thanks to Megan for outstanding, friendly service."

Arranged By Megan Green


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"This was the first of three Robin Pope Safari camps visited on our trip. It's a beautiful riverside location with masses of hippos, sacred ibis and noisy hadeda ibis.

Comfortable accomodation very enjoyable food.The staff were friendly and our extremely knowledgeable guide, Fred, responded to our interest in birds by helping to spot no less than 50 different types on the first morning. Further delights followed that day -- a large troop of baboons with very small babies passing close to the dining area, two sightings of leopard, a large herd of elephant and in the evening the rare sight of two white-tailed mongoose mating.

We were well pleased with our short stay at Nkwali."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2014
"En route from Nkwali to Nsefu camp for our three night stay we saw a profusion of birds including a flock of Lilians's lovebird and some knob-billed(comb) ducks in flight. Also large groups of zebra, elephant and giraffe and three lionesses with a cub. On arrival we were greeted, at the reception area, by an elephant with a small infant which then moved towards our rondavel making us wait nearly an hour before being able to enter-- what a welcome!

Nsefu is a stunning location with the meandering river below and a small lagoon beside the bar area where one can see a regular parade of animals,small and large, at close quarters. The rondavels are snug but well appointed and the standard of food and service was excellent.

Our guide Thomas was attentive, informative and very personable. At our request we visited the salt springs, a marshy, savannah-like terrain served by a mineral spring which is home to masses of birds, particularly saddle-billed storks (over100),crowned cranes,francolin,ibis and circling vultures.Nearby a herd of over 500 buffalo completed the perfect scene.

One day at sunset we watched a leopard stalk and kill an impala only to be deprived of its prey by a marauding hyena. Our high expectations of Nsefu were more than fulfilled."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2014
"Having visited Nkwali & Nsefu this camp offered comparably excellent facilities and service but lacked the feeling of close proximity to the river.The surrounding area however provided many attractions, especially the lagoon: over three dozen African spoonbills moving in a straight line methodically siphoning up their food and over 100 saddle-billed storks in a tight cluster.

Elsewhere we witnessed engrossing animal behaviour: four juvenile giraffes bashing each other's necks and heads together in play fighting and a female baboon pursued by a male with clinging baby which was being used as a 'protective shield' against the threats of another competing male"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"After seven delightful days in South Luangwa, Old Mondoro promised the added attraction of game viewing by boat. Sunsetsand sundowners on the Zambezi were magical.

It has an authentic,remote bushcamp feel coupled with comfortable, well appointed reed/canvas walled riverside chalets. Food was excellent and varied and the service was outstanding. Staffing levels were generous, enabling it to offer a flexible agenda of activities tailored to the interests of clients. Our guides were very knowledgeable and responsive to our interest in birds and flora as well as game.

We successfully added to our already lengthy list of recent sightings of lion, leopard buffalo elephant, antelope and birds. Addtional treats included three fish eagles picking out catfish from a drying waterhole, followed later by a leopard on a similar but unsuccessful quest and night drive sightings of honey badgers,porcupines,striped jackals, civets and wonder of wonders, even a pangolin.

Old Mondoro certainly lived up to its reputation"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A memorable trip exceeding expectations

Tanzania between 5 Jul 2011 and 17 Jul 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall the trip exceeded expectations and was a memorable experience.All internal flights and transfers worked like clockwork.The camps were excellent , with one exception, and all the local staff were excellent to outstanding.

Our thanks to Expert Africa( especially Claire Scott) and Asilia for an outstanding service.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Well done and thanks"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Excellent camp with helpful staff"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2011
"A conveniently located camp, for quick access to the Crater, in pleasant surroundings.

The staff were helpful, efficient, and welcoming"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Wonderful location ,poor facilities"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2011
"A wonderful location with an extensive vista across the surrounding countryside which teemed with a wide variety of animals and birds.

The crowds and traffic jams of the central Serengeti were left behind enabling us to enjoy the solitude of the wilderness with the help of a knowledgeable and helpful guide.

Unfortunately the experience was marred by poor bathroom facilities and a camp vehicle which was unsuited to comfortable game viewing"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

"Beautiful setting and excellent service"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"The camp is in a beautiful setting and has the usual reliable, excellent @beyond standards,h owever the insistence on separate rather than communal dining arrangements is not to our taste.

The visit provided three highlights of our trip to the Serengeti......the black and white colobus monkey, a herd of common eland and a confrontation between an elephant and a group of hippos"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Outstanding camp and memorable experience"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2011
"Sayari Mara Camp provides a genuine 5 Star experience: a magical location,an excellently appointed camp, reliable facilities, outstanding catering and exemplary service.

If that wasn't enough, the migration had arrived and we witnessed two crossings of the Mara.The big cats also put on a special show, two lions mating, a leopard in a tree with its kill and three cheetahs stalking and then devouring their prey.

Doubtless to say, Sayari will linger long in the memory"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A memorable experience,exceeding expectations

Botswana between 27 May 2010 and 8 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a memorable holiday which exceeded expectations.

Botswana is a wonderful country with charming, joyful people.The organisation of the safari experince is first rate and the abundance of wildlife..animals and birds..ensures that every day offers a great experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You seem to have the right formula. Thanks and good luck"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"A wonderful introduction to the Okavango"

3 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"A well appointed camp with an authentic safari ambience.

Efficient,friendly,relaxed staff who established easy rapport with guests.We liked sitting at a communal dining table which allowed guests to share the adventures of the day and we valued the contributions of the guides who joined us..

Our guide and tracker were outstanding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Another superb Kwando Safari's Camp"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2010
"This matched the allround excellence of Kwara Camp.

The guide and tracker worked hard to deliver one of the highlights of the trip....a pack of wild dogs with a kill.

Add to this a herd of 50 elephants and we were in heaven!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2010
"This was one of two @Beyond camps visited.These comments apply to both. The 'corporate formula' seems to be striving to offer a 5Star hotel service which is out of keeping with the safari experience.

An excessive number of staff (personal butler, masseuse and a legion of waiters, supervisors etc) created a stifling/stuffy atmosphere in stark contrast to the two Kwando Safari camps visited. Once you had broken through the formal service regime, the staff turned out to be pleasant and natural, they just needed to be released from the absurd 'house style' imposed on them. The menus were overelaborate but the actual result was disappointing. Worst of all guests were seated at separate tables which inhibited social interchange. More Bournemouth than Okavango!.

The guide was excellent but the tracker was a trainee, who while pleasant enough, did'nt contribute much."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

"Nxabega Safari Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2010
"The second @Beyond camp visited. Comments on service and food same as for Sandibe. The guide was average and the tracker,another trainee tracker, was disengaged and didnt seem to contribute much.Both of them need to brighten up their act."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team