This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 121-130 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P
Netherlands

"City Lodge; a very convenient stopover place"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"Very convenient as a stopover for travelling further to Botswana.

Very nicely decorated, seems to have been refurbished very recently. Very friendly people too." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 26 Mar 2012
"Conveniently located and cheap food. Ideal for enforced overnight stay in Johannesburg.

Would have appreciated detailed instructions on how to get there though, which level to cross the road on in particular, as we had heavy bags which we had to carry up and down the escalator. On the return we discovered we were able to push a trolley all the way across at an upper level." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wiltshire

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 27 Feb 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Ms A
Nashville

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms A
Nashville

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jan 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Ms A
Nashville

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 20 Dec 2011
"This hotel had the perfect and most convenient location. Truly a 5 minute walk to your bed after a 15hour flight. We had over nighted here 3 different times on our 1 month journey and each visit it was like a welcome home stop.

We very much enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The fitness area was a treat after sitting in a safari jeep for 2 weeks. Exercise!!!!! The inclusive breakfast was delicious and we also loved happy hour drinks and dinner without having to go anywhere except down the hall.

My only recommendation would be free unlimited internet. I would expect that at this type of hotel." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Seychelles; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Jersey

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 22 Nov 2011
"Good location within the airport, shame they dont have a restaurant." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"City Lodge OR Tambo Johannesburg"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2011
"Typical airport hotel. Very convenient - walking distance within the airport area.

Very limited dining facilities for evening meal with small menu. Cannot comment on breakfast as we had to depart before breakfast was served." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr J of WC2
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2011
"Extremely handy for the airport, comfortable rooms however limited food available, may well try the Intercontinental next time." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Showing 121-130 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa