This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge

Reviews of Royal Tree Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Royal Tree Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Hampshire

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"A lovely lodge and the walks are wonderful as we got to see so many animals up close and personal.

Julius was the perfect host, we really loved our 2 nights here. " See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Richmond

"Great rural base for Mawn "

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2018
"Very nice welcome by Julius and his team to this well set up lodge .Great walks down to river with birds and hippo plus zebra,ostrich and eland in reserve which can be viewed on way in / out

Rooms very comfortable and delightful shaded terrace

Swimming pool not very enticing as in very shady spot .Service excellent but food rather average " See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms V
USA

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2018
"This is a good choice for a one-night stay.

Peaceful and relaxing, and very comfortable beds. At the time of our visit (at the end of the rainy season) the nature trails were overgrown and it was difficult to locate the trail markers.

We did not locate the nearby river as the vegetation was too high and we were told it was not safe to walk there as hippos were active.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Ideal to Start or Finish"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Friendly,efficient and helpful. We stayed here for the first night of our trip and it is ideal for that. About 15km from Maun along a sandy road. Sets the 'mood' for the holiday better than I suspect a town centre hotel would.

We arranged for our hire car to be delivered to the lodge the following morning to begin our self-drive. It didn't happen and made for a stressful first day. We were taken in the lodge vehicle into town to go through the endless paperwork and collect the vehicle from the office. There were so many forms and photocopies required that I don't believe it is realistic to have the car delivered and have to do all that at the lodge. We were over 2 hours late leaving for the long drive to Nxamaseri. The advice from Julius, the very helpful manager, was to be met by the lodge vehicle and be taken to the hire car office. They will wait and you can follow them to the lodge. This way you can have confidence you will find the lodge and have seen the route when you leave the following morning at a time you will be in control of.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms L
Heathfield

"Comfortable room at Royal Tree Lodge"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2017
"Royal Tree Lodge is some distance out of Maun on a very sandy road. This was disconcerting as we had only just picked up our car and needed to take great care as it was not 4x4. The lodge sent an employee to greet us at the airport and he was able to guide us through the less navigable parts of the road.

We only stayed for one night and the room was very comfortable with an especially nice bathroom. Dinner was taken communally round a large table with the other guests and the manager which was enjoyable. However they have a problem with flies buzzing around and was especially evident at breakfast, where the flies were stuck in the jam (yuk!). We suggested that they cover the food to avoid this!

The only thing we would say is that the extra charges were quite high- .e.g. for extra drinks and for the packed lunch for the next day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"as before"

1 night Arrived 7 Nov 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"good quality hotel reasonably close to Maun"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"Hotel manager was welcoming. Staff were polite and efficient" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms L
Minneapolis

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Great to get out and walk. Wish we had not been so rushed but totally understand why it was that way." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms B
Colorado

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2016
"Julius makes the place from a people aspect...a master of hospitality! No one could complain about the homestyle meals, either. The lodge facilities and setting are lovely, but the elevated rooms can be cold because the air goes all around. This was a fine stop for a night in Maun." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Hanger Hill

"Royal Tree Lodge Review"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2015
"This was our first night in Maun and was a great introduction to Botswana.

We would definitely recommend as an introductory stop before heading into the bush. We were even taken out on a quick drive around the estate to see the resident animals up close; even though the grounds here are ultimately enclosed it served as a perfect starter for ten for the camps to come!

" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 31
88%
31 reviews of Royal Tree Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

With its tranquil riverside location, Thamalakane makes an excellent buffer between a tiring long-haul flight and the magic of a safari.


79% (39 reviews)
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

In the heart of Maun, about 3km from the airport, Riley’s makes a relatively reliable stopover for one night.


71% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa