This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge


25°5’47.6"S 15°58’9.8"E

Reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Wolwedans Dunes Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Wolwedans Dunes Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Wolwedans Review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2009
"We were very fortunate to get 'Tent' 1 which meant that we only had one set of neighbours. We were able to leave our tent open on two sides and so make the most of the sunrise and the views without being overlooked. Although we didn't request it, our 'tent' also had two double beds, so we had plenty of space.

Although there is no choice offered, dinner on both nights was excellent. The preamble to dinner (singing and presenting the menu) seemed somewhat forced and added little to the experience. The staff seemed quite uncomfortable with it too. Breakfast was not up to the standard of dinner.

At Wolwedans guests are paying for the amazing location and the coordinated conservation efforts in the Namib-Rand - not for 5 star service and facilities. The lodge is very special and the service and facilities are very good (just don't expect the Ritz!).
We had a fabulous time in a wonderful location and would love to return." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Chinnor

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2009
"We really enjoyed our stay here. The views were magnificant. We were able to relax.

The lunch we ate at the'Chateau' is an experience we wont forget.

Italy, our guide, was great

" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2009
"Wolwedans was our favourite lodge of the honeymoon. We were treated like royalty from the moment we were met off the plane. Our guide Hermann was superb, so very knowledgeable and kind. All of the lodge staff were so professional and would tend to any need. We had a special meal in the wine cellar on our first night and the staff sang. It was very special. The food was absolutely fantastic.

Cheetah tracking was suggested as our morning activity with an early rise of 4am. We were woken with a warm flask of water for a cup of tea and a bun. THen we drove off to find the Cheetahs in the jeep with Hermann and the dog. we saw the 5 male cheetahs very close to the car and were able to take some amazing photos.

In the afternoon, after a siesta we went to Nadeet to see how they are trying to educate the Namibians to be conscious of the resources that they have and to use these wisely. We could not fault anything with Wolwedans; we had room 1 which had 2 four poster beds and an amazing view. We loved the fact that Wolwedans was luxurious but alsofocused on being kind to the environment. This is truly a special place and we would love to return again one day." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"This camp was a wonderful experience with such personal service and lots of fun. Attention to detail was amazing and the whole experience was really outstanding. Another five star rating for Wolwedans.

The only downside was the entrance from the highway that was through an ordinary field gate, so we were not sure that we were on the right track.

This could possibly be improved in some way." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Natural indulgency"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"As you arrive and open the gate to the concession the scenery that welcomes you is just overwhelming and if that would not be just enough, it gets even better as we move forward. What a natural reception!

The lodge and the people in it match perfecly in this stunning wonder. Our sincere appreciation to Mr. Vente Mendes (our guide), and all the professionals that made and make it special (Manfred, Simon, Strauss - the Cook....).

Special and simple details, like driving back to the lodge after a sundown drive, with the LandRover´s headlamps switched off so that one could appreciate the starbright sky and enjoy all the peacefulness was magical.


" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wilmslow

"Luxury in the dunes"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"This was our second visit to Wolwedans and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first.

How we qualified for the "Mountain View Suite" we do not know but it was greatly appreciated - and enjoyed.

Great views, interesting drives, good food and very friendly staff.

You are really spoilt here and we plan to visit here again" See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa; 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Welling

"Wolwedans - paradise in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Beautiful setting and lovely spacious rooms.
Very good all day safari with Italy as our guide.
One to visit again.

The only surprise was the long drive from the road - 20kms along a bumpy difficult track (see our comments about the car).
" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"Well received in the camp, they already knew who we were, all very organised.
Our guide - ITALY(?!) was very friendly and he made the whole stay worthwhile.
Staff serving at dinner/breakfast always very charming.
Not such a strong presence on the management front, ok and fine but did not feel that were was a strong presence. From what we learnt later in our trip from Ongava about Wilderness Safaris and all the work they do for the community etc I think someone should have been promoting that much more, talking about it more, welcoming guest in much more etc. For such a fantastic place technically it meant that it lacked a 'feeling'.
Did not enjoy the communal dinner aspect at all.
Food generally good bar the deserts on both nights were very poor." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Erin

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"Wolwedans Dune Lodge is set in a stunning location - the view from our first sun-downer was one of the enduring memories of our holiday. You can really get a feel of the vastness of Namibia from here. The lodge is professionally run and the service cannot be faulted. The food was Michelin-starred - the best that we had in Namibia. On the negative side, the chalets are in need of a face-lift (currently underway) and the fact that we were on Honeymoon was not acknowledged in any way. The drive from Windhoek was long and rather arduous. We would recommend that visitor's fly in to the lodge by light aircraft." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Wolwedans Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2008
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here including our evening sundowner and our all day game drive. Our guide, Italy, was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was the only lodge where we had a guide and vehicle allocated to just the two of us.

Before dinner the staff entertained us with a tradional song and the menu was explained to us in both English and the native language, a very nice touch. The meal on the first night was excellent but the standard on the second night was not so high.

The accommodation is in the process of being refurbished and enlarged. This is needed to ensure that Wolwedans maintains its status as one of Namibias most luxurious lodges.

We particularly appreciated the hot water bottles as it was very cold at night." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 78
95%
78 reviews of Wolwedans Dunes Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
14
2
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (34 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa